Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Met expectations
 from MD,  Jan 18, 2012

Enjoying the bookcase. Took about three to four hours for two adults to assemble. Use an electric screwdriver. Some of the pieces may not align initially, but a rubber mallet helps bring the pieces together. Be aware that the product dimensions for the length reflect the widest point as measured from the top of bookcase. The shelves are a few inches shorter, so one of the pieces I had planned to put on the bookcase has to be placed at a angle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be made of solid material
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product.
 from Palmdale, CA,  Nov 27, 2012

Very heavy, quality wood product. It's large and it holds many books.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was the same as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning bookcase!
 from New York, NY,  Apr 23, 2014

This bookcase is gorgeous and the quality is exceptional - it far exceeded our expectations. It does take a bit of effort to put it together and a power drill is recommended but not necessary. Be prepared for many small pieces. The finished product is fantastic though - very sturdy, strong, stable, and heavy!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Wood, Heavy Duty, GREAT purchase
 from Santa Fe,  Jul 2, 2013

We tried two other RTA bookcases, one from Overstocks and one from that *** place, and the quality was terrible -- uneven finish, broken parts, not solid wood as advertised. So we were very reluctant to try this one. But the description said 100% solid wood so we took a chance. The phone rep also confirmed that the material was rubberwood and we have had good luck with that before so we were a bit more confident. And we were very pleased when the unit arrived. Excellent packing, excellent instructions, our only negative was that the camlocks that come with the unit are pot metal, not real steel, so drop by your local hardware store and pick up 4or 6 extras because I guarantee you will break a few. The unit is solid, very heavy, quite spacious and finished very well. The only other negative is that the camlocks and covers do show, but we expected that because the picture on the website clearly showed that. Overall, a great purchase and Overstock came through once again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Got 2
 from TN,  Jan 26, 2013

Got one of these bookshelves a few years ago. My GF loved it so much I was asked to buy another. If your not in a hurry, overstocks prices and deals change a lot although everything is always on sale? Takes some time and, at some parts, two people to put together. Added bonus!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Wood - A Beautiful Piece of Furniture
 from RI, USA,  Dec 6, 2012

All solid wood, great workmanship, beautiful color and style. Got a lot of compliments and was asked many times where we got it! Very happy with this purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good - but actual product is much better looking!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 Oct 21, 2010

I absolutely love this piece of furniture. It really balanced out my living room. I did have to assist my husband at interval, but for the most part he was solo. The color is a dark rich brown that anyone would love. I am happy with this selection!!!!!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy but tough to put together
 from NE,  Oct 7, 2010

This holds a projector unit and several video game systems, plus lots of game boxes. However, my husband was cursing the whole time he was putting this together. After he had put together almost all of it, he discovered that most every piece was upside down and all pieces would need to be taken apart to fix it. To work around this, we attached one of the last pieces without using the support dowels, since the holes wouldn't match up for that. So hopefully we haven't sacrificed any sturdiness for the sake of just getting the unit assembled! As I said, though, it's a solid piece and holds a lot, plus it's attractive.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this bookcase
 from boston,  May 22, 2014

I am very pleased with the quality of this bookcase. It is sturdy, beautiful, and fairly easy to assemble. It took us 3 hours.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
andaman 5 shelf bookcase
 from New Hampshire,  Apr 1, 2014

Beautiful piece. Love the staggered shelving. Appears exactly as in online pic. Extremely solid and well made. Not to hard to put together but due to weight of longer pieces easier if you have 2 people.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality product for the price
 from Fresno CA,  Mar 23, 2014

I received this item in 2 packages, packaged well nothing was damaged upon arrival. Assembled it looks exactly what is pictured on the screen. High quality varnished solid wood

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Uniques bookcase
 from St. Louis, MO,  Mar 19, 2014

nicely constructed and packed. Pretty color. Took about 1.5 hours to assemble.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real wood bookcases can't be beat
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 21, 2014

I've been looking for bookcases for a very long time. I have bought the cheap MDF particle board stuff before and have always been disappointed. So this time I wanted to get real wood. But most real wood bookshelves are super expensive. These shelves were reasonably priced and I liked that they were made from rubberwood, which is really durable. I was a little hesitant orderings something so heavy online because if I didn't like them for some reason, it wasn't going to be possible to return them (return shipping would have been too expensive.) I ordered two bookcases. Ordering and shipping from Overstock was a breeze, as always. UPS delivered, though they were a day late and would only bring them to the door so I had to drag them inside myself. All pieces arrived in good shape, with nothing missing or damaged. I was going to put these in my office upstairs so I had to carry them up a flight of stairs, but it wasn't too bad with help. These shelves do take 2 people to put together and it took us about 2 hours for the first one. It's important to follow the directions closely. The diagrams aren't bad but they aren't great either. We did mess up one shelf - ended up putting it upside down - but you can't really tell. We put these shelves up on a carpeted floor and didn't have to anchor them to the wall because they are so sturdy and heavy. The design is great. The color is pretty dark, close to black, but nice. Following the lead of other reviewers, I did buy some extra cam locks and a rubber mallet. I didn't need to use any of the extra cam locks, but the rubber mallet and an electric screwdriver are a must. I couldn't be happier with these shelves!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the buy
 from Winter Haven, Fl,  Feb 19, 2014

As said, it is solid wood and is very sturdy. The only problem with the piece is the fact that two of the individual casters can't be put in the holes to latch the boards together because they were not drilled out properly. They are latched together but not as good as they should be. It is still very sturdy but wish they would have been drilled properly. It is a beautiful piece though.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy bookcase
 from Iowa,  Dec 18, 2013

I love this bookcase. It is very sturdy and good looking. A bit difficult to assemble, but worth the effort.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I would recommend this bookcase
 from Kansas City, MO,  Dec 4, 2013

The description, dimensions and pictures of this bookcase match the product I received. When inventoring the parts, the wood had no scratches or missing items. It definately takes two people for installation and on the level of difficulty I would rate it medium. It looks great in my living room. If you like comtemporary book cases, I would definately recommend this one!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real Wood, great look at a resonable price.
 from Hanover, NH,  Nov 25, 2013

Very, Very Good... took lees than an hour to assemble, great instructions and i was able to do it without help.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookshelf
 from Gray, TN,  Oct 30, 2013

We really like the shelf once we received both boxes. The only complaint we had would be the locking cams. They break very easily. Luckily there were a few extra.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!!!
 from Modesto, CA,  Oct 10, 2013

I looked at a lot of bookcases both online and in stores...Some were twice the cost of this bookcase and not nearly as nice...My husband put it together with a little help at the end from my son...He said once he figured out the instructions, it was rather easy to assemble...He also complained about the cheap pot metal fasteners...The wood is gorgeous...I would recommend this bookcase to anyone...

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These bookcases are great.
 from Ontario, Canada,  Jun 13, 2013

Purchased these to go on either side of my television. They are so expensive looking but the price was fantastic. They are just the right size and I really like the height and width of them. Really substantial looking piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality, very sturdy, real wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Havana Brown Five-Shelf Wood Modern Bookcase
Sale $294.29
Was $326.99
Compare $382.00
Save 23%
(32)
Furniture of America Emize Espresso Open Display Shelf
Sale $256.49
Was $284.99
Compare $290.98
Save 12%
Andaman Desk
Today $329.99
(69)
Back to top