Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good product, but poor packing and stong odor
 from Madison, Wisconsin,  Jan 3, 2010

The hamper seems quite study and the each of the three compartments do hold a full load. Another plus is that the 'floor' of each section can release to the floor below in case the load gets too heavy - the trap-door-style bottoms allow the bottom to give away rather than break from a heavy load! Three things to consider: 1 - The liner is ONE piece - if you're looking for a hamper where you can take out just the compartment you're ready to wash to haul it to the laundry room, you can't do it with this. You'll still have to unload the full compartment and put it into a basket to take to the laundry room. 2 - We have a seagrass rug and were used to the natural 'odor' that faded within two or three days. This hamper smelled FAR more strongly and had to sit in a storage room for a week or two to air out before we were able to use it in the house. 3 - The hamper came packed in cheap, flaky Styrofoam. We spent 20 minutes with the vacuum cleaner hose sucking small particles up as we removed the hamper (one piece) from the box. After peeling off the plastic covering, we discovered it had many rips and we spent more time sucking hundreds of small pieces of Styrofoam off the textured seagrass. The feet of the hamper have Styrofoam almost painted onto them - even water won't remove the white residue. Very poor packing. Prepare for some work. Overall a durable product, and we'd recommend it. Just be prepared for a delay with unpacking it and waiting for the smell to fade!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it :)
 from Denver, CO,  Mar 30, 2013

I read reviews all the reviews and they were SO mixed. I was concerned whether I should order this hamper. I am glad I did. I am retired and live in a small condo. This was a perfect size for me and my husband. The hamper holds LOTS of clothes and I like that I can dived as I go. It will hold enough clothes for more than a week for two people. I read about smells, NONE. What are they talking about. I read about the bottom opening. How rough are they being? I am having NO problems. I read about damage when it arrives. Mine was padded with styrofoam. Mine arrived in great shape. I read about the grass falling off, not mine. I am so happy I purchased this hamper. I am VERY happy with this hamper and would HIGHLY recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice hamper
 from Salem, MA,  Feb 6, 2010

I've been putting off buying a hamper for a while because they are so expensive, but my last one finally could not hold it together any longer. This hamper is really nice. I love the three compartments because I can sort clothes as I put them in. I didn't have the same styrofoam issues as others; the box was a bit crushed, but the styrofoam brushed off the basket easily. The hamper was in great condition. It is a good height compared to most hampers. My only wish is that the liner was three separate liners instead of one. The liner also ties to the basket, so youeither have to untie it to unload everything or just unload all of the laundry you put in each section-you can't really dump the hamper. My laundry is downstairs, and it is much easier to unload the basket one section at a time (like my old hamper) than all three. All in all, I'm very happy with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big!
 from Sacramento, CA,  Apr 25, 2010

This basket was a little smelly (think hay smell), but not offensive and one of the liner ties was ripped off, but other than that, a very nice hamper. The liner is only one piece (and is not strong enough anyway) to lift out and carry to laundry room....which would have been handy. The look is beautiful and adds a nice texture to the wall of my bedroom

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent for recycling!
 from Beverly, MA,  Feb 14, 2010

I purchased this hamper to use as a recycling sorter. Each compartment is exactly the right size to hold a paper grocery bag, which lifts out easily to take out the recycling. Three compartments give me the right amount of sorting for paper, plastic, and glass. It looks very nice and tidy in my mudroom, right by the back door to make recycling easy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a styrofoam mess
 from San Francisco,  Jan 1, 2010

A beautiful hamper that unfortunately arrived a little beat-up. It arrived collapsed and encased by styrofoam. Due to handling the legs of our hamper managed to break through the styrofoam and cardboard box in more than one place. While unpacking, the crushed styrofoam resulted in little pieces of styrofoam everywhere (floor, within the fibers of the hamper) which made cleanup difficult. The hamper comes with preassembled rubber stoppers on the bottom of each leg. All the stoppers were damaged and/or broken when the hamper arrived. Thought about returning it and getting a replacement, but didnżt want to deal with the hassle. Iżm sure I can find rubber stoppers at the local hardware store. Once out of the box, it was easy to assemble. It really is a beautiful hamper.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality, well-made
 from Mattoon, IL,  Oct 13, 2014

Nicely made product. The woven pieces look sturdy and have held up with a lot of clothes. I even like the smell of the woven part. Excellent product. Very happy I purchased it. Just wish it would have been under $***. Definitely overpriced.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Northeast, PA,  Sep 16, 2014

It fit perfectly into the small space we had. It is long, but narrower than most hampers. It certainly did have a unique odor for the first few weeks, but it improved over time. The odor is probably the result of the product being real wicker, not plastic or fake wicker. It is stylish and holds a ton of laundry. Although the box was slightly damaged, the large Styrofoam sheets that it was packaged in kept everything damage free. It came out of the box and unfolded in seconds. I am very happy with it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but stinky!
 from Oregon,  Jun 28, 2013

The hamper is functional and attractive. My only complaint is the smell. It's not a gross smell, more like wet grass. Not everyone notices it, but I'm a smell nazi and it bugs me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nicely made, sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hamper
 from Chicago suburb,  Jan 22, 2013

Very satisfied with this roomy hamper, although it does take up a lot of real estate in the bedroom

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact color as shown on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality, we'll see how it holds up after using a few months
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product is the right size, color and useful.
 from Washington NC,  Aug 14, 2012

The inside bags are all connected and the quality is not good. I really like it and will overcome this issue.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. With three compartments sorting cloths is easier.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Ny,  May 22, 2012

Great basket, highly recommend. Fits nicely with most furniture doesn't look out of place at all.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great hamper
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Apr 27, 2012

This hamper arrived almost just as I expected, I thought it would be a little taller. It holds a ton of clothes, probably 2 weeks worth for 2 people. Just like other reviews, mine came with little pieces of styrofoam on it but it wasn't that bad and nothing that a vacuum hose couldn't take care of in a minute. The smell was very mild and pleasant in my opinion. I've had my hamper about 3 weeks now and it I can only smell it when I put my face up to it. The construction is OK, not super sturdy, but I'm not going to be dragging it around my house so I don't need it to be. I expect it to last many years considering it's just going to sit there and hold clothes. Overall satisfied customer and recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just as I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works perfectly
 from Boston MA,  Mar 6, 2012

The hamper is great for us. We have four kids 11-18 so generate A LOT of laundry. I attached labels for dark colored and light and now it's so much easier all round. One section, about a hand from from the top, is a load for my Kenmore 3T-he machine. Almost full - throw in a load. Much more efficient than the previous heaping basket and so much neater. The smell of the seagrass is there but not unpleasant and the liner fits very well. A plastic bag around the hamper prevented the problems of styrofoam bits previously mentioned.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? less green
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality, strong odor had to send it back
 from Santa monica, CA,  Jan 14, 2012

Wish I had paid more attention to previous reviews of this product before purchasing. The quality of the product was questionable, it looked as if it would fall apart after a few months of moderate use, although this alone would not have been enough to trigger a return. The biggest issue was the smell which did not diminish even after a few days left out to air on the patio. Ultimately we had to return this item. Buyer beware.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. didn't seem very sturdy, there were a number of areas where the weave was coming undone
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
America Basket 3 section seagrass hamper
 from North Carolina,  Dec 11, 2011

I really enjoy this hamper. The look is great and goes with all decorating styles. I've had it in several rooms in the house and it has worked well in all. There is a slight odor to it that hasn't gone away in the many months I've owned it, but it isn't overpowering or off-putting. It was a little offset after assembly (which only took a few minutes), but was easily adjusted and doesn't detract from the look. It definitely holds a full load of laundry in each section, but the open bottom doesn't make sense to me since the liner doesn't open on the bottom in any of the sections. I am very pleased with this purchase, and it is better than any I priced elsewhere before or since.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3-section hamper
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Oct 7, 2011

It serves it's purpose but the material smells like seagrass and it doesn't go away over time! Also, the woven material is getting worn very quickly, and the basket shifts often. It is not bad, but not going to last for a lifetime!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique Laundry Bin
 from Sunny Florida,  Oct 6, 2011

I love this very unique laundry bin. No issues with shipping and the styrofoam nightmares. There was a faint "grassy or hay" smell as it is created from Sea Grass but not overwhelming and no issues. It holds lots of laundry and keeps them seperated. As stated by other reviewers, each bin holds about a load of laundry each. A wonderful size for our small laundry room. I use the top when closed to lay the folded clothes from the dryer then put them up. A unique item and lovely color. Easy to install-like the other reviewers stated, just unfold and fold down the bottom and it is ready. I recommend it. :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close to the actual product received
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Tightly woven Sea Grass. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate item description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smelled like a farm :(
 from Seattle, WA,  Jul 14, 2011

New laundry hamper showed up to day packed in styro-foam. Shipping box was damaged and was leaking foam pieces everywhere. Lame. Assembly was super easy. Great. Instantly started to smell like a horse stable. WTF! Look I get that its made out of straw and all but this thing smelled like Mr. Ed had left his mark on it before it was assembled at the factory. Where is the quality control. Going to try and air this thing out for a bit. I hope a cow doesn't come down my block and eat the thing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Flimsy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
America Basket Co 3 section Full-load Hamper
 from South Fl,  May 15, 2011

This is a lovely piece to hold my laundry. I actually just ordered another one. I don't have a laundry room large enough to hold the hampers so these sit in the hallway outside my laundry closet. They are slim, yet large enough to hold over a load of laundry in each compartment plus it gives me a folding surface when I keep the lid closed. I opened the one I have and dropped the lid behind, but the second that I ordered will be kept closed. I tried all sorts of hampers from different stores and returned them all, this is almost like a piece of furniture. I do recommend this if you're looking for a stylish hamper to organize your laundry. Plus Neither I nor my husband noticed an unpleasant odor and I have horroble allergies, so that speaks volumes that it didn't bother me.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? very close.
  • How is the quality of the product? I am quite pleased with the hamper and did not find the flaws others mentioned.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top