Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely desk, imperfect piece, dealing with it.
 from I am in Texas, he is in Wisconsin.,  Mar 5, 2013

The desk is perfect size, height & space for my son who is 6'4" & strong. Think linebacker :) This was a birthday present. He received it & was excited to put it together, but found that the holes drilled for the runners did not line up appropriately to allow smooth drawer action. Disappointing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 75% so it's good, but not great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Altra Astute Desk and File Cabinet
 from Acworth, NH,  Jun 27, 2013

Product was packaged well, no damage upon arrival. There are some blemishes in the finish on the desk top, but nothing too bad. When assembling, take your time and pay attention to the drawings. Some drawer parts were mislabeled! Also, use a carpenters square when putting the units together. If the main parts aren't square, the drawers don't close properly....in this case, you get what you pay for!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual color is more brown and less red than photo shown...but pleased with it as is.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is average to below average.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impossible Drawers
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  May 5, 2013

The desk looks nice aside from the drawers. They were impossible to assemble and are not functional. They are crooked and you can tell just by looking at them but I've taken so much time trying to figure out the problem that I've given up. Disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Drawers do not fit hanging files!
 from Maryland,  Sep 30, 2013

1. My unit was damaged when I received it. - A small dent on the top surface of the desk, which I didn't mind too much. - One of the drawer slide rollers was cracked in half so it doesn't work properly. 2. The file drawers do not fit hanging files. I use file folders with tabs so I can label my files. I think just about everyone does this. Anyway, the file drawers do not have enough clearance for those tabs to be sticking up above the top of the hanging file. I cannot put any of my files in either the desk or the file cabinet because the drawers won't close. This product literally does not do what it is designed for.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Perfect but Good Buy
 from Orange, TX.,  Apr 7, 2013

You will need almost a whole day to assemble these. I read alot of the reviews before buying. It's very sturdy, kind of a pain to assemble but for the price, well worth it. Looks nice, the file cabinet was perfect but the desk was scratched and not in that great of shape but not bad enough to send back. Very good buy for the price. Everything works, drawers glide fine. I would definately buy it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty sturdy some flaws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Altra Astute Single Pedestal Dsk and File Cabinet
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Mar 20, 2013

This is a beautiful set; desk and file cabinet do not look like pieces you buy and home assemble. Desk Top and File Cabinet Tops are hard wood. It's got character. Desk has 2 smaller drawers and one file cabinet type (with hardware) drawer. File Cabinet has one small top drawer and a file cabinet (with hardware) drawer. This is the nicest of home assemble piece I've ever purchased out of 10 total.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is just a couple shade from black.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality Wood Composites and Hardwood tops.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Item arrived exactly as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Review of Desk and Cabinet
 from Mountain View, California,  Jul 4, 2013

The item was difficult to put together and already in pretty bad shape upon arrival with scuffs and chips. The pre-assembled portions of the drawers fell apart and were difficult to put back together because there were no instructions for that portion of the assembly. Also, the screws for the different parts of the assembly were not clearly labeled. I would have returned the item if it was not so difficult to put back the way it came.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the product was chipped and scuffed in several places upon arrival and the ball bearings in the drawers were not pre-assembled correctly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You Get What You Pay For
 from boston, ma,  May 5, 2013

I wanted to replace a desk that had shelves instead of drawers & was attracted by the photo of this product. Service wise Overstock did well - shipping was quick. The item was packaged ok - but because the veneer is paper thin there were numerous imperfections & blemishes on the parts. They did provide a "touch-up" pen. It was easy to put together - but a little time consuming. Overall I'd say if you are looking for something sturdy that will hold up over time ... keep looking. If your needs are more for lightweight use this may work out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color not as pictured ... item is darker than pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
color not as described, unable to assemble drawer
 from Sioux Falls, SD,  Apr 4, 2013

Very disappointed in this produce. As described above, we can't assemble one of the drawers! Now we have a desk with a gaping hole where a drawer is supposed to be! i will be contacting the manufacturing company to see if a replacement part can be sent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was described as cherry, and there is nothing "cherry" about this color! It is very dark, without a hint of red, and the drawers are a drastically different color from the rest of the desk
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. We were unable to assemble a drawer. It must have been assembled wrong by the manufacturer because if we put it together the way it came, the drawer will not close.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The color is the biggest discrepancy, otherwise the description is fairly close.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the money or time
 from Florida,  Dec 20, 2013

Awful piece. Holes did not line up correctly with dowels. Dowel was too long to fit tightly into holes so this file cabinet would not ever be able to be connected correctly. The pieces that were made of wood were sturdy and probably would look nice when assembled but because it would not stay together, i have to return it. There were many, many pieces with this file drawer and it will take a lot of patience to assemble. I do not believe it is worth your time or money.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from MA,  Sep 25, 2013

I was so hesitant to buy because of the other reviews, but I absolutely love this desk. Husband put it together and said it wasn't too difficult. It looks just like the picture...a lovely espresso finish. Very stylish. Great value. Highly recommend it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't come in pristine shape
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 24, 2013

I liked this product and it's style. It came in fairly decent condition but one peice of the cart had a crack in it and there were scratches on multiple parts of the item. It is a great style and size but trouble with shipping. It also was very simple to put together. Took some time but not complicated as long as you read the directions.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant!
 from San Antonio Fl.,  Jul 28, 2013

The furniture looks far more valuable than the purchase price would indicate. It arrived in very good condition and was very well packed. Assembly instructions were clear and easy to follow. It did take approximately 2.5 hours to assemble. We are completely satisfied.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This desk and file cabinet is AMAZING!!!
 from Missouri City, TX,  Jul 20, 2013

I LOVE THIS SET!!! I DID NOT BUY THIS BASED OFF PREVIOUS REVIEWS AND I AM THANKFUL FOR THAT!!! The desk and file cabinet arrived on seperate days. Both items are very easy to assemble. It does take a little bit of time, yet I did not mind. Great tip: open the box, seperate all parts and identify the parts in the instructions to make sure all parts are present BEFORE you start. Follow the directions exactly as described. There were no missing parts. Everything lined up perfectly as I assembled both items. You have to make sure to install the drawer bottoms the right way. When you slide the drawer bottom in as you are assembling the drawers together slide it all the way in on the thin track, then take it out and turn it 90 degrees, and slide it in again to see which way it fits better. Drawers were very easy to install and they open and close smoothly. On the slide out keyboard drawer of the desk, the front lip can be installed 2 different ways. The lip can join the drawer with a high ledge (kind of where your wrists set) or you can turn the lip 180 degrees to have a shallow lip. I chose the shallow way to feel more comfortable. The color is a true espresso; however, the front panel of the top drawer of the file cabinet is slightly lighter than everything else. This is a very nice looking contemporary office set. I am extremely pleased with it. The top of the desk is a perfect size. I have a 27" iMac that sets on top with plenty of workspace left. I am an online college student and this is the best set up for my needs. Plus I'm able to have all my inportant files at my fingers. One thing I forgot to mention is the metal mounts for hanging files in the file drawer of the file cabinet is mounted a little too high. So if you hang files in that drawer it becomes hard to close. I used the file drawer in the desk for all my files which works perfectly. Combined, this set gives you 3 nice size box drawers and 2 file drawers. The only reason I gave it 4 stars has to do with Overstock. When I purchased this set it stated that I would receive 2 seperate boxes but it never stated that I would received it on different days. So I received the desk and not the file cabinet. I contacted Overstock about the missing item. It took them several days to contact me back with an answer. Their answer was that the warehouse no longer had the file cabinet in stock and offered me a small discount. I had already assembled the desk and was patiently waiting for the matching file cabinet. Once I read that I would not be able to receive the matching item, I was really upset. I wanted everything to match. Low and behold, the file cabinet arrived at my door. I am one happy girl!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
missing file cabinet
 from long island, ny,  Jul 16, 2013

I ordered the set with file cabinet but only received the desk. The desk was easy to put together and the finish is nice. I want the file cabinet too!

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
office furniture
 from Chicago,  Jul 12, 2013

I ordered three Desks for the office. The desks were in very bad shape, missing pieces like drawer bottom. The reassembled parts fell apart, and went loose. The paint was rough and some of the edges were damaged. This is extremely poorly made desks. The lack of ethics shows in every inch you touch this product. It is too bad they are heavy and hard to through through the window. I will never order again from Overstock... !

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice looking but hard to put together
 from Patchogue, NY,  Jul 7, 2013

I have put may of this kind of furniture together. The desk was very difficult to put together, The back part broke and I had to screw in screws in the back for extra support. The file cabinet metal pieces are too short and keep falling off the track, so I taped them on. After all the tweeking I had to do, it actually looks very nice, and working well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is what I expected for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad Buy
 from Lou., Ky.,  Jun 21, 2013

Instructions were wrong which made assembly doubly difficult. When finally assembled, the file drawer of the file cabinet is out of line and won't close when files are inserted. I have to just use it as a drawer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color comparable to actual item.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Med-Low quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality furniture from an outstanding company
 from Carterville, Illinois,  May 29, 2013

My furniture arrived with a couple minor issues...overstock.com took care of the problem and I am 100% satisfied. I highly recommend overstock.com

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pictures match color perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Matched perfectly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JUnk! Junk! Junk!
 from Nutley, NJ,  May 27, 2013

This desk came damaged- the drawer mechanism for the keyboard drawer was completely broken off- so that's not working. The rest of the desk came together and worked. Not so for the filing cabinet. I cannot believe this made it past any company's quality assurance department. Nothing fit. Neither drawer worked, nothing lined up to make the drawers work. None of the pieces fit together. I spent many hours of my holiday weekend putting this together just to find it completely useless!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor!!!!!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? if it worked it might be considered accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Inval Computer Desk
Today $185.54
Compare $190.50
Save 3%
(3)
Wakefield Pedestal Desk
Today $712.00
Back to top