Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Water Bath and Pressure Can
 from Northern Kentucky,  Feb 16, 2012

This is a wonderful canner! You can use it for 7 quart jars if pressure canning or 19 pint jars,10 on bottom, 9 on top. For water bath canner, you can also use up to 7 quart jars and 19 pint jars. This unit includes two racks for stacking the pint jars. The manual is very thorough. Do not forget to grease this canner with olive oil or vaseline since there is no gasket. It is wonderful to not have to replace a gasket ever. The manual recommends not using this canner on a smooth top stove. I have seen people do it without any issues, but the manufacturer recommends that you do not.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right one
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceptional Quality, Heavy Duty
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right one
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must-have!
 from Birmingham, AL,  Aug 24, 2012

As a first-time pressure canner, I researched a long time before investing in this product. Studied the reviews and how-to's and youtube videos in depth. This is such a quality product and was much easier to use than I originally thought it would be. Will be using it for years to come, but in my old age, might have to get someone to pull it out and put it on the stove when canning - it is very heavy. Was very important to me that it is made in the USA. Was worried that it might not fit on my stove because I have a microwave mounted over my stove. However, it fits on the front burners easily, and I still can lift the lid away from me when opening after the appropriate time has passed when canner is finished. Wish I could have purchased the 16 qt canner, but it was gone by the time I decided to purchase. However, the 21.5 qt is great because you can stack the pint jars and fit more into the canner at one time, getting more done at a time. Would definitely make this purchase again if I had it to do all over! Thanks, Overstock, for making this a reality for me!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. impeccable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I can't stop canning!!!!
 from Newcastle, CA,  Aug 22, 2012

I have canned for a straight 2 weeks now. I may have to attend a meeting. We are enjoying the rewards of this wonderful canner. I have reduced sodium as it is not essential for preserving food in this type of situation. I have also caused it to turn BLACK! Yikes, I forgot to add the vinegar (my water is very hard). I found a cure online using Cream of Tartar. Perfect again. So use your vinegar people!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but not over the top
 from Tacoma, Wa,  Oct 31, 2011

We ordered this on Friday and by Thursday the next week we had it in hand. Once we got it home we started checking it out. Noticed that around the rim of the pot there was a lot of mistooling that was done to cut it away from the slag. The we noticed a small indentation on the lid. Could not find anything about this in the manual and was hard to figure out if it was supposed to be there or not. We decided to send this one back. Returning it was straight forward and with the RMA number there was a prepaid shipping lable. They even went ahead and shipped the replacement before receiving the old one. After getting the new one in hand it became readily apparent what the marking in the top was. It was an arrow to line up the lid with the indentation on the bottom. So in the end it was bad pot out of the factory. All in all it's a great product they just need to do a better job of.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was pretty much the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Second one shipped was better than the first.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty much spot on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Real Deal
 from Ohio,  Oct 19, 2010

This is the canner you need to do everything! My husband recommended we get the one that cooks at a higher temperature in case we want to can beans. Well made and ready to go.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a work horse!
 from San Francicso,  Oct 23, 2012

This pressure canner is the 'berries'! I was dubious and scared to use it but whipped out a batch of black beans yesterday that were easy - peasy! It's a high quality product, well made and timeless! Love the Bakelite screw handles and heavy aluminum. Quality USA craftsmanship. With the price of food expected to JUMP in the coming months, this work horse will be put to the test as we can as much of the summer harvest as we can.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent American Made product!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Canner/Cooker
 from Fort Bragg, CA,  Sep 4, 2012

I love this pressure canner! It's easy to use, comes with VERY good instructions and recipies and is of the highest quality I have seen for a combo pressure canner/cooker. If you are planning on home canning low acid foods you MUST can them under pressure. This product will do that and is also useful as a pressure cooker.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The best quality I've found for this type of product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No more seals to leak
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jun 14, 2012

This is the real deal. The pressure gauge is exceptionally helpful. But the best thing about this cooker is: A Fantastic Metal to Metal Seal. No more sputtering or blowouts as the seal aged

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made in the USA
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the description of the product was right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality. Does as advertised.
 from Cincy, Oh,  Jul 22, 2011

I am extremely happy with my purchase. You couldn't get a better pressure cooker. This is a top notch product. The price was cheaper here than the all-american website. The shipping was speedy. I would recommend this product and this site. :)

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a top notch product. You couldn't get a better pressure cooker.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site was really useful.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous Piece of Equipment
 from Texas,  Jun 7, 2011

This is the Sherman Tank of canners. It is built to last and comes with a 50 year warranty. There are no seals to replace; just use a little oil on the metal to metal seal. This is a canner you can hand down to your children. The 921 is pretty heavy empty, so don't plan on moving it around much when full.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what was wanted
 from Top of Illinois,  Aug 28, 2014

Bought this as a gift and they love it. Was exactly what they needed for their canning needs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality pressure canner - good pirce - fast ship
 from Washington state,  Aug 28, 2014

The All American 921 pressure canner is a good all around choice for both pressure canning and water bathing 7 quarts at a time. I first purchased an AA915 from another source. It is well built but too short for water bathing quarts. I wanted a unit that could do both so I returned the 915 and purchased the 921 (which is 3 inches higher) from Overstock.com. The price was good and even better with my new customer discount. They shipped quickly and I received the canner in a few days, even sooner than I was expecting. I have canned about 36 quarts of green beans so far and I like the canner quite well. It is well built and I like having both a pressure gauge and weight. I lightly oiled the metal sealing surfaces (no rubber gasket) with olive oil as instructed and had zero problem with the lid sticking. Comes with two jar racks in case you want to double stack pints. So far I have just done quarts. My friend has a Presto pressure canner. The All American costs more but it is much heavier / thicker construction and no gasket to replace. One minor down side is thicker metal can mean a slightly longer wait for the canner to cool down and depressurize after a batch. That is not a big deal to me because it is so well built. In my opinion the 921 is a good overall size. Big enough to double as a water bath canner for a standard 7 quart batch but small enough to have clearance on most stove tops and not be ridiculously heavy. Even so, it is easier to put it on the stove empty and then add the water and later jars. So far I really like this canner.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Advertised; No Suprises
 from Jean, NV,  Jul 1, 2014

I got what I ordered. It was reasonably priced and shipped quickly. Very Happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best canner on the market
 from Los Lunas, NM,  May 5, 2014

This is the best pressure canner on the market. It is a little too big to use for cooking if you are using it on a stove top. I think that this hits the sweet spot price wise over the 915 (15 Quart). It is not much more expensive but can process twice as many pint jars at one time. The metal to metal seal is perfect and there is nothing to wear out. It is very east to use and will last a lifetime. I also have an All American 915 that is probably 40 years old. It has a different pressure mechanism and does not have the overpressure relief but otherwise is almost identical. It still gets used regularly. It is nice to have the two canners so one can be cooling while I am loading up / processing the other. The only caution is to lift the whole assembly by the handles on the side and not the plastic handle on the lid. The plastic handle is for lifting the lid only.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super canner
 from Heartland,  Feb 20, 2014

Statrted canning with a Harvest gold Presto canner 35 years ago, a very reliable albeit time consuming implement, this American trumps it big time. Worth every nickel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from NW Louisiana,  Jan 19, 2014

Bought this a few months ago, out of canning season in my area but just had to try it out. The trial run was flawless, the instruction book took all the guess work out of the process. Have used pressure cookers all my life so they do not make me nervous, this is my first one with a pressure gauge, it makes all the difference. Personally believe you will not regret buying this cooker. Comes with a book, recipes and parts list with company contact information...made right here in America a plus for me...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy duty.
 from Superior Wisconsin,  Jan 18, 2014

Outstanding heavy duty canner/cooker. The aluminum handles on the lower tub were peened on the corners, abuse of shipping. It's no big deal to me, just a few seconds with a file will rectify it. I just imagine how merchandise is chucked around by UPS.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from fort lauderdale fl,  Dec 18, 2013

Great product, would recommend people to buy from here again as well as this products! got here in a timely fashion works great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pressure cooker
 from Ballston Lake NY,  Nov 13, 2013

great product. quality excellent. shipping very fast. Highly reccomend overstock for purchases

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Only Canner You Should Buy
 from Ohio,  Nov 2, 2013

I grew up with my mom canning every year. So when it came to buying my own canner, I wanted something that lasted my lifetime and could hand down to my daughters. This is the best one around. Yes, it is an investment, but it is the only canner you will ever need. I got the 21.5 quart canner and it just fits on my stove with the vent/microwave overhead. More than enough for the average canner. Just made a double batch of soup, and canned half. And Overstock.com had the best deal! This is heavy and shipping is pricey, but not with Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought