Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
I just purchase two of these chairs
 from Utah,  Nov 17, 2011

These chairs are amazing. Every time I sit in one I feel like a World War 2 fighter pilot. Except this cockpit is incredibly comfortable. Friends comment on how striking the chairs are. They bring any room a whole new feel.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Amazing color and craftsmanship
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was amazing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I thought the description and images were very representative of the chair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

As much as I wanted to love this chair I just couldn't for a few reasons: 1. It is really really small compared the designer version. I opened the box and was like "ummm, is this for a kid?" They should show a picture of someone sitting in it because I am 5' 10" and the seat back only reaches the middle/bottom of my back. 2. Leather is super stiff. Seems like it is ok quality leather. Might be a good accent piece, but not something you will relax in to watch a movie. I couldn't find a comfortable way to sit in it. 3. The metal siding is ver very thin. You could take one finger and dent it with a soft push. The metal isn't even cut evenly on the inside below the arm. 4. It ships damaged, for EVERYONE! It was packaged ok, but beneath the bubble wrap the chair was stick scratched everywhere. Some may say it adds character, but you cannot remove the scratches if you wanted to. It wasn't just one spot either. The entire exterior metal had scratches all over the place. If you're willing to pay $600 for a damaged, uncomfortable, smaller than expected chair that looks cool, then go for it. Just realize that all these reviews are SPOT ON! This chair is a knock-off from China, but you get less than what you pay for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not close. Dimensions wrong
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Look alike ******** Chair
 from San Diego,  Aug 29, 2012

**************************, this Accelerator chair will surely please you if this what you are looking for. Edgy, with a combined vintage-modern twist, the aviator chair sits low and compact like you are in a sportscar or cockpit of a plane. I'm short and love the feeling of touching the ground with my feet. I have read it is a perfect chair for taller people as well. Certainly different, I plan to turn a sitting room/office into a travel room with large framed photographs of our pets, travels, and people who mean the most to us with accents of cowhide pillows, fabrics and a leather bench with steel legs I found on Overstock to match. It is comfortable to me but perhaps less comfy for someone really large..think sportscar seat and that is the size of it. Very attractive and attention seeking, it draws your attention to it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superior quality product, I could not be more pleased
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described, it arrived as pictured.perfect!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as good as competitor
 from Birmingham, AL,  Aug 18, 2012

Looks just as good as the competitor's chair which sells for much more. However, this chair is slightly less comfortable than the competition, but not uncomfortable. Get the Ottoman too, it helps with long periods of sitting, looks good with the chair and is priced well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feeling Lucky!
 from Fredericksburg VA,  Apr 8, 2012

I recently decided to do a travel theme in our bedroom and loved this style chair in Restoration Hardware but hated the $2K+ price tag. I was shocked to find this chair on Overstockat less than $500. When I went to purchase it I was alerted that in was in back order. Two weeks later I got an email from Overstock notifying me that it was now available. I swooped it up and it was waiting on our door when we returned from a ski vacation less than two weeks later. This chair is a very cool addition to our room and definetly a conversation piece. My husband flies cessnas so he really likes this piece. You can not beat this price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair NEVER in stock!
 from Chula Vista, CA,  Feb 11, 2014

Why has this product been on back order for over 9 months? If you are no longer going to offer it, then take it off your product offerings.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BUY THEM!
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jul 21, 2012

I have been coveting these chairs in restoration hardware since they came out. We just moved and needed living room furniture. Could not BELIEVE these chairs were on here! Somebody reviewed that they were screws and not rivets, lower backs than restoration hardware, etc... We didn't find that to be the case. They are screws in restoration hardware, too. These chairs just aren't leather nor do they pretend to be. We bought two and love them. Sit in the ones in restoration hardware and you are getting a $500 version of them. Simple. The screws stick out a bit, so be careful. WE didn't buy the ottomans but bought others with chrome and brown leather-- too matchy matchy to do the whole thing, we thought. Enjoy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? That's them!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great for price compared to the restoration hardware version.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dead on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from CT,  Mar 13, 2012

I bought two of these chairs for my apartment. Really surprised by the quality. They are so distinctive yet classic.... they are the showpiece of the apartment. Compliments galore. They are not only worth the money, but they are truly an art piece. Thanks, Overstock! What a great find!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Flying
 from New York,  Mar 6, 2012

Outstanding product at an unbelievable price delivered as fast as usual. I am extremely satisfied with both the quality of the chair and the service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Impeccable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish
 from Tampa Florida,  Feb 22, 2012

Stylish piece and very comfortable...it had some dents on the aluminum...but was too pretty to return or exchange...for the beaut I will deal with the dents.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Accelerator Leather Chair
 from California,  Feb 20, 2013

The product was...Not quite what i thought it would be (flimsy) as far as the metal

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not what i had expected ...........
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking chair but substandard construction
 from Franklin, TN,  Jan 22, 2013

We fell in love with the Accelerator chair as soon as we saw it on Overstock. We ordered the chair & the ottoman. The chair arrived first, but on unpacking it we found the aluminum wrapped structure to be covered with large dents & scratches. We had expected indentations around the fixings but were not prepared for the big dents in the sides & on the fronts of the arms. We advised Overstock & they arranged for collection of the defective chair & ordered a replacement. The ottoman arrived a few days later. This was also dinged up with a couple of small holes punches right through the aluminum in a really obvious place on the front of the arms. Then the replacement chair arrived. To be fair it was less dented than the first, but not by much. Basically there is nothing supporting the aluminum which is wrapped around the structure of the chair, so any inappropriate handling will result in a dent - in fact it appears to be virtually impossible to lift the chair without causing dents. It is an inherent design flaw. Incidentally, both chairs arrived in boxes that had previously been opened, making us think these were probably items already returned as faulty. Overstock have been very helpful with the returns, but the whole episode has been very frustrating - carrying heavy boxes up the steps & into the house, unpacking/repacking, having large boxes in our foyer awaiting collection.... I guess you get what you pay for & there is a reason that this range is a third of the price of the original Restoration Hardware items.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The customer service aspect of this chair was horrific, from the moment placing the order to receiving the shipment, ugh... then the return was just as painful. However Over Stock did return without question, however the hugh box was left on my doorstep for 2 days until UPS picked it up. Great Chair if you have small scale furniture. You will receive this chair damaged... it is what it is.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not Restoration Hardware comfortable or design, but its the design that captures you.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better in pictures
 from California Bay Area,  Oct 13, 2012

It looks great in the picture and even from a far in the room. The problem is that the aluminum is extremely thin. - like aluminum flashing you buy at the hardware store. It ruins the whole piece. But as much as I'm disappointed with the quality - I really do love the piece. There is a reason why it is a thousand dollars less than the RH original. Just know that be for you add to cart.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Restoration Hardware lookalike aviator chair = A+
 from Nashville, TN,  Jun 16, 2012

A few 'dings' on the galvanized-type sides only add to the character of this WWII type chair. Totally unique and **** LESS than it's mirror image chair from Restoration Hardware. I'm sure that the RH chair is incredibly soft and supple and absolutely beautiful but this *** super bargain is WELL worth the price. Buy with confidence - if you can get it. This chair stays out of stock but that's because it's an amazing value!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? totally accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. amazing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on target
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very close to the Original
 from Alexandria, VA,  May 21, 2012

This product compares fairly well with a much more expensive version found elsewhere. I'll begin by saying I'm pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to others. The chair is a conversation piece and I expect it to hold up well over time. I would point out a few details, however, that make this a 4 out of 5. Individual screws are used instead of rivets and the aluminum siding is of uniform size and shape (rectangles throughout), meaning that upon close inspection the chair doesn't quite look as original as similar versions. The leather is as advertised, polyurethane coated cow leather, so it does not have a distressed look. And finally, note that the chairs don't have headrests. The angle of the chair means that your head will eventually search for something to rest on, but there isn't anything there. Luckily the chair is long enough that you can slouch a bit and still watch your movie/TV show. In summary, these chairs are worth it for the conversation they'll spark. Their authenticity is a 4 out 5 but still quite good. It's a good purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the website compared well with the actual product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is a 4 out of 5.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The website description of the product was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It Does Exist!!!
 from Mount Airy, MD,  Apr 1, 2012

I am very happy with this chair. I have seen the other (similar) chair in person and this one compares closely. In fact, I may even like it a little more. The leather upholstery is of high quality and not distressed like the other guy's. When it arrived there were a couple of dents in the aluminum in the front that with a little work, I was able to fix, but then I have experience working with metal. I think in general, you will be quite pleased with the chair. You will need to keep checking the site, because as they say, they sell out quickly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality for the price. Compares closely to a similar looking chair that costs 3X the cost.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On-site description was accurate. As described there are some minor imperfections in the aluminum. Expect some dests/dings and other markings.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice style -could have been in better shape
 from Los Angeles, California,  Mar 9, 2012

Nice style - very comfortable - well represented - excellent value. BUT, chairs were damaged and they were the last two available so we chose to keep them damage (dents) and all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. just acceptable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate except for minor damages (dents in chair frame)
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look alike
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Feb 20, 2012

My husband and I have been dying over the 'aviator chair' at a store in our local mall for months. The moment I stumbled accross this chair on overstock we didn't hesitate - bought it immediately. The chair arrived today and we couldn't be happier - we were able to achieve the same look for hundreds less. Geat work Overstock!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Better as a conversation piece than a chair. Seems well built.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought