Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A must have !!!!
 from brooklyn new york,  Jul 20, 2013

Let me tell you!!! at first I was kinda iffy even though this was love at first sigh. The reviews were minimal -and someone even said they had purchased it for their son's room .(don't know if I will do that one???? TOO nice, pardon me!! TOO gorgeous for a kid's room uh huh! this bookcase is soooo unbelievable that I am still freaking out just watching it.my apt looks sooo bougee,you know like the stars crib. no, like a catalog home.i kid you not.you have to have this to believe me!!!!sooo functional too. overstock did I mention that I love you. you make me sooo happy with every purchase .thank you and keep bringing these modern beautiful pieces . I am super busy so believe me I had to writ this review so you can believe me when I say don't hesitate .you like or want different buy .you wont regret!! thank you again Overstock!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Hartselle, AL,  May 3, 2013

This is a great ladder desk. The red color brightens the room. We have an IMac and it fits perfectly. Printer fits great on bottom shelf. Great space saver.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Idaho,  Jul 4, 2013

This beautiful desk is a steal at only $200! But please gather a few friends to help you put this one together! The instructions on putting it together could have been better.. But since I put this beauty together, I have not had a single regret on my purchase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Untrustworthy Company
 from Ankeny, IA,  Oct 28, 2013

I ordered this desk because I liked the look of it, but I have never had a worse experience with a company before. When they sent it the first time, the packaging was so terrible that more than half the parts were broken and unusable. I called to get replacement parts and received most just fine, but 1 was still broken. Then they sent me the wrong piece. Even though I have called steadily the last 3 MONTHS, I still have not received the final piece I need to make the desk. I DO NOT recommend ordering anything from this company, as you may never receive what you ask for.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unhappy with product
 from AZ,  May 17, 2013

The item came in a box that was beat up and caused damage to a few of the shelves. However the thing that irritated me the most was the fact that not all of the parts came that were needed to connect the desk between the to bookends. The boards (c and d) didn't have the right holes cute in them to connect the center, as I said before I was unable to connect the desk section or the shelves above or below the desk. This really disappointed me as I have gotten items from Overstock that worked out great. I will think twice on which items I'm willing to take a chance on in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Over quality wasn't all that great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute!
 from Alexandria, Virginia,  Dec 29, 2013

The item is shorter in height than I expected. The color is definitely a rich shade of red. As for assembly, I would agree with the recommendation of using two people. As for the quality, one of the shelves - shelf O, had the holes erroneously drilled. I made it work by adjusting the position and angle. This defect didn't effect the stability of the unit once it was fully assembled. When assembling, follow the pictured instructions carefully; pay attention to the positioning of the boards and ensure use of the correct hardware. Tools needed - a flathead and a Phillips screwdriver. It took two hours to assemble.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product is what i expected exactly!
 from Alexandria, VA,  Apr 10, 2014

This product is a great buy for the price, besides the delivery issues, everything is perfect I couldn't ask for more! great for small place, just wish it was a little taller for my husband! But other than that we love the ladder desk, it was perfect for our 23 monitor, and great to place pictures on.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice, but smaller than expected.
 from Wa,  Apr 4, 2014

My teen loves it. He put it together with no problem. Very stylish, but proportionally is much smaller than I expected.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Altra Ladder Bookcase/ Desk
 from jacksonville, fl,  Mar 23, 2014

worst packaging ever. box weighs about 200 pounds and its all in one box. should be packaged in two boxes. the little plastic screws break easily if over tightened. the end result was fine, but could be much better and installer friendly

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking.
 from IN,  Mar 12, 2014

Item look nice but arrived with damaged parts. Took weeks to get replacements. It was very difficult to put together. Like it now, but not enough to gomthrough the hassle again.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivery issues
 from New Jersey,  Mar 10, 2014

First time there were delivery issues and after two days UPS said it had broken the package. Overstock was very prompt in correcting the issue and sent me another shipment with overnight shipping. Due to the wight and poor packaging the shipment arrived with broken/torn packaging. The edges of couple of the shelves are chipped. After putting in so much effort (yes, it requires decent amount of time to put this together) to put it together, I didn't have the heart to return it. So after spending all this money and time, I am using a broken product. :(

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good but badly designed
 from Michigan,  Mar 8, 2014

This desk looks fantastic I will not even try to dispute that but for this price I expected something better designed with better hardware. First the hardware, this is a cam lock style flat pack and the cams themselves are very very very cheap I had to pull almost everyone out and use pliers to reform them they stretch wide open with the smallest amount of pressure and of course they need pressure to lock. Now on to the design, it looks great but do not plan on using the drawer at all. They designed this where the slides for the drawers are screwed on OVER a big allen head screw with a very thick washer, what this means is that the drawer is very hard to open and close fully. For something of this poor quality and horrible engineering I would not expect to pay over ****, at nearly double this price (she had to have the espresso) this product is not worth it. As good as it looks we can't even use the drawer.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cute desk but very poor packaging
 from LA,  Mar 7, 2014

I had read the good and bad review and it was quite accurate. I decide to order anyway because I liked the style and color and it fitted in my small office. It is rather cheap and made in China so you already know what you are getting. Nevertheless it looks nice and bright and original. The packaging DOES suck. It arrived a little bit open and of course a few pieces are a little damaged. The pieces of wood are in mere plastic bags so I do not know how that can protect anything anyway. I ordered two replacement parts so that partly solves the problem. I will be able to finish the drawer that was almost broken. I wish it would be of a better quality but than it would be of a different price also. They need to fix the packaging ! if they do not want continuously bad reviews. I like my office so I am glad I took the risk!

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous desk, worth every penny!
 from El Paso, TX,  Mar 5, 2014

This is the nicest desk I have ever owned. I have had many other desks and they all basically look the same either expensive or cheap. This desk on the other hand has a very unique style to it. The red color is brilliant and the material is quality stuff. It has tons of shelf space and even a drawer. It does not take up a lot of space both vertically and horizontally and everybody notices it when they walk in the room. I would recommend this to anybody that needs room and does not want an ordinary bland desk . It is a great value for the price even compared to other desks twice the price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from MI,  Mar 2, 2014

This was a pain to put together but it wasn't difficult. It was an orange red to light red. I was deciding if I wanted it in my house or in my rental. It went to my rental. Nice enough price but looks like something from ***. Wasn't as high end as I was looking for. But it's not junk just not what I want. It reminds me a lot of an **** where it looks good now but down the road it won't last long term.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Waldorf, MD,  Feb 21, 2014

Love the style... A bit much to put together with just one person. Love it though!!!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk review
 from Massachusettes,  Jan 24, 2014

I LOVE my new desk. It wasn't hard to assemble, just a lot of pieces. I will admit at first it seemed a bit small, but now that I am using it and have all my items displayed I love it. I wouldn't change a thing about it. It cleaned up my office space and made it feel very modern and artsy. I would buy it again.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very poor packaging
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 22, 2014

I received this bookshelf during a brutal winter storm in Chicago two weeks ago. When it arrived, both sides of the package were soggy and open probably due to being handled haphazardly. I opened the package and pieces were broken, which was convincing enough for me to call overstock customer service right away. The individual I spoke to was very helpful and considerate. He offered a refund or store credit, from which I chose a refund. Now I am waiting for UPS to contact me to either pick up the package or to neglect a dispute, where I will then dispose or reuse the remaining pieces of the bookshelf. First, I think Overstock is at fault for the really bad packaging of this product where a similar situation has happened more than once (looking at other reviews). Secondly, this item heavy and awkward overall, making it difficult for UPS workers to properly handle it. I don't want to waste my time or the time of the UPS workers by ordering another bookshelf that would likely show up in the same poor condition. I would not recommend ordering this online, as you risk parts that are missing or broken upon arrival.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great but very difficult to assemble
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jan 9, 2014

This desk is perfect. It looks great and doesn't take up a lot of space. I'm very happy with it, but I do want to warn people -- I needed by super to help assemble this and it took nearly four hours. It's very complex and there are a lot of pieces. You need your own tools.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant Finish and Sturdy Design
 from Philly, PA,  Jan 8, 2014

This product is made of solid, sturdy wood and the final bookcase looks elegant and expensive. But you will definitely need some elbow grease to put it together.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Broadway Black Floating Desk with Storage
Today $153.97
Compare $259.00
Save 41%
(51)
Furniture of America Union 2-in-1 Bookcase/ Writing Desk
Sale $162.88
Was $180.98
Compare $196.00
Save 17%
(15)
Altra Ladder Desk with Tower Bookcase
Sale $153.22
Was $170.25
Compare $200.00
Save 23%
(5)
A-frame Espresso Desk
Today $121.48
Compare $196.98
Save 38%
(362)
Altra Ladder Bookcase Wall Desk
Sale $222.07
Was $246.74
Compare $409.48
Save 46%
(1)
Back to top