Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Hartselle, AL,  May 3, 2013

This is a great ladder desk. The red color brightens the room. We have an IMac and it fits perfectly. Printer fits great on bottom shelf. Great space saver.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must have !!!!
 from brooklyn new york,  Jul 20, 2013

Let me tell you!!! at first I was kinda iffy even though this was love at first sigh. The reviews were minimal -and someone even said they had purchased it for their son's room .(don't know if I will do that one???? TOO nice, pardon me!! TOO gorgeous for a kid's room uh huh! this bookcase is soooo unbelievable that I am still freaking out just watching it.my apt looks sooo bougee,you know like the stars crib. no, like a catalog home.i kid you not.you have to have this to believe me!!!!sooo functional too. overstock did I mention that I love you. you make me sooo happy with every purchase .thank you and keep bringing these modern beautiful pieces . I am super busy so believe me I had to writ this review so you can believe me when I say don't hesitate .you like or want different buy .you wont regret!! thank you again Overstock!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute!
 from Alexandria, Virginia,  Dec 29, 2013

The item is shorter in height than I expected. The color is definitely a rich shade of red. As for assembly, I would agree with the recommendation of using two people. As for the quality, one of the shelves - shelf O, had the holes erroneously drilled. I made it work by adjusting the position and angle. This defect didn't effect the stability of the unit once it was fully assembled. When assembling, follow the pictured instructions carefully; pay attention to the positioning of the boards and ensure use of the correct hardware. Tools needed - a flathead and a Phillips screwdriver. It took two hours to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Idaho,  Jul 4, 2013

This beautiful desk is a steal at only $200! But please gather a few friends to help you put this one together! The instructions on putting it together could have been better.. But since I put this beauty together, I have not had a single regret on my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unhappy with product
 from AZ,  May 17, 2013

The item came in a box that was beat up and caused damage to a few of the shelves. However the thing that irritated me the most was the fact that not all of the parts came that were needed to connect the desk between the to bookends. The boards (c and d) didn't have the right holes cute in them to connect the center, as I said before I was unable to connect the desk section or the shelves above or below the desk. This really disappointed me as I have gotten items from Overstock that worked out great. I will think twice on which items I'm willing to take a chance on in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Over quality wasn't all that great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Untrustworthy Company
 from Ankeny, IA,  Oct 28, 2013

I ordered this desk because I liked the look of it, but I have never had a worse experience with a company before. When they sent it the first time, the packaging was so terrible that more than half the parts were broken and unusable. I called to get replacement parts and received most just fine, but 1 was still broken. Then they sent me the wrong piece. Even though I have called steadily the last 3 MONTHS, I still have not received the final piece I need to make the desk. I DO NOT recommend ordering anything from this company, as you may never receive what you ask for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful color, however, belong in a small space
 from San Antonio TX,  Oct 19, 2014

Color is rich and beautiful, however, this piece belong in a small space like a bedroom or dorm room. The products came with many pieces and one piece was broken in halves. We managed to construct it and conceal the defect until we can contact the company as they are closed on weekends. Overall, it's a nice piece, I just recommend they introduce bigger/taller sizes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived damaged and with missing pieces.
 from Nevada,  May 8, 2014

In theory this should have been an ok desk/bookcase. While it has the potential to look ok and be useful, it arrived with a missing shelf and two other damaged shelves. The bookcase in its entirety is also smaller than you would expect. I know the measurements are listed but this thing is sized for a child. As of the date of this review (over a month from receiving the item), I am still waiting on replacement parts, etc. so that it can be put together all the way and be somewhat useful. I would not recommend purchasing this item.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks amazing, shipping was rough
 from Baltimore, Maryland,  Apr 18, 2014

I was really excited about this desk because I really wanted to add some color to my open living space. The box arrived severly damaged which made me a litte nervous. I had to enlist a friend to help me put it together because I am not handy and impatient and the instructions were "IKEA-like" with only drawings. I would have never been able to accomplish it alone. There were a few chips on some of the pieces of wood, but luckily on the bottom of shelves or the drawer's bottom so they are not visible. Once together it looks amazing!!! I paired it with a really cool chair and now the area is one of my favorite spaces in my home. I have gotten rave reviews from friendsand family about how awesome it looks!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 Sep 14, 2015

Just received this bookcase and I am very disappointed. I read the reviews about this product and several other customers indicated they received the product damaged. I order from Overstock frequently and have never had a problem so I thought maybe others were just unlucky. But NOPE! I don't know who handles the shipping of this product (Overstock, the manufacturer, or a third party) but something needs to be changed. If more than one customer is complaining that they receive the product damaged, that should be addressed. I don't know if the bookcase is beautiful, or sturdy, or whatever because it can't even be built. I'm incredibly disappointed and Overstock has yet to get back to me if I can return this product or not. This has been such a frustrating circumstance.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent space saver -
 Aug 11, 2015

I love this desk. the dimensions were perfect for my therapy office where I didn't need or have room for a full size desk. It holds all my necessities, medical journals, books, laptop and smaller therapy supplies.I'm deducting one star because while it was fairly easy to put together, the holes for the drawer assembly were not measured correctly and so the drawer sits about an inch below the desktop rather than flush. Re-drilling the holes wasn't an option so it has a tendency to come off the track.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A pain to put together - cheap - but looks great
 May 28, 2015

This Bookcase comes in a million pieces and it takes two or three people to put it together. The color is striking though and once its together it looks great. Keep in mind it is very cheap material and is not good for taking apart and moving it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
something for very small children
 May 5, 2015

I brought this for my 10yr .i dout it will last more than a year. its small and flimsy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do not buy this desk.
 from Cary, North Carolina,  Jun 11, 2014

The desk itself may be wonderful. We will never know because it was impossible to get the right parts. After a month we gave up

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cheap hardware makes assembly difficult
 Mar 14, 2016

Though i love the look of this piece i was very disappointed at the hardware provided for assembly. several of the coffin lock screws broke and i was forced to use pieces from other furniture assembly packs. i eventually used my own screws in order to make the piece stable. Assembly is VERY time consuming and requires a lot of pieces and attention

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelf desk
 Mar 14, 2016

I cannot really rate the product because I have yet to receive the replacement parts for the broken ones that came with it... It's been since November and it's still in the box, broken.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entertainmen talent agent @ country club
 Mar 11, 2016

Fabulous. . .I'm sitting at it right now. . .I love this desk. . .just perfect piece for a busy person. . .everything you need at you fingertips. . .holds a nice desk lamp for extra light. . .all my working accessories and my printer on the bottom shelf. . .I love it. . .and it has color. .yes!!! You should buy this Altra Ladder Bookcase/Desk, now!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 Feb 23, 2016

It's cute, holding up well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to put together
 Jan 16, 2016

Unlike most assembled pieces of furniture, it actually came with decent instructions. Also, it is well made, and not only acts as a nice lap top desk, but it's color makes it a "eye-popping" piece of decor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looking Desk - Functional & Fun
 Dec 29, 2015

Although this is tough to assemble, it's worth it for the price and the look. The drawer isn't as sturdy as it could be, but it's trim, and the shelving is ideal for keeping all those reference works handy - or displaying your handsome bookends...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought