Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Design
 from New England, USA,  Feb 8, 2012

I purchased three of these screens to use side by side on my deck railing to grow vines for a privacy screen. These are absolutely perfect for my needs. However, as a fireplace screen, there is no mesh screen to prevent embers popping though the design. Although it is a wonderful decorative piece. The frame and the vines are all made out of twisted metal (like a stick of liquorish), which gives the screen great texture (something I could not see in the photo), so it was a pleasant surprise to see the piece has texture and movement. The birds in the photo are not the same bird shapes on the actual screen, but that is of no consequence. The pine cones and the leaves on the vines have great detail and texture. I find the screen to be a nice piece of artwork and could see using it to hang on a wall (without the feet) and perhaps in front of a window or in my garden as a trellis. I have seen this exact screen on other web sites for far more than Overstock.com pricing. I would not hesitate to purchase this screen if I were you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not antique white, more like a light tanish-yellow color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made, clean welding job, sturdy design
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Size is accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for me!
 from Oregon,  Jan 28, 2012

This a beautiful addtion to my family room. I have a newer built craftsman style home. This fits well into the decor. It has a period, nostalgic look that I am extreemly pleased with. It covers the black hole of my gas fireplace with distictive style. Everyone who sees it thinks I must have picked it up from an antique dealer!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Creamy Ivory
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as I expected, even beyond expectation
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vintage-look/ Great Value
 from Seattle,  Nov 18, 2012

I love this screen. I live in 1926 apt and bought an electric insert that looked plasticy (well because it was plastic)...anyway, this delightful screen perfectly camouflages the fake fire while allowing the air to heat the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Abbey Antique White Fireplace Screen
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Apr 6, 2012

The actual color of the fireplace screen is like French vanilla ice cream or like a deep butter color--not antique white, so be prepared to spray paint it white or off-white if that's what you want. It's lovely, somewhat whimsical...not that formal fireplace screen look that's so boring & typical. Looks very organic & natural. Not too heavy or busy. Blends in very nicely with the arts & crafts white brick & white mantle surrounding my fireplace. Highly recommend. Very easy to spray paint. I spray painted it white. Took 2 coats.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site is different than the actual product. The color of the actual product is a French vanilla.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice. Looks great in front of my fireplace. I spray painted it white & it was very easy to do with 2 coats.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

COLOR IS MORE OF A CREAMY YELLOW. THE BIRDS ON THE SCREEN ARE SMALLER & NOT IN THE EXACT PLACE AS THE PICTURES. I PLAN ON SPRAY PAINTING IT TO MATCH MY SHABBY CHIC FURNITURE SO IT WILL BLEND IN BETTER WITH THE DECOR....NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE THOUGH. I WOULDN"T PAY $75. I PAID $$$. THIS ITEM IS LOOKS LIKE ITS WORTH ABOUT $35-$40....IT IS NICE TO HIDE THE BLACK HOLE OF MY FIREPLACE WHICH IS ONLY USED MAYBE 2 MONTHS OUT OF THE YEAR...HOPE MY REVIEW HELPED SOMEONE WITH THEIR DECISION TO PURCHASE.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? POOR
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. FAIR
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ACCURATE
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So cute!
 Aug 13, 2015

Not your everyday, run of the mill enclosure. I love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I actually use this as a dog gate between the living room and family room. It works perfect for me and I don't have to deal with a baby gate. I have 2 under 5 lb dogs and it is the perfect deterrent and looks nice while confining them. .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok
 Apr 21, 2015

Quality is ok ... It doesn't keep the data out of the fireplace though

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Screen
 Apr 19, 2015

Very disappointed with screen. Too gaudy for my taste! However, quality of product ok.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 Dec 16, 2014

it looks so great with white natural stone fireplace, I've been looking for a white one that is not cheap looking and this is perfect!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Florida,  Dec 12, 2014

Really like the color and design, very different than other fireplace screens. This one does not actually have a screen but we were able to add our own and it looks great and works perfectly. Very happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Antique Quality
 from Glen Rose Texas,  Nov 20, 2014

I had been looking at antique stores and fireplace shops and finally found my perfect screen....on Overstock!!! I have a white ****** ***** fireplace and needed an item that would compliment it but not overwhelm it....done!!! No one who sees this item in my home believes it's not a real antique!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely screen!
 from Grand Rapids MI,  May 2, 2014

I am so pleased with this screen! It caught my eye immediately when I saw it on Overstock, and I was even happier when I received it and saw it in person. Just a really charming piece... could not be more perfect for the fireplace in our 1930's vintage cottage-style home. It is absolutely adorable. Super simple to put together, is sturdy (and not wobbly, which is helpful since it's free-standing and not attached to anything), and a lovely soft creamy off-white in color so it matches just about anything. Great purchase and I'm so glad I took the chance on ordering it. As a side note, if you have a nosy / curious cat like we do, a smaller cat will be able to fit between a couple of the 'rungs' on the screen to investigate the fireplace interior... this was one of the main reasons we purchased a screen, to keep our cat from continually tromping around in the sooty fireplace (if your cat is large like ours, you'll have no worries).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this !
 from Kentucky,  Apr 30, 2014

I love this screen, I recently painted the brick on my fireplace and this screen looks like I matched the color. It over laps my brick about 3 in. I would recommend this product. Looks better than picture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Right
 from Roseville, CA,  Apr 8, 2014

The creamy color really makes the screen stand out in front of the black fireplace opening. The little birds are perfect, and I actually like the way it looks in my house better than the photo on Overstock. Not to be sexist, but my women visitors always like it (men don't seem to notice much in the way of decor). Very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice. But won't keep the cat out
 from Lexington KY,  Jan 8, 2014

As noted by others it's off-white not really white, but I painted so I did not matter to me. It looks nice. My girlfriend likes it which was the whole object. It will not keep her cat out, one opening is large enough for the cat to fit through. I'd like to fill that in but other than that it's a nice decorative piece. I did not use the legs, bit only leaned against brick. I might cut the welded on leg attach points later.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fireplace screen
 from charleston, WV,  Jan 7, 2014

Beautiful, well-made. I'm very pleased. Would definitely recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty
 from New York,  Nov 25, 2013

For the price I paid, this is excellent and very cute. It is not the highest quality (feet rattles as it is not perfectly made) and does not go well with super classic expensive looking fireplace, but it is very nice for casual, normal looking fireplace. It is not good for WBFP, but for decorative fireplace (l recommend Dimplex heater inside), it adds warm and cozy atmosphere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful accent piece
 from California,  Nov 14, 2013

The screen is beautiful and provides coverage for the black hole that was the fireplace opening. We decided to not use the legs and have attached it to the underside of the mantel. We have a raised hearth and with the legs on you could see the "black hole" at the bottom. This way it covers the opening completely and provides a custom look. It does not have a screen protector so keep that in mind if you are planning a real fire.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What I Wanted
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 23, 2013

This fire screen is purely ornamental. I needed it for my fake fireplace with fake logs lit with tea lights. I don't think it would stop real embers from flying out of the fireplace, so wouldn't recommend it for one. I wanted it because it is whimsical and fits flat against the fireplace opening, giving me more room to walk past. It was just what I wanted!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought