Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Better than most
 from Cleveland, OH,  Dec 11, 2010

I just received my Charleston TV Console today, and so far I'm pretty happy. The delivery only took about two weeks, and the delivery men were very professional and helpful. I inspected the piece very well before they left, and unfortunately noticed that the right side door had a crack all the way through the wood from where they screwed in the hinge. The hinge was also loose, so the door would scrape the bottom of the cabinet when you opened and closed it. I didn't want to send the whole unit back, so I called Overstock to see if they could just send me a new door. It was totally painless - they agreed right away and will be sending a new door! Hopefully there will be no problems with the new door. Other than that, the quality is better than most internet catalog items. It is wonderful that it is solid wood and is already assembled! There are some pretty noticeable flaws in the finish on the right end panel of the piece - but I figured that's to be expected with anything you order off the internet. I think I can cover them up with dark wood polish. Also, the drawers are only 3.25" deep on the inside, so the only way to store DVDs there is to lay them flat. That's disappointing - I had hoped to hide them all away in the drawers! Overall pretty nice quality for the money. Try and buy it on sale and you will definitely be happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Just received delivery and I can tell you that this TV console surprised me so much because of the size of 72 in wide and the color is as shown. I will be enjoying it for a while and I recommend the Charleston to anyone who has a large size TV!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from Queens, NY,  Dec 18, 2010

I received this stand 2 days ago. It is made very well and a nice piece in my living room. I already received compliments on it! It was delivered "whiteglove" and the delivery men even climed 2 stories of steps! It's a little darker than it looked on the screen. It is actually a very dark brown, almost black but not. In bright light it looks like the overstock screen pictures but at night it looks much darker. In either case it still looks great. Took the full 6 weeks to get here but happy with the purchase and would recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning piece of furniture!
 from FL,  Oct 17, 2011

Wow, this piece of furniture is absolutely stunning! We shopped around in furniture stores for about a month before we conceded that most furniture stores do not carry console tables bigger than 60 inches. We ventured online to attempt to find a unit for our 65" tv and it was the best decision we made! It is a beautiful hard wood construction and is a solid piece of furniture. The middle area with the shelves is quite wide and tall and will fit any entertainment equipment you may have. The length fits a 65" tv perfectly and the height is at perfect eye level height. The cabinets are wide but not wide enough to fit a large a/v receiver, however you can remove the backing and fit it in from the back satisfactorily. The small holes cut into the back for wires is also not sufficient for the receiver but after a bit of modification with a dremel tool, it works beautifully. The cabinets are solid with hardwood shelving and thick beveled glass. The cabinet doors close nicely in that it takes an effort to close them so they can't slam shut, which was a problem with our previous cabinets. This product also comes with the white glove service which I can't say enough about. The movers were professional and quickly unwrapped the table and took the giant 8ft box and all of the packing materials with them, priceless! They maneuvered around our cluttered living room (too many recent shipments) without a complaint to place the furniture. I'm happy they were there as attempting to move this thing is quite challenging, it's HEAVY. This is a great value for the price, just an absolutely beautiful piece of furniture I hope to have for many years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact, espresso wood is what it looks like and that's what you get in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The measurements were exact but not enough was said about the esthetics of the product, it's absolutey gorgeous.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent purchase
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Dec 28, 2011

I did my research and read all the reviews and decided on this unit based on what I needed and what others have said. Because of my large components and the amount of wires involved, I chose this unit, in part, because of the open shelf. After I placed my order, it arrived in just a few weeks and was delivered promptly. It was in perfect condition and I still can't find anything wrong with it. I was most concerned about the wire management and the thought of having to cut additional holes in the back to make everything fit. There is a good size, long opening in the back, and I did not have to make any additional holes, there is plenty of room. I have a Pioneer receiver, cable box, and a TV receiver all placed in the open shelves. The receiver does stick out slightly, but I anticipated this. It is mainly the knobs of the receiver that hang over the shelf. The shelf is adjustable to three heights and I had to put it on the bottom notches in order to fit the receiver...but it fits. There are also openings cut into the back of the shelf itself so you can easily attach wires from other components from the lower to upper shelf. I placed a DVD player in one side cabinet and a PS 2 in the other one. There are holes in each side cabinet to run wires out the back to connect to the receiver. Again, everything fit great and all wires are out of view. When the unit arrived I remember saying "there are holes all over this thing" because other reviews made me feel as if there were hardly any. I used the bottom shelf of the side cabinets to store DVDs vertically and used the drawers for CDs and other things. All in all it is a great piece of furniture and I couldn't be more pleased with how it looks in my home. I had friends help me with all the moving of components and reattaching of wires and they said I had made a great choice in buying this console.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice piece
 from Charlotte, NC,  Feb 19, 2013

We are very happy with this piece of furniture. They really paid attention to some small details that make a difference. For one, as you can see, it sits off of the floor on legs but the panel in the back goes to the floor so you can't see all of your wires in the back. The wire holes in the back are cut so that you can connect components easily. And the center support leg is on hinges so it doesn't snap off when it is moved. I love the way it looks!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exceeded my expectations
 from Southern California, CA,  Nov 21, 2012

We were desperate for a quality TV stand 70-80" wide that was contemporary (not traditional), not from Ikea and not shoddy quality. We shopped all over San Diego and Orange County and couldn't find anything to beat this one. The quality is top notch. No defects on our piece. Delivery service was very good - waited only a few weeks. They even helped us move our old HEAVY 37" tube TV out to the garage--for a small tip. LOL Order with confidence you will not be disappointed. Thank you O.com! NOTE: TALL components like Yamaha A820 receiver are too tall to insert into the glass-fronted shelves. You can remove the shelf and insert them at an angle but then they are too tall to allow rotation to set them down flat. You will have to remove rear panel which we did not dare to when we saw how well it was attached to the back. Also, the open center shelf cannot fit two 17" wide components side by side. We had to place them on different shelves. We did finally find a configuration that worked. Even still, I would not trade this piece for any other. Our 60" TV looks great on it. We bought a long table runner and laid it across the top and under the TV.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A little darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Real wood not particle board.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great TV Console
 from Charlotte, NC,  Jan 22, 2012

Great piece for your home. It took me forever to decide on a television console. It is such an important piece of furniture. I was thrilled to find this piece available through Overstock. Beautiful and rich color. Solid. Arrived without one blemish. DVR works perfectly behind the glass. You will be happy you made this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched what I saw on-line.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality Furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good cabinet
 from Chicago,IL,  Dec 11, 2011

Got this delivered finally after 2 previous tries,(and 6 weeks later) and although I'm generally happy with the purchase there were a few disappointments. First, the shelf pegs were not included, despite the inspection sheet included with the box it came in signing off that they were. We'll see how long it takes to get them now. Went to the hardware store to buy my own, of course they don't have the right size. Second,it chips really easy. Like if you just catch an edge with your fingernail or the equipment you're trying to load in. Thankfully those chips I made (full disclosure) were in the back and bottom sides. Third, if you have any good size amps or processors/receivers, forget about getting them in and leaving the back on. There's really only about 14.5" of usable depth here AND being able to leave the back on. By that I mean the ability for the component to fit, plus the cables sticking out and bending them down and putting the back panel back on.This is impossible. A 17" wide component will not slide all the way in due to the door hinge configuration, and even if it could you'd gain maybe 3/4 of an inch. So the only solution is to leave the back panel completely off or do like I did and put all the bigger components on one side and cut the panel nice and straight and leave just that section off. That way if you wind up selling this unit down the road or getting smaller components you'll have a nice clean cut to just screw that section back on. Also, you do have to slide things in from the back on most components,(not all), it just makes it so much easier when making all your connections! Fourth, there's not enough holes in that panel for wire management. Again I had to cut extra holes or to enlarge what what was there, not a huge deal but would have been nice if it was done at the factory (China) Drawers are nice but you really cant stack cd's or dvd's in them, just a few. Better for things like your spare remotes,wires,manuals etc. I wish they'd just leave drawers out! Center shelf is nice and big, you won't have any problem with a center channel speaker of great size. Overall it's a decent unit for the price but be forewarned you will have a little tweaking to do if you have any kind of decent gear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fairly good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TV Cabinet
 from Gulfport,MS,  Feb 2, 2011

This is a beautiful cabinet that exceeded my expectations. The cabinet is very sturdy and the finish is stunning. I really like the glass doors so you can use your componets without having to leave the doors open. I love the height of the unit so you can display artwork above the cabinet so to me, the cabinet is perfect.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Piece of Furniture!
 from Fort Benning, GA,  Jan 18, 2011

My husband and I had been searching for a nice TV console that would in the future accommodate a larger TV than we currently have, then we found the Charleston TV Console on Overstock! It is the perfect length, extra long! Everything we found in local stores were too short for our needs and made of cheap particleboard, etc. The console is made of solid oak, it is going to do great sustaining all of the moving my husband and I will be doing with his being in the US Army. We both love that it is a extra long console, 72 inches. The felt lining in the bottom drawers is very sleek. The glass doors are beautiful. The color is slightly darker than what the picture depicts, but we love it even more! The only small downside is the opening in the back for the wire management is not quite large enough. At first, I did not think I could put TV components on the top middle open shelf. However, I found out that I could pull our shelf towards the front just a smidge, and then wires from any components on the upper middle shelf could fit behind and down to the bottom middle shelf and out the wire management opening :) Just wish the opening was a little bigger. Overall, we are very happy with the Charleston TV Console, it is such a beautiful piece of furniture that will last a lifetime.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product
 from STL,  Dec 6, 2010

Product looks great, and is fairly sturdy. Overstock's customer service was fantastic, but the third-party logistics companies they used to deliver the product were far from satisfactory. They took a long time to deliver and their customer service was poor/frustrating. Overall a good buy, but expect to wait every bit of 5-6 weeks for delivery.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great TV Console
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Feb 23, 2014

It's very hard to purchase something like this on line without seeing it, but I was not disappointed. I found the quality to be great, and it looks very good in my house. Most importantly, this was delivered to my house during the middle of a horrible snow storm on the east coast, and the drivers did not cancel. They made it through and were very pleasant and not at all upset about the weather. Kudo's to the delivery company that they work for.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking console
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 22, 2014

I would have given this console 5 stars but I had to remove the back to insert my home theater receiver in the side cabinet. It's a standard size Yamaha receiver and would not fit through the door frame, Other than that, it's beautiful and very solid. The free white glove delivery was nice but took about 5 weeks.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice piece of furniture
 from upstate new york,  Dec 19, 2013

although the design is 'simple' it is a very nice piece in a living room with no one specific style. the console is well built, the doors and drawers work effortlessly... the finish on the top shines like polished marble. the only drawback is the big holes in the back of the cabinets... these holes are to allow running cabling for your electronics... they are very visible when sitting across from the TV with a light colored wall behind the console because of their size and i think the position "high up" in the cabinet back... but easily corrected with black construction paper and duct tape.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loving it
 from Dallas, TX,  Oct 1, 2013

Finally got the TV hung up just right, with all of the cables going through the back side into the console. Our previous disorganized mess looks neat and tidy. The quality is excellent and no assembly required. Our console has no blemishes or imperfections. Just what we needed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Sep 4, 2013

Took a while to get this delivered but overall its a really nice piece

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Everything We Expected
 from Saint Augustine, FL,  May 20, 2013

We are extremely pleased with purchase of the Abbyson entertainment console. It is very modern looking, the finishis a dark espresso color and it fits in with our decor nicely. It did take a couple of weeks to receive notification that it had shipped but this was explained ahead of time as it is a big item. But the shipping company contacted us and the service showed up as scheduled. The two delivery men were very nice and brought the piece into our family room, unwrapped it and made sure everything was ok. We would not hesitate to recommend this entertainment console to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent, the quality of the wood is very nice and the finish is beautiful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
durable high quality piece
 from Green Bay, WI,  Apr 20, 2013

We bought this piece and the also the Abbyson living bedroom set for our master bedroom. The delivery people were great and set everything up quickly and exactly where we wanted it. It looks amazing and is very well made. Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece of furniture
 from Hanover, Pa,  Apr 16, 2013

Great piece of furniture. The side compartments behind the doors are a little tight so I removed them to fit the components in. Other than that, I love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well built piece of furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top