Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Overstock delivered very quickly ~ as always! Upon inspection, I found the top of the desk to be cracked. I ordered a replacement from Ameriwood. Unfortunately, it will take over two weeks for this order to be processed and shipped. This desk should never have passed quality control. The crack was NOT a shipping mishap! I have assembled as far as I can so that when the top arrives (not until after the new year) it will be ready. When assembling the drawers, the side wood cracked on both sides when putting the glides in place. What a waste.... this was part of my daughter's Christmas! :(

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Altra Ventura Desk with Hutch
 from Allen, TX,  Aug 20, 2013

My son loving it. We received the item with damage but when we called the Overstock.com they replaced the item immediately with instructions. Excellent service. Thank you so much.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed Feelings
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Aug 5, 2013

The reviews are true regarding the material of this desk. I did have pieces that was chipped, peeling and even dented. This desk would be so much better if this desk came in perfect condition. Considering how much packing material that was in the box, its amazing how much was damaged. I would recommend this desk to a friend if they don't mind the damaged up pieces. I don't mind the damaged pieces considering how I got this for a good price than what was listed. I DO recommend building this desk with 2 people. I did this by myself and it took me 6 hours ( no breaks) The next 2 days I was super sore...Legs, back, shoulder blade, the palms of my hands. It it very overwhelming at first. There is nothing pre-assembled for you. You get a bag of hardware and the desk comes in dozens of pieces. I think the worst part was that I had packing material everywhere and had to stop and clean again and vacuum the pieces itself! I did run out of the glue that came with the desk. So I used Elemer's glue. Hopefully this holds? We will see. The desk is quite roomy which I love. I like the color but wish it was just a little bit richer. The drawers are very shallow. Unlike the other reviews, I went slowly while building these as to not split the wood. Would I purchase this desk again? YES. Would I build it alone? NO but it can be done...even with the hutch. I did not do the last step with the brace. I think this desk is heavy enough that it doesn't need attached to the wall, however if you have small children you may want to do this step. I suggest reading the directions all the way through first then go back and build it. Because the directions was sometimes not to clear to me, I have a piece on backwards but I was still able to assemble the desk. Also I think some steps can be combined and some steps are out of order. But I was the designer of the desk. I'm not to fond of the plush board where you can tack things up. It cheapens the desk. I would have been more appreciative it was just a high grade cork board. I do worry about taking it off since there are four strong adhesive strips holding this up. Overall, if you don't mind small damages here and there, I would get this desk. It is spacious and elegant looking.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from California,  Jun 19, 2013

We r not happy w the desk due to broken parts that r exposed the ones we can't see r k but I lov the design of the desk n we want to keep it, we just want to replace de parts that r damaged we hav pics, thank u

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor, too many damages
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk, with minor issues
 from CA,  Feb 14, 2013

Overall it is a great desk. Measurements are correct, but the product could use more images on the site though. The only issue with this desk is that when building the pull out drawers it is almost inevitable that you split the wood. The assembly can be done by one person but it is highly recommended that its a two person job. The hutch can be a little difficult to build with only one person. Also, since the hutch is its own piece, it can be built separately cutting down the total time of assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall build quality is sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Decent.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Damaged, cheap material
 from Florida,  Jan 6, 2013

Several pieces were dented or chipped. Missing a pack of cam bolts. Cheap pressed board, which wasn't a surprise considering the price, but I didn't expect it to splint during assembly. Definitely a product for short term use, but if you want a piece to keep and hold up to any kind of regular use, save yourself the effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Complicated
 from Upstate NY,  Nov 5, 2013

The desk is of good quality and looks nice when it is finally together. The desk top it self is a little narrow and I prefer a bigger work space. Drawers are not that deep. Lots of shelf space. It took us two days to get it all together. It had over 75 pieces and several of the smaller pieces were missing. Overstock was great and got these right to us.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy this!
 from Cincinnati,  Nov 3, 2013

Buy this only if you want to assemble for most of the day, have many damaged parts and end up with a very average 'desk'.i have one positive comment, I LOVED the video that demonstrated the cam locks. By the time this arrived over-stuffed into a shredded box due to the sheer weight, I felt like the return would be impossible. My bad.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Columbus, OH,  May 23, 2013

We bought this for a desk for my son's room. I was really shocked at the great quality of this desk compared to other websites in the same price range. We just moved to a new house and the desk made it safely w/o damage. Directions were easy to follow and took my son and I about 2 hours to put together. Great desk!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy build and lots of storage
 from NJ,  Dec 31, 2012

easy build, but if doing it alone it will take you a few hours to do....fast delivery.....the only negative thing that I have to say is that I find that the wood scratches easily.....however, the piece is very nice and provides ample storage room for office supplies....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. okay quality....wood scratches easily....
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top