Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Met expectations
 from MD,  Jan 18, 2012

Enjoying the bookcase. Took about three to four hours for two adults to assemble. Use an electric screwdriver. Some of the pieces may not align initially, but a rubber mallet helps bring the pieces together. Be aware that the product dimensions for the length reflect the widest point as measured from the top of bookcase. The shelves are a few inches shorter, so one of the pieces I had planned to put on the bookcase has to be placed at a angle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be made of solid material
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning bookcase!
 from New York, NY,  Apr 23, 2014

This bookcase is gorgeous and the quality is exceptional - it far exceeded our expectations. It does take a bit of effort to put it together and a power drill is recommended but not necessary. Be prepared for many small pieces. The finished product is fantastic though - very sturdy, strong, stable, and heavy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Wood, Heavy Duty, GREAT purchase
 from Santa Fe,  Jul 2, 2013

We tried two other RTA bookcases, one from Overstocks and one from that *** place, and the quality was terrible -- uneven finish, broken parts, not solid wood as advertised. So we were very reluctant to try this one. But the description said 100% solid wood so we took a chance. The phone rep also confirmed that the material was rubberwood and we have had good luck with that before so we were a bit more confident. And we were very pleased when the unit arrived. Excellent packing, excellent instructions, our only negative was that the camlocks that come with the unit are pot metal, not real steel, so drop by your local hardware store and pick up 4or 6 extras because I guarantee you will break a few. The unit is solid, very heavy, quite spacious and finished very well. The only other negative is that the camlocks and covers do show, but we expected that because the picture on the website clearly showed that. Overall, a great purchase and Overstock came through once again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product.
 from Palmdale, CA,  Nov 27, 2012

Very heavy, quality wood product. It's large and it holds many books.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was the same as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Got 2
 from TN,  Jan 26, 2013

Got one of these bookshelves a few years ago. My GF loved it so much I was asked to buy another. If your not in a hurry, overstocks prices and deals change a lot although everything is always on sale? Takes some time and, at some parts, two people to put together. Added bonus!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Wood - A Beautiful Piece of Furniture
 from RI, USA,  Dec 6, 2012

All solid wood, great workmanship, beautiful color and style. Got a lot of compliments and was asked many times where we got it! Very happy with this purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good - but actual product is much better looking!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 Oct 21, 2010

I absolutely love this piece of furniture. It really balanced out my living room. I did have to assist my husband at interval, but for the most part he was solo. The color is a dark rich brown that anyone would love. I am happy with this selection!!!!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy but tough to put together
 from NE,  Oct 7, 2010

This holds a projector unit and several video game systems, plus lots of game boxes. However, my husband was cursing the whole time he was putting this together. After he had put together almost all of it, he discovered that most every piece was upside down and all pieces would need to be taken apart to fix it. To work around this, we attached one of the last pieces without using the support dowels, since the holes wouldn't match up for that. So hopefully we haven't sacrificed any sturdiness for the sake of just getting the unit assembled! As I said, though, it's a solid piece and holds a lot, plus it's attractive.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HEAVY!!
 Apr 29, 2015

I put this together myself (middle age female). I don't think I did too badly but it absolutely was a lot for one. Lifting it after it was all put together was the biggest challenge. I am most pleased with the end result. Make sure to tighten as needed. Not tightening leaves small gaps that can be annoying to a perfectionist.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lisa
 Apr 25, 2015

This bookshelf is beautiful. Heavy quality wood. It took my husband a little over an hour to assemble. Highly recommend this bookshelf.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It took quite a time to get it together but once finished, it looked lovely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Everyone comments on it
 Apr 21, 2015

We just assembled our shelf a few days before a party we were having. All of our guests commented on how much character this shelf had. It is so much nicer than a regular bookshelf. It took several hours to assemble but it was worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bookcase
 Apr 7, 2015

Very nice, good quality hard wood bookcase. Nice chocolate brown color goes well with our other furniture. Easy to put together; took about 2 hours. Highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid
 Mar 27, 2015

Very solid bookcase. For $$$ dollars it is a steal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eleanor
 Mar 13, 2015

Great heavy wood. Have been looking for a matching computer desk. I had one of my friends assemble form me since it required some drilling.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Mar 7, 2015

It was very easy to put together. It has a lot of hardware, but detailed instructions and it has extra of every type of hardware. It's also very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We love it! Using it to display my three kids 8 x 10 s pictures along with family pictures and also vases, bowls, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I needed a bookcase that was sturdy, certain dimensions, and Asian-inspired. I looked at multiple sites and finally found this one on Overstock. It is even nicer than expected, holds books nicely without warping shelves (so far), and fits the space beautifully. One caveat: The instructions warn to use two people in assembling it. I live by myself, so I did it on my own. Five hours later and copious amounts of profanity later, I succeeded! There are parts at the end, where you need two sets of hands to align multiple parts together simultaneously. I had to use my inate engineering approach to figure out a different way to do this by myself. Also, it's heavy, so standing it up at the end would have been less risky with someone else. However, I got it done. So, all in all, I'm very happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs.
 Feb 23, 2015

Well crafted. Was slightly difficult to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this bookcase
 from boston,  May 22, 2014

I am very pleased with the quality of this bookcase. It is sturdy, beautiful, and fairly easy to assemble. It took us 3 hours.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought