Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love these!
 from California,  Apr 8, 2011

I received two sets of these dishes last night and they are beautiful! I ordered them 4 days ago.The picture looks like there are purplish squares and this is not the case. The colors are Black(not purple), Dark Red,Dark Yellow,Olive Green and Blue-green leaning toward the blue. I am very pleased with the appearance and will be ordering another set. The plates are a nice large size as well as the other pieces. The edges are not flat rather a bit wavy. They stack well. They were packed very well however one bowl did come broken. I have asked for a replacement and as I know how the O operates am not worried about this part. Don't hesitate on these they are top notch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for...
 from Chicago, IL,  Sep 7, 2011

I was looking for a "thicker" type of dish set and this was described perfectly under the category Earthenware. This site did a great job of describing the product and showing the product in many pictures. The dishes themselves are rich in color, sturdy, and have washed well being thrown into the dishwasher a few times now. Like someone before me mentioned, the dinner plates are HUGE! They do fit in my cabinets but we honestly use the salad plates more often than not. I would consider these larger plates a "problem" if I had a small table to fit. I love the size of the bowls and mugs. A tad oversized, but not overwhelmingly so.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dining at Home
 from Long Island NY,  Feb 10, 2012

I am very pleased with the quality of the dinnerware. Feels like we're in a restaurant everytime we set the dinner table! Sets a pretty table.... I did receive a bowl & plate with chips on them. I emailed customer service & promptly received a replacement. On the downside... Square plates take up more room in the cupboard and I cannot use the turntable in the microwave if heating on the sq plate. I would also have liked to purchase a completer set but I don't think they make one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Better in person
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Uniqueness of Hand crafted
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Functional Beauty
 from St. Louis suburb,  Nov 23, 2012

Fitting neatly into my cabinet, I love this addition to my home. They are beautiful to behold and stand up well to daily use, dishwasher cycles and occasional microwaving. We use the smaller plates most often as the remaining pieces would contain larger portion sizes than are suitable for my family. Use caution when pouring a bowl of cereal into one of these.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect for my color scheme, just what I was expecting.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made, much used, wear well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True to life giving me just what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous Massive Dinnerware
 from Tahoe,  May 15, 2012

I love this set ...except they are massive. I traded my set of 12 place settings for 8 place settings of these. And I could not fit them in the same space. The bowls are enormous!. While they look really nice, I think I need to find a smaller set for every day. They barely fit in the dishwasher.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy with tiny imperfections.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
American Atelier Hopscotch Ivory 16-piece Dinnerwa
 from Schenectady,  Jan 9, 2012

Because the plates are so big, I sometimes have to use the saucer instead of the bigger plate because I end up putting too much food trying to fill up the extra space. LOL! It is well worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is great. The plates, cups and bowls are big.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice heavy dinnerware.
 from Roanoke, VA,  Jan 9, 2012

These are beautiful dishes, larger than most dinnerware sets. The colors are very rich. The glazing and the slightly wavy edges make them non-uniform so they appear handmade. I bought two sets and both came well packed, none were broken and they came pretty quickly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The colors on the site look brighter and one square looks purple, other reviews said that it looked black. My set is neither, it has more muted earthtones. green, reddish and tan.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. These dishes are very heavy and oversized, they do not fit in my plate rack but are nice for dinner parties and the like. The edges are a bit wavy so they look handmade.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate except for the color.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are so Nice - very happy again Overstock
 from Washington,  Jan 7, 2012

Just got them and I am thrilled - ordered 3 sets so I can have a matching set for when extended family come for meals. Two plates were broken and one chipped mug - though packing was substantial. Just asked for replacement because I really love the dishes - the color is vibrant and will work with so many serving dishes. Even with the broken dishes I feel these are excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The base is a deep brown which shows more purple in the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The plates are substantial - nice size. Love the mugs - my kinda size being a NW Coffee drinker.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy good quality dishes!
 from Texas,  Jan 4, 2012

Dishes are beautiful. Had some broken and some flaws in finish - Overstock quickly replaced.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Beautiful
 from LONG BEACH, N.Y.,  Sep 26, 2013

The first dishes that came, there were 3 broken pieces, I called and customer service was great! They could not find just the pieces that had broke. So they sent me a Whole New Set. Wow! I was amazed. If something is broken or wrong they will do their best. I really like Overstock.Com very much. They really are the Big O!!. I've been a Rewards Member for awhile now. Keep up your good work!! They have great merchandise and the jewelry is wonderful too.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quirky, but I like them
 from Iowa,  Sep 10, 2013

I like these dishes. I was a little surprised when I opened them. The shading of the ivory is pretty uneven. You can see this in the picture, but I assumed it was due to lighting. It is ivory in places but a light gray in others. It is as if they applied a very very dark chocolate brown glaze to the entire plate and then brushed the colors and sprayed the ivory over that. It is growing on me though. It is consistent with the handcrafted quirky look. Some people might find it objectionable. I think the colors in the picture are pretty accurate. Things are slightly more muted if anything. I love the wrinkly edges. These could actually be conversation pieces due to how unusual they are. Had to buy new place mats to go with them. Grass-like mats look great. The bowls are large, but hey, you don't have to fill them. The plates are large, but if you just fill the recessed ivory part it is a good size. Nice big cups--same size as my favorite coffee mugs. Arrived in good condition except for an extremely tiny chip on one of the cup rims. I'll just put some black permanent marker on it and it will never be noticed. I'm sure they will get more chips soon enough. They are packed very well. They are made in China like everything these days, but then they are china.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very impressed
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Aug 29, 2013

There probably isn't much need to write this review, considering how many are already here. That being said, I felt the need to share how incredibly impressed I am with the dish set. I was a little worried about the products showing up chipped or not in great condition but everything came packaged really well. I have used the dishes in the microwave and dishwasher and they hold up really well. These dishes look great and I have gotten many compliments. I am very happy with the purchase and highly recommend these dishes.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Set of Dishes that look Hand-Painted
 from Marquette, MI,  Mar 6, 2013

These dishes are beautiful. I have used them in both the microwave and oven with issue. The only downside is that the larger of the two plates does not fit into our dish washer without obstructing things, so I have had to hand wash them. The smaller of the two plates are the ones we use the most. They also help with portion control. :) The coffee mugs are large, but not too large and the bowls are deep which I love. The only other thing is that the larger of the two plates almost didn't fit into our cabinets.....the door actually touches them when it is shut, but thank goodness it does shut!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was exact.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very heavy 'pottery' like dishes at a GREAT price!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was exact.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
We Absolutely Love our new dinnerware!
 from San Bernardino County, California,  Feb 6, 2013

We are so glad we purchased 12 place settings of this dinnerware. It arrived very promptly and not one piece was broken. Each packed dish box was individually wrapped in shrinkwrap and then placed inside of a second box. The three boxes arrived in perfect condition. We are happy with the colors of the dinnerware; the quality; and the size of the plates and coffee mugs. We look forward to using this new dinnerware for our every day use for a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actually the product looks even better than the photos!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. We are very impressed and happy with it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hopscotch Dinnerware
 from New York, NY,  Dec 5, 2012

I wanted a colorful set of square dinner plates. They are different. I've been looking for a set for quite a while. These ARE large. They are impressive and beautiful. I think I will hand-wash them to protect the glaze coating. They make a GREAT looking table on my black lacquer dining room table. Awesome. I was apprehensive about some of the reviews describing poor packaging and broken pieces. So far so good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I wanted a colorful set of square dinner plates. They are different. They are gorgeous!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The plates ARE large...but impressive.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy Pieces-Seems High Quality
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 5, 2012

This is a gift. The product appears to be high quality. Shipping was very speedy. Items were will packed and received in excellent condition.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beauty and quality
 from Columbus, OH,  Oct 3, 2012

This set is beautiful and Im going to purchase another in order to use them for a dinner party of 6 to 8 people. They are heavy and very large (as other reviewers have mentioned). They look elegant but rustic at the same time, which is perfect for me. There are few minor imperfections in the ivory interior, but I think they just add to the boho-chic look of this set. I exactly quite like it. The set arrived promptly and undamaged (the packing is really good). I would definitely recommended.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heavy duty
 from Rhode Island,  Sep 25, 2012

The dinnerware is a little heavy but I like that as I think it would be harder to break. When I received them in the mail a couple bowls and cups were broken but customer service took care of it right away. I would recommend this product!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? what you see is what you get
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great dishes
 from arizona,  Aug 21, 2012

These dishes are great love the square without being too Zen.Works very nice in a southwwestern sytle home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dishes were just like the picture, very nice
 from Michigan,  Aug 17, 2012

I bought them as a gift, they liked them very much. Arrived on time . Square plates are very attractive and look very nice, I would buy them again. I would buy again from Overstock~

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very vice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top