Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Well worth the effort
 from Central, Florida,  Nov 26, 2011

The bottom line is that this futon is a very good looking piece of furniture. Getting there was somewhat tricky. My son, the master of puzzles, assembled it for me. There was a few problems noticed when first removed from the box, such as a 2 in. wood chip on one leg and one of the slats was broken due to a big knot in the wood. At further inspection 3 long bolts were missing. Fortunately, he had some bolts that would work in his shop, he found the chip that came off the leg and glued it on, and reinforced the broken slat with glue and screwed on some scrap lumber. He then decided to reinforce 2 more slats...just in case. Once it was all together, it looked perfect. The mattress is great, the wood finish is beautiful and the futon sturdy. My guests are sleeping on it this week and say they are very comfortable. That's the important part and makes me happy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'd give it a B
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Check for cracks/missing parts
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Aug 14, 2012

It took about an extra week to get this piece assembled. First delivery/package was surprising, because the boxes looked a little small for the set. Once opened, two arms were totally cracked and some parts were missing. We ended up calling the customer service a couple of times to request replacements. The initial packing was poorly executed--hope Overstock has learned the lesson and they do a better job in packing this product. There were almost no cushion stuff in between the parts/boxes. Anyways, the customer service was very helpful and fast, with an email confirmation of their progress, and the replacement parts arrived without a scratch (and they did take an extreme caution in packing the parts). Once assembled, it looks very nice, is sturdy (again, I was afraid that it might crack and break), and comfy. For the price, I'd say this was a great buy--but you might receive cracked/broken parts so you need to check every parts thoroughly before you assemble (and wait for about a week before you receive the replacement).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wood futon
 from apple valley, ca,  Oct 26, 2012

We received this item very quickly. Did not seem too challending to put together, but there were a few hardware pieces missing as well as a cracked table arm. called overstock and told them we just need one table arm and a few pieces of missing hardware. They said they are actually sending out a whole new sofa, we are to take what we need and then send the rest back with a prepaid envelope. So..it has not been put together yet until we get the parts. the mattress part is only about 5 inches deep, I think the 8 inches stated comes when it is folded in half. We look forward to using it once it is put together. It looks nice, and I prefer a futon that is all wood instead of one that shows its metal frame .

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes, it looked the same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average,
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate except the depth of the mattress
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived broken
 from West Coast,  Sep 14, 2012

Everything seemed promising until we got to the main seat and found the piece had a huge (2' long) crack along the front. Extremely visible and un-fixable (if we had wanted to repair a brand new item). Good response from O chat support, they've promised to expedite a replacement part. We'll see how that works out and amend the review.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking!
 from Morro Bay, CA,  Sep 12, 2012

Once you get this assembled it really looks good. It's a little tricky to get the slats onto the frame. Wood chips easily so careful! Directions are visual. It would be helpful to have a narrative as well. Futon mattress is very comfortable but not 8 inches as described. This would not be a problem unless you order a futon cover which will end up being too large. Side tables are great! No one has slept on it yet so we are hoping for the best

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. medium, chips easily
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good except futon is not 8 inches, more like 6
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weekend house futon
 from Henagar, Alabama.,  Feb 19, 2013

The futon was shipped in a timely manner. It was up to specifications. The only problem was that there were no instructions in the carton. No paperwork at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Everything was fine and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece of furniture.
 from Milton, DE,  Feb 19, 2013

Very pleased with the product and will deal with Overstock again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very cloce
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Have not used it yet but seems of high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal on Futon - no instructions!
 from Washington DC,  Feb 19, 2013

We bought this futon for my mother to sleep on for a month long visit. She's pretty sensitive to uncomfortable beds, but says it's completely fine to sleep on, so we are very pleased! It is also quite attractive in the sitting position - doesn't look as frumpy as some futons, and the arms mean no end tables are required. It was also an incredibly good deal - hundreds less than any other hardwood frame futon. The mattress isn't as thick as some (probably 6 inches rather than the advertised 8) but as my mom says it's comfortable anyway we are pleased. We didn't have any problems with the wood being broken or seeming cheap. All the parts were finished and in good condition. A few negative comments: The futon took about 1.5 weeks to ship, which seemed a bit long to me (mom was stuck on the couch for a few days while we waited). A bigger problem was that when it finally arrived, our futon did not come with assembly instructions! We contacted overstock.com, and unfortunately they were unable to find a manual to send to us, though they were very prompt and helpful through the whole process (Overstock.com customer service is fantastic). Since it came with missing parts they couldn't replace, they offered us either a return with full refund, or a $$$ discount applied to our purchase. We went with the latter and my husband managed to figure out how to put it together without instructions anyway.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality of parts and assembled product was good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? mattress slightly thinner than advertised
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
all wood futon set with table arm and camel mattre
 from Loa Angeles, CA,  Oct 1, 2012

This futon is an attractive color, and fine wood. It fits our decor perfectly, and is a comfortable bed for our boy. The thick foam mattress gives good support. We are very happy with this futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very attractive dark wood, table arm is very useful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly as I pictured
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Futon
 from Nashville, TN,  Aug 8, 2012

I was a little worried about ordering the futon after reading some of the other reviews, but I love it. I am using it in a small guest room/office. It looks great in the room and I love having the table arms so I don't have to worry about getting end tables. I've only had it for one night so no one has slept on it yet, but the mattress seems firm and comfortable. It was very easy to put together also.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with my futon
 from TX,  Jul 21, 2012

I am very pleased with the futon. All the parts were in the box It took two of us about an hour and a half to get it all put together because we had trouble getting some of the screws in at the right angle. It should have taken us only about an hour. We haven't slept on it yet, but it looks very sturdy. I like the side trays because we do not have to worry about end tables in a small room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mattress is not 8 inches thick. More like 6 inches.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality wood
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jan 12, 2012

When searching for a futon for my daughter's old room/ current guest room, I was really excited when I found this. I did not want a cheap looking or cheaply made futon and was hoping to find something good-looking (more like a couch) and more comfortable than the average futon, even if I had to pay more to get it. I read the reviews and felt that I had found the perfect thing, expecting the quality to match the price. WRONG! The frame arrived with a chip on the upper frame and a gouge in the lower frame. Since they were both located in the back and wouldn't be seen with the mattress on, I decided to go for it and put it together, although I had doubts about the wood quality because good wood would not damage that easily. I slept on it that night and was disappointed that the mattress was so hard (sitting on it was comfortable). But what was the deciding factor in returning it was that when my 150 lb. son-in-law sat on it, a slat broke because they had used a slat with a knot in the wood running across the entire slat. I really wanted to keep it because it did look good and had the cool tables, but I could not picture it lasting very long, and for the price, I wanted a piece of furniture I could keep for a long time. Frame: very cheap wood, easily broken/ gouged/ chipped Mattress: hard, uncomfortable for sleeping/ fine for sitting, thinner than the description Looks: nice looking Price: price and quality not proportionate, I would say it is worth more like $100- $150

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The frame arrived chipped, gouged, and with a broken slat.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I Love My Futon
 from New Yory City,  Dec 13, 2011

Just got my Futon yesterday and i love it. Fast shipment, easy to put together i could not be more happy with it. The mattress is not 8'' inch's thick more like 5 & half to 6 inchs but that is no problem. all i can say is wow!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top