Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Cheap Price, Lacks Quality
 from Boston, MA,  Jul 21, 2009

The umbrella looks great from far away and by far is among the cheapest of its size/type (offset) but the construction of some key components is concerning. In particular, a brace that helps to 'lock' the umbrella into the up/open position is made of plastic and after only 1 or 2 uses is showing some severe wear. This part appears to carry much of the weight of the umbrella while opened and I imagine it will not last for very much longer. Also, it does not appear that it is possible to replace the part as it is located in the middle of the umbrellas hardware and which does not appear to disassemble easily, if at all. So the the manufacturer's warranty would simply involve a replacement of the entire umbrella, I imagine. As a result of this major flaw, I would strongly recommend against the purchase of this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Change Ads.
 from Florida,  Aug 6, 2010

I am very much satisfied with the quality and durability of the product. My one disappointment is with your ad. It indicated that the stand was sold separately, which I bought, only to realize the Umbrella came equipped.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cheap but good
 from Seattle WA,  Jul 2, 2010

I bought this umbrella after looking at a dozen different types (online and at B&M stores). Initially, I was looking at traditional center-pole umbrellas, because there were many more of that kind available in our price range, though this offset style really suited our needs better. I was happy to find this one. First, off, add about $20- $60 to this price because you WILL need to buy something to anchor the umbrella. As is, it's not stable to operate. You could bolt it to a deck (the base has holes) though that would be limiting for most people. We were able to find weighted pie-shaped umbrella blocks which fit perfectly at the "orange" home improvement store. They were about $15 each and you'll need 4. Alternately, you could use plain pavers (about $5 each) though they wouldn't look nearly as good (the umbrella blocks are nice; the wedge shape and the fact that they're vinyl-coated with a lattice design creates an attractive base. They also have a handle on the bottom to facilitate picking them up). Overall, the umbrella LOOKS great. At a glance, it could pass for a far more expensive piece. The color (terra cotta) is perfect; exactly what I imagined when I read some of the other reviews: an attractive shade of orange-red (I'd agree with the person who described it as "tomato"). It looks really smart on our deck; bright without being obnoxious. The item arrived in a reasonable amount of time (10 or so days- shipping was free with a promo so can't complain). There was some minor trauma (rips/tears/ dents) in the outer box when it arrived, but the contents appeared to be well packed/protected and were undamaged. The umbrella set up quickly and easily (though full disclosure- my husband did the assembly, not I; it took him about 15 minutes and he did not complain about it, which means it's probabaly easy enough for the average person). Once assembled, the umbrella is easy to operate. There are a couple steps to put it up/take down, but it's easy enough and everything appears to be in working order and operates smoothly. As other reviewers have noted, the umbrella does rock/sway/rotate somewhat in a breeze. It is definately NOT something that you would want open in a strong wind, but I did not feel the movement in a breeze was unsafe- distracting, maybe. The movement seems by design to prevent the umbrella (which is large- 10 feet) from becoming a giant sail and floating away. I assume more expensive umbrellas employ a different "safety" feature- but for the price, I guess you get what you get. Now the downsides, which, given the low price (compared to similar styled umbrellas), should be expected. The thing is cheap. It's made with plastic components which will probabaly break sooner rather than later. (I'm assuming the $500 and up versions of this type of umbrella employ more durable components). Ideally, the non-essential stuff will break first, so the umbrella will at least be functional (though may look like crap), but stuff like the crank to open it are plastic (painted chrome to look like metal) and while it LOOKS good, you can tell it probably won't last for years and years. Also, the umbrella itself is NOT canvas or a high denier cloth- it's some sort of nylon and while it looks great it's fairly lightweight and not sure how it will hold up over time in UV. Overall, I think for the price, it's a good value. Don't expect high quality, though. For our purpose, it's fine. I've had it for a month so far and use it most days and it's still holding up fine (nothing broken!) I think with care the thing will last a season or 2, hopefully more. For now I'm happy. I'd recommend this to someone looking for an offset umbrella at a (comparatively) low price and who won't gripe about plastic components.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice umbrella but the top spins
 from NY, NY,  Aug 22, 2010

The umbrella very nice, attractive and is a good price. However, if there is any wind at all, the top of the umbrella spins around. This, of course, is scary and can be dangerous. I read all the reviews on this product before I bought, and no one mentioned a problem similar to ours. Therefore, it may be that our umbrella was damaged, and that this problem is very unusual. When I called Overstock about it, the customer service department was wonderful to deal with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Richmond, VA,  Aug 31, 2010

I love this umbrella! I was a little concerned as the box was pretty torn up upon arrival, but everything inside was just fine. Took less than 1/2 hour to put together and bolt to my deck. I read lots of reviews that said it was "cheap"-well if you want top of the line, then spend $400 or more. You can't beat this umbrella for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic buy!
 from Phila, PA,  Aug 24, 2010

My husband and I were really surprised this umbrella is as nice as it is for the price. Our old one broke and since it is end of season, we thought we would just have to settle for one to replace our old one. It is easy to raise and lower and the tilt works great for us to block the sun on our deck. This is a great buy and I would not hesitate if you are in the market!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from NH,  Aug 10, 2010

We will use this umbrella next season, but we had an identical one before. The quality is great for this price. We paid twice as much several years ago. I do agree that wind can be problematic. Our last one broke when a storm arose while umbrella was up...... at the "plastic junction" where it pivots & cranks. Always close umbrella when not in use and it will last a long time!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spinning top
 from Pittsburgh, pa,  Jul 5, 2014

Once we built this umbrella and placed it on our deck we quickly realized how poorly designed this product is. I can't believe this is currently rated 4/5 stars! It wasn't even a windy day and the umbrella was spinning and wobbling. Not to be dramatic but it was a little scary. I am returning this ASAP. My search for an overarching umbrella continues.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great umbrella
 from Missouri,  Aug 18, 2011

Love my umbrella. Great Color and very easy to put together.Just what I was looking for. And the price is unbeatable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap and it doesn't last
 from Emmett, Idaho,  Aug 18, 2011

This review is two years after the purchase. The initial year the umbrella was great. However, it did topple the base if you didn't have weights to put on the base or secure the base. This year after storing our umbrella for the second winter indoors I pulled it out for our summer patio events and the plastic levers (2) were broken and unreplaceable. Pretty spendy umbrella for only two short summers. I wouldn't recommend it even if it is cheap.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor if you want to use it more than one year
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Bargersville, IN,  Aug 12, 2011

We have exchanged this item for the same umbrella - love it - just hope the crank doesn't go out again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Was impressed with it until the "crank" on it came loose - so when you tried to open the umbrella - it won't stay open - the crank started moving by itself.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for price
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jul 26, 2011

Cheaper fabric which I'm worried will tear soon if it experiences too much wind. Pole and base are metal but fixtures are plastic. Definitely need to purchase a cantilever base or some type of weight or don't even use it. Good for price. Covers six person dining table. Happy for now.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not the best but will last a summer or two.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Aluminum 10-foot offset umbrella
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Jul 22, 2011

I had looked in the local area and was not able to find anything like it. I talso thought the price that it was offered for was great. Shipping price was also excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems to be what I was expecting
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Lee's Summit, MO,  Jul 18, 2011

For the price, this is a great buy. I love that they send a stand that can be bolted down to the deck. Makes it extremely secure. Easy to remove the umbrella from the stand for storage over the winter.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Umbrella
 from Oakland, CA.,  Jun 23, 2011

This is exactly like the umbrellas in our local home store at half the price. It is beautiful. Just know, it is not necessary to purchase an umbrella stand. The stand is part of the umbrella which makes it very steady.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Perfect
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes,
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Aug 4, 2009

I recently purchased one of the umbrellas as I have zero shade in my back yard through out the whole day. It covers my entire patio (i'm in a newer home with a small back yard) It's very easy to do the initial set up my husband did it in no time at all. The crank turn nob is great and i've had no problems with that. My only recommendation is to buy the umbrella weights to go at the bottom of it, as without a weight it is guaranteed to fall over, obviously because it is an offset design. All in all I love this umbrella and with out having the stand in the way taking up precious space on my small patio gives me more room for my childs splash pool or garden furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade!
 from Arkansas,  Sep 4, 2014

Very easy to assemble. Quickly put up when you need some shade and easy to put back down when you're done. Can be anchored with patio blocks but we are using ours on a wooden deck so we just screwed it to the deck through the available holes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice umbrella
 from Seattle,  Aug 22, 2014

For the price this umbrella is great! Very nice looking and with the right weight to keep it in place (I put four 16 lb stones down), it;s very functional.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Madera California,  Aug 18, 2014

Having read the reviews on this item, I was a little worried that it would not last very long, however, we were willing to give it a try. We put the umbrella up yesterday and we were extremely please with the ease of putting it together. We did need to put some weights on the base to hold it down, but since it is behind a couch, it is not visible. The coverage area of the umbrella is huge! It provides a ton of shade which is needed in Central California summers! We do have a lot of wind in our area, so we will have to be very careful not to leave the umbrella up during windy times, but we are pretty careful about taking care of our property, so no big deal. In a nutshell, although this may not be a "high quality" item, as long as you are careful how you take care of it and use common sense, I think it will be a great product to have in your back yard! It looks incredible! Time will tell... but we are extremely pleased!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from New York,  Aug 6, 2014

I read all the reviews and decided to buy this one because I wanted a hunter green umbrella which is getting difficult to find and the price was amazing. The reviews were very helpful and spot on....the umbrella is beautiful in design, looks very rich. Sadly the plastic parts are a concern but I guess that's why the price is what it is. So far we have no issues, it does sway a bit in the in wind but no problem so far. The description says stand is not included but it is. For the money it can't be beat, we will treat it carefully knowing the plastic crank might be fragile and will not leave it up with any serious wind. We're very happy with it, for the money it's beautiful!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought