Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Double Duty
 from Houston TX,  Mar 14, 2012

I've owned pressure cookers and canners since the 80's. I own a larger All American but wanted a small size for smaller amounts. This, the smallest size, is not only not as tall as the larger models but also considerably smaller in diameter. I don't need to go into the quality of construction, the ease of use, or the fact that this purchase supports an American industry. However, it should be noted that a 10.5 quart pressure canner is also very practical for use as a pressure cooker. Certainly it's heavier than an ordinary pressure cooker, with much thicker wall construction. However, it is a dual-duty appliance that can be used as a canner and just as easily be used to cook a turkey, a roast, stew, chili, etc. One can easily pay this amount again for an expensive pressure cooker that will work no better than the All American. This can be a real benefit to someone without tons of storage space. I have used an 8-quart Mirro pressure cooker for thirty years-this is quite a bit heavier, but again it's quite practical for pressure cooking as well as pressure canning. In fact, the entire first half of the extensive owner's manual is recipes and directions on use as a pressure cooker. Buy one of these and it can last fifty years easily!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the best
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic pressure cooker
 from San Diego, CA,  Jan 19, 2012

I learned all about pressure cooking with a 21.5 qt American Standard pressure cooker/canner. The ability to cook stews and soups in 4-15 minutes with a layering and richness of flavor greater than anything I could do in 10 hours wa fabulously addicting. I used it daily for 5 years and I still use this huge pressure cooker, as will my children and their children since these are built like tanks. Since I had originally bought the 21.5 qt model for canning, and it was bulky for everyday use, I purchased different styles and brands of smaller pressure cookers and was never as pleased with them as I am with my American Standard. Many of the other cooktop models limited pressure ranges with some of them not even getting 15psi which is standard for stews and soups and none of them have pressure gauges. The electric pressure cookers take 81 minutes to make stew. It takes 11 minutes in pressure cooker that gets 15psi. The other cooktop cookers have little buttons that pop up to tell you when pressure is reached but these usually pop before pressure is reached and you have to watch for a certain amount of steam....pure nonsense once you have used an American Standard pressure cooker. It is built like a tank, has a rocker to let you know when ideal pressure of 5/10/15 psi is close and a pressure gauge so you know exactly what the pressure is.... I looked everywhere for a smaller size American Standard pressure cooker and couldn't find one anywhere. KUDOS Overstock! I am now using the best pressure cooker on the market in an everyday size. Thank you! I am ordering another one for my mom. Th

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent-best on the market as far as I'm concerned
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a great Pressure Cooker
 from Thompson Falls, MT,  Oct 21, 2012

This pressure cooker does not have any gaskets, a plus. But you must read the directions carefully before using. Be sure to lubricate the lid joints prior to using the first time, critical! Getting the lid on evenly on all sides is also very important, but easily accomplished. This pressure cooker will hold 4 quarts jars or 7 pints. It's a great deal!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes, all stainless
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality, American made and obviously done with pride
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate, but don't get confused with 10.5-quart meaning it has the capacity for 10 quart jars, it does not
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Accurate
 from Charlotte, NC,  Aug 21, 2012

Just as I expected...Excellent quality and heavy duty so I know it will last for generations. This is a new phase in my life and I love being able to can meats and vegetables.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful pressure cooker
 from Pennsylvania,  Aug 1, 2012

I've never used a pressure cooker before. I bought this one because it was made in America, got great reviews and I didn't have to replace anything ever. Upon getting it, it's a little daunting to read all the info but it all made sense and in the end, it was easy to use. I love it and would recommend it to anyone. The only thing I didn't like is that the "stand" inside, turns colors after using it as it's a thin aluminum.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product quality is the same as everyone says. Made in America and it's apparent. Very good craftsmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MADE IN USA! YEAH!
 from Willis, Va.,  Jul 12, 2012

Needed something to can more than 3 jars at a time and a friend recommended this product to me. As usual, Overstock had the best price. I am really impressed with the Made In USA company and quality. Have not used it yet but am sure I will be satisfied. Also it comes with very detailed book with instructions for cooking and canning.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not Applicable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Absolutely Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My last one
 from New mexico,  Nov 1, 2011

I have used this several times for beans, soups, and canning. It is a very good product. I love being able to cook beans without soaking them overnight. With the workmanship I believe this cooker will be the last one I will need to buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from md,  Oct 23, 2010

We raise a lot of veggies and fruit. This is the best canner I have ever used. Great also for that big pot of soup or chili.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All American is the Best
 from Gainesville, FL,  Jun 2, 2010

As I excepted from All American this is a very nice pressure canner. I already have a larger model for the majority of my canning but now I have a smaller one for small batches or for when everything won't quite fit in the big canner. The lid on this model was a bit finicky to open and close at first but a few adjustments to the screws and it was set. This past weekend I used it as a pressure cooker to cook a Turtle Cheesecake. it performed beautifully. The cheesecake was delicious.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AllAmerican 910
 from Kansas,  Apr 22, 2010

The All American pressure canner is the Cadillac of home canners. I waited several years to purchase this one and I was very impressed when I took it out of the box. This canner has all the bells and whistles and it makes the job of canning a enjoyable process. I also don't worry about this canner blowing up, it has several safety features that will vent the pressure before that happens. I haven't cooked anything in it, but I bet it would be great for that purpose also.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Canner
 from Essexville, MI,  Nov 12, 2013

Haven't used it yet but tested it and it got up to pressure I like the packaging which I will use to store it when not needing, I have never had a canning size pressure cooker I had smaller one with rubber gasket at one time, but gave it to my daughter. This one is much more substantial.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent and easy to use
 from TN,  Mar 26, 2013

I am new at pressure canning and I highly recommend this product. Now that I am used to using this product I wish that I had gotten a larger one. I still love this one and it will be used a lot. I highly recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very well made product. This is worth the extra money.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on the mark.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Old School American Quality that's hard to Find
 from Tucson, az,  Nov 13, 2012

The construction is completely solid. Having no rubber gasket or seal is the best part of this PC; no replacing, no leaking. Top Bakelite handle is large, easy to grip, and my favorite; bolted in. Not screws, nor glue, but bolts! Plenty of internal space. Gauge is wonderful, but at the temp at which the weight jiggles properly, it reads about 2 PSI lower than weight reads. Possibly raise heat and add water? I just extended cook time. Beautifully constructed and hand inspected. There was a card with the inspectors designation so you can hold them personally responsible if it explodes in your face. I wish everything came with one of those cards.... About half to two thirds of other prices online, shipped to my door in three days. Great investment.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, sturdy cast alum, hand inspected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate...?
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Haven't used it yet
 from ny,  Oct 11, 2011

I haven't used this product yet and most likely won't for a while. Therefore my review is based on my experience and physical appearance. The canner seems to be a good deal. I have been looking at them for a couple of years and believe this brand is the best so when I saw it on Overstock at this price I could not pass it up. The pot is heavy and free shipping makes a big difference in cost. Product was delivered quickly and is exactly like the description in the listing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looks same and is a reputable brand
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
If wavering, go larger
 from St. Charles, Missouri,  Apr 5, 2014

This is a solid, sturdy, well-made little canner. Shipping was extremely quick and I was canning within a week of ordering. I was wavering between the 10.5 and 15.5 quart sizes and went with the smaller one...so it makes for a longer day because I can only can very small batches (if wavering, spend a little more and get the next size up). I personally decided on the smaller, lighter weight 10.5 qt because I have a glass cooktop. Although not "officially recommended" for use on glass cooktops due to the indentation on the bottom of the All American canner and the potential weight when full, I have had no issues and enthusiastically recommend this little model!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Pressure Cooker
 from Seattle,  Apr 1, 2014

The only thing keeping me from writing excellent is that it is made of aluminum. The heavy gauge aluminum is perfect but I try to avoid aluminum as much as possible because of the possible health related problems. I only cook artichokes in it, but that is all I have ever cooked in a pressure cooker. This is the third pressure cooker that I have purchased. The first two were stainless steel and electric. They only lasted a couple of years each. I love this pressure cooker and will continue to use it unless a stainless steel one becomes available by this American company. It is very easy to use. It gets much use at our home because we start almost every dinner with an artichoke which we dip in fresh lemon and a little organic garlic salt. Being able to buy something made in America is also very important to us.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pressure Canner/Cooker
 from Texas,  Jan 15, 2014

This is a good size pressure cooker for family use!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
910 All American Pressure Canner
 from Omaha, NE,  Jan 8, 2014

This was the best canner to use to learn how to can. Now that I am a pro, I am graduating to an All American 921, though I have had the opportunity to use the 930, which is a beast but excellent if you have a ton of canning that needs to get done in a short amount of time. I've also had the opportunity to use other brands of canners that work okay but the All American canner is the best for your money. Plus, unlike the cheap versions that look like crap after a few years, the All American is an heirloom for several generations.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All American 910 canner
 from Ionia, Michigan,  Dec 17, 2013

This is the 3rd All American canner we have bought in the last few months. Yah it's that impressive. Add a couple ounces of water put on top, turn on & adjust heat & get it right every time. I think my wife loves it more than ME ! Although I am kind of a dink.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent American Made Pressure Cooker
 from Gatlinburg,TN,  Jun 29, 2013

Already used this several times and we love it,we bought a second one after using the pressure cooker,it is very easy to use,does not take up to much cabinet space,and is Made In USA,we will definitly be using the 2 of them very often especially during canning season.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. You will not find a better made pressure cooker
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top