Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Altra Parsons black oak laptop/writing desk
 from Walnut Creek, Ca.,  Aug 8, 2013

The product (table) arrived quickly and undamaged. However, thats where the positive marks ended. The quality of the desk was poor and the wood used was compressed particle board. The size was perfect for my son's room but the desk will not last half a school year. The metal guide that holds the drawer is poor quality and does not open/close smoothly. The desk's legs do not sit level. I put a piece of scotch tape on the table to hold a piece of paper. Upon removing the paper (and tape), the tape took off the black paint from the desk. Whats up with that? Pass on this item. I would have shipped it back but the box was tossed out and it would have cost more to re-box it and ship it back.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very attractive, exactly as pictured.
 from Kansas City, MO,  Dec 30, 2012

Good looking desk just right for the use depicted. Excellent value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
no surprises
 from new york, ny,  Dec 10, 2012

This desk was as expected. Nothing too fancy but gets the job done as a small desk. I would recommend it for someone looking for a no frills desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very disapointed
 from West Coast Florida,  Dec 2, 2012

The wording, Black Oak implies to me, oak wood. It was more like cardboard. Instructions said it needed two people to move it. Thats because of its composition, dragging would have possible destroyed it. Plus, it was packaged wrong. It required assembly and the incorrect pieces were in box. I returned it. Sorry, not for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from New Jersey,  Dec 13, 2013

I was excited to receive this product as it was perfect, from a design standpoint, value, and for what I wanted. As a matter of fact I was going to buy another one for another room. Prior to buying I read the posted reviews but thought some pettiness was being conveyed so I ignored the complaints and ordered the desk. It arrived and out of the box three of the four corners of the desk were damaged beyond repair from shipment. After all it is only presswood and laminate. You would think that a Styrofoam corner or some corner protection could be introduced to the packaging...what would this have cost the seller? .75 cents? I'd have paid it. And this same complaint was on the review website...which I had previously as a one off. Now I just won't buy another one. Too bad, very nice design, good value, but who wants damaged goods? At any price. You can go to a garage sale for that.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good design, not the highest quality
 from Raleigh, NC,  Nov 20, 2012

I really like the style and design of the desk, and it fit perfectly where I needed it. Assembly wasn't very difficult as the top was already put together. All that's required is attaching the legs. There was a part of the top assembly that had a gap between two supporting pieces of wood, and that resulted in one of the legs being a little wobbly. With some difficulty, I got a screw in to try to hold the two pieces together, and it seems to have worked okay. I expect this desk to do exactly what I need it to for the next two years, but there's a good chance I'll toss it after that, assuming it's still in one piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small desk for big tasks
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Nov 16, 2012

This desk has a small footprint, adequate space for working on lap top, or alternatively writing notes, etc. Exactly what I wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
broken parts, peeling pant
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 7, 2012

Terrible quality! Arrived with broken corner piece. Was still able to assemble as provided screws held broken piece in place. Paint is peeling off the desktop after one week of light use! Very disappointed! Entire desk is wobbly on tile flooring. Only weight on desk is one Mac desktop.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very dark brown/black, as anticipated
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Terrible! Arrived with broken corner piece. Was still able to assemble as provided screws held broken piece in place. Paint is peeling off the desktop after one week of light use! Very disappointed! Entire desk is wobbly on tile flooring. Only weight on desk is one Mac desktop.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dimensions correct.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Altra Parsons Black Writing Desk
Today $53.51
Compare $165.69
Save 68%
(38)
Black X Writing Desk
Sale $80.09
Was $88.99
Compare $148.74
Save 46%
(38)
Student Desk Black
Today $134.99
(100)
Parsons Desk/ Metal Accents
Today $84.99
Compare $100.00
Save 15%
(2)
Flip Flop Home Office Desk
Today $98.99
Compare $144.99
Save 32%
(4)
Back to top