Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 216 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Zen Vibe, Sturdy, Beautiful Wood
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Apr 15, 2011

This is a great find on Overstock.com. I'm redoing my bedroom and didn't want to spend a fortune on a new bed, but definitely wanted something simple and really nice. I feel like I hit the jackpot. This bed looks so much more expensive than it is. It sits very low to the ground and has a very cool zen vibe about it. The wood is a dark, rich, beautiful color and is shockingly sturdy. I couldn't believe that something that came to me in 3 boxes is as rock solid as it is. As a moderately handy girl, I was able to put this bed together in about an hour. People that really know what they're doing will probably have it together in about half that time. I did buy a bunky board to support my mattress. The planks are very sturdy and solid, but I personally just wanted the extra support for my bed. The only downside is that the top piece of the footboard was broken off from the main piece when I opened the box. It's the same complaint that a lot of other people have mentioned in their reviews, so it must be a problem in the original packing. In the meantime, I've attached it to the bed as-is, but customer support was on top of the situation immediately and are sending me a replacement footboard that will take about 5 minutes to swap out. No biggie. LOVE my bed and have been incredibly impressed with Overstock's customer service department.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Perfectly
  • How is the quality of the product? Extremely high quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall great, some problems
 from CA,  Sep 24, 2010

I bought this bed, nightstands and dresser. Overall it is a great set and it looks much better than it does in the picture. The bed was easy to assemble, the only problem is that the bed needs a lower mattress because the headboard is not very high. With a mattress more than 8 inches there is really not much of the headboard that you can see. Otherwise it is a comfortable and stylish looking bed, especially if you prefer low beds. The dresser and nightstand also look great, but are a pain to put together and the instructions are really bad. I made a mistake putting a nightstand together but once I got the hang of it, the other one and the dresser were not a problem even thought the dresser required a lot of energy to assemble. After all the work, it looks like a great set and I'm very pleased with it. Also, the delivery was quick and efficient.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, affordable platform bed
 from MA,  May 24, 2011

My husband and I had been searching for the perfect platform bed for a long time. Everything we found was either too expensive, not the right color, too boring, to embellished, etc. This bed was the perfect balance for us - a nice dark color (but not black or espresso), simple & clean lines (but not boring), and a great price. We also wanted a bed where the mattress sat "in" the frame as opposed to just "on" the frame. Our only negative comment - the assembly was a little difficult as the instructions were vague and there were no pre-drilled holes for the slats that go under the mattress. We had to measure and mark them all out, and it would have been impossible to screw them in without a drill.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good quality, especially for the price
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 24, 2011

Love the bed frame. Easy to assemble. Looks great. Feels sturdy. However the wood trim on the top foot of the board was separated (on the end) from the main plank of wood when I opened it. I had a friend fix it for me instead of dealing with the hassel of sending it back... I knocked off a star on the review because of this defect...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product and service
 from Pennsylvania,  Apr 21, 2011

This bed is just what we were looking for. We use it as a platform bed (no box spring). With our new mattress (14 inches high), the bed is a perfect height and very comfortable. Overstock provided excellent and fast service - we couldn't be more satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it - beautiful and sturdy!
 from Lisbon Falls, Maine,  Mar 18, 2012

I bought the Alsa because it was a Zen-looking platform bed. It looks as good in person as it does on the site. We have a very heavy TempurPedic mattress on it, and it bears the weight just fine. My only caution: check the height of your mattress. Ours is 13" high, and a lot of the headboard is concealed - only about 2-3" showing at the top. Still looks great though! Also bought the matching nightstands, which I definitely reccommend because the bed is so low - might look odd with taller nightstands. Super easy to assemble - my husband did the bed by himself in about an hour. An electric drill is helpful for securing the slats, since there aren't pre-drilled holes. Wasn't an issue for us at all though, would just take longer with a manual one. It did arrive damaged, but Overstock was great and shipped us a replacement free of charge and very quickly. Overall very pleased with the set and overall experience shopping with Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy and well constructed. We put a TempurPedic mattress on the bed, and I was concerned about the weight. It isn't a problem at all though - it's a rock!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid wood bed
 from Bloomington, IN,  Aug 25, 2011

The bed is solid and well made. The packaging was substantial. The only problem was that the hardware kit was missing. I contacted customer support and was supposed to receive replacement hardware, but it still has yet to show up. After about a week I just went to the hardware store and bought the bolts (8 short metric bolts and some wood screws for the slats) necessary to assemble the bed. Missing hardware is the cardinal sin of mail-order furniture. Shame, shame. The slats (12) are especially high-quality and were pre-drilled. This was very nice. I'm very happy with the bed. I just can't tell you how much it drives a consumer crazy when the hardware is missing! For the love of all that is good in this world, please pay more attention to that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is quality construction. Unfortunately the hardware kit was missing.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The desciption should have included the number of slats included (12).
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good
 from Auburn, AL,  Mar 15, 2013

The bed is very easy to assemble. It took my wife and me only about 20 minutes to do it - in fact, the nightstands take a lot longer to assemble than the bed. Of course, this is assuming you have a power drill. If not, it can take a lot longer, since the holes for the slat-screws are not pre-drilled. One thing to keep in mind is that the bed looks a lot smaller than a conventional queen size bed after it has been assembled. Probably because it is so low to the ground (in reality, it is the same size as a regular queen bed). If we had realized this earlier, we might have gone for the king size, just to fill out our room. But other than that, it is a very good product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with my bed
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 23, 2011

It was on my doorstep in 3 days!! I ordered it on a Saturday and I had it on Tuesday. Fastest shipping ever!! And I was prepared to wait three weeks. I think the bed is beautiful and I'm so happy with it. The "rim" around the edge is a nice touch, but I'm still getting used to it and I bang my shin on it. I have a mattress pad on my bed and it makes the sleeping surface just high enough that the headboard isn't comfortable to lean my head back on. I love it!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was as dark brown as I expected. The rest of my furniture is more mahogany but it all still looks nice together.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The top board on the foot board was detached but my dad re-attached it fairly quickly. There were not dings/dents in the furniture and so far it seems very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I hadn't realized how low the bed was (I read the dimensions but I didn't know that it was 28" to the TOP) but I really love having a low bed.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bed!
 from Brooklyn, CT,  Oct 31, 2013

I love this bed! I'm very happy with it. In fact, I'm almost angry at how awesome it is. I ordered this for a new memory foam mattress that I purchased. However, the bed came in before the mattress and we had to use our old mattress on it. I don't know how, but it made the old mattress more comfortable! Anyways, my boyfriend put this together in about an hour and he hand screwed all the slats in. The directions were good and easy to follow. It looks really good in my room. The low height of it definitely makes the room feel more open. It is also very sturdy! I jumped onto the bed and it didn't make a single noise. My pillows hide the headboard, but that's okay! If you have an 8" mattress, you will be able to see the headboard fine. It is really low to the ground so be prepared.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shipping. Nice bed without surprises.
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Oct 9, 2013

Nice bed. Not incredible quality but definitely a good value. Attractive. I do wish the headboard was taller because it limits your choice in mattresses significantly. Still: nice bed, decent quality, appropriately advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent bed!
 from Gainesville, FL,  Sep 21, 2013

I just got this bed and I love it. One of my biggest fears in buying a bed online is having it arrive to find it has a weak structure; I'm a solid 250 lbs and I've had more than one bed completely give out just from flopping down on it! This bed feels heavy and sturdy, and comes with plenty of slats. This bed is LOW, which I wanted and am happy with, but some people might be surprised by how low it is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with this bed
 from Fairfield, CT,  Jul 5, 2013

I have had this bed for a month now, and I am very happy with it. It came in three packages, and arrived on good condition. It is very solid and nice looking. It took two of us about an hour to put it together without any power tools...that would have saved some time. I just threw a bunky board on it with an 8" memory foam mattress, and it is solid as a rock and looks great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good value for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive Review
 from Nashville, Tn,  Feb 23, 2013

My son LOOOOOOOVES his new bed. Very contemporary, clean looks, SUPER easy to install but most importantly very very sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as shown on site
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from San Diego, CA,  Feb 12, 2013

Great bed as described in the product description and reviews. The only bad thing I can say is that you need some extra tools to assemble the slats on the bottom. I had to measure it out myself and use a screwdriver to get it them all secure. But honestly excluding a little extra work the quality and look of this bed is awesome. Plus we my wife and i have been sleeping on it for several weeks now...not one problem. Beats anything we found in numerous stores by price and quality. West elm, pottery barn, local furniture store, etc....this bed has them all beat if you are looking for this style. And again its half the price they wanted to charge us!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described in the reviews
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with this bed
 from Colorado,  Feb 6, 2013

I spent a lot of time looking for a quality platform bed. I based my decision mostly on the reviews of other customers. Overall this bed frame got the best reviews I could find. Once I got it unpacked I could see why. It is made of heavy, sturdy materials. The instructions were simple and it took me about an hour to put it together. If you don't have an extension piece for your drill, I would recommend getting one before the bed comes. I ended up putting all of the screws in by hand; which wasn't difficult, just time consuming. Shipping was so fast. I was actually shocked and not really ready for it as I was still painting my room. I love the way the bed looks. It's low to the ground and gives a simple and clean look to my attic room. Very Zen. I love that the mattress sits down inside the frame. No slipping off or moving around here. I'm using it with a fairly old mattress, so my next big purchase will be a quality one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is sturdy and well put togeter.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed!
 from Williamsburg, VA,  Dec 17, 2012

The bed is easy to assemble, although a drill or electrical screw driver and a tape measure come in handy, because, as other reviews pointed out, there are no markings where the slats should go. Once assembled, the bed feels very sturdy. According to the Q&A, it supports only 220 lbs, but my husband and I plus a memory foam mattress (definitely more than 400 lbs altogether) seem to be fine on it. Finally, I really love the way the bed looks. The wood is beautiful. We have a 10" mattress, and the headboard i quite small, but it still looks great, especially considering the price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 from New York, NY,  Sep 18, 2012

This was a safe purchase. There was no wood tone I was seeking to match. The product appeared exactly in person like it appeared on line. It was well packed and there were no dents or scratches. My concern with furniture I must assemble is details like the gauge of the component metal pieces, length of screws, adequate alignment of pre-drilled components. Everything on this bed exceeded my expectations. The hardest part was carrying the 3 boxes. I'm very happy with this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well constructed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A really great bed
 from Maryland,  Sep 17, 2012

If you're looking for an Asian style, low sitting, platform bed, this bed is great. I have a heavy foam mattress and there is no issue with sagging. The color is beautiful and looks nice with other woods if you do not order the other matching furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Delivered in excellent condition. Made of strong frame and good mattress supports
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good First Bed
 from New Orleans, LA,  Sep 13, 2012

This was my first bed that I have ever had the pleasure of buying. While it is not top of the line quality it is very well made and sturdy. I have not had any problems with it, I do recommend it to anyone looking to buy a nice affordable bed frame.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well Made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 216 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought