Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 578 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 29 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Metro Washington, DC,  May 22, 2006

This umbrella is a good product. The thermometer, clock and lights are a real bonus. We have used this umbrella every day. Tilt function is great, and it is easy to get opened and closed. During the evenings, the lights are a warm illumination rather than a bright garish light. Not exactly crazy about the random and blinking functions of lights, however the steady light function is great. Very pleased with product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality
 from PA,  Jun 24, 2007

I've enjoyed this umbrella since the day it was delivered. The thermometer is nice, although naturally reads higher when directly in the sun. The lighting system is spectacular and even my teenage daughter really enjoys it! The clock is great, as I often don't wear a watch at home, and lose track of time when sitting out on the patio. It is actually wider than our previous umbrella, which was an expensive one, yet the mechanism is much smoother to operate. I would definitely buy another one like it, and recommend it to others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY
 from Fairhope, AL,  Jan 21, 2007

We got the green one and within one week, the thermometer and clock went blank. Within another week, the lights stopped working, too. The umbrella is a cheesy nylon that is way too thin and flimsy, and the color green is more of an emerald green, and it's worth your life to make any of todays loden greens look good with it. I read the reviews and felt good about buying it, but it has been a waste of money and a real disappointment, to say the least. I guess I will have to start over this Spring.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really great product for the money
 from Rhode Island,  Jul 2, 2007

Let's talk about the positive attributes first: . 1) VERY affordable - best bang for your buck. 2) I never thought I would care to have a clock or thermometer on my umbrella - but my friends and family have REALLY enjoyed this feature. Also, the instructions that came with the electronics for the umbrella are actually VERY useful and are in easy to understand English!!! (I hate to use instructions) 3) I have always had wood umbrella poles - and these are metal. At first, I wasn't thrilled - but they really stand up to the unexpected wind gusts much better than the wood counterparts (which have snapped on previous umbrellas I have owned)... 4) Thus far, the crank mechanism works very well. . Now for the less than perfect attributes: . 1) The green umbrella material is quite shiny. I wasn't expecting them to have a polyester luster (not a good thing). It's not a deal breaker... but you should know that the green is a very vivid green (more like a Green Crayola crayon, than the "forest" green I was expecting). 2) The LED lights aren't glued into the frame -- so each time, a few shift and move out of place (easy remedy - a glue stick). Also, they are very YELLOW - I don't know why I expected them to be a white or soft yellow that glowed white - but they are YELLOW and they glow YELLOW (everyone looks a bit jaundice). The mode where they flash randomly is, as others have mentioned, annoying - and to be avoided at all cost (I'm imagining my guests having seizues!!!) -- but when they are on solid - they provide good light. Another thing about the LED lights -- I wish that they were operating off of a battery pack (why not? the temperature and LED controls run off a battery???). In order to use them - you have to run a cord out to the table (good design, however, the connection is made under the table but above the umbrella stand). I have a toddler, and I don't like the trip hazard to the table. Also, if your guests are drinking...................... same problem. In the end, I use the umbrella without the lights. . Unknowns: . 1) I have not operating the tilting mechanism, as I have no need for it. Could be great, could be a problem... I just don't know. 2) I haven't tried to clean off the fabric, either - so I don't know how well that works. Hope that helps. All in all, however, I am VERY pleased with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What an awesome purchase!!!!!!
 from Kent Island, MD,  Jun 8, 2006

I recieved this in 4 days. Recieved it today and put it up right away. So easy to put up and beautiful lights. I only like it on steady light. Not crazy about the blinking lights. Very pretty!! If you purchase this, you will not regret it at all. Hopefully it wont attract bugs, since the lights are so soft looking.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK Umbrella
 from Burke, VA,  Aug 8, 2006

Cheaply made and not durable. After one rainm the Thermometer, clock, and display device all stopped working. Luckily the lights work and are very nice. Just enough light to eat and have pleasant ambience. Recommend that you bring it IN-DOORS if it is going to rain!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pricey, but worth it!
 from Irvine, CA,  Jun 18, 2006

This patio umbrella was better than I expected. It has an easy crank to close or open the umbrella and the lights provide the perfect amount of light to see the table. We got the green one and have gotten many complements on it. You won't regret spending the little bit extra for this one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 from Nashville TN,  Mar 8, 2009

Easy to set up - the clock even had the right time on it to start with. Wonderful appearance, cranks up and down very easily. Even my way too cool 25 year old son was impressed with the LED lights. I have already recommended this umbrella to several people. I gave a three star rating for durability only because I haven't had it long enough to say, but I believe the quality is there.Just look at any of the "big box" stores on-line for a price vs features comparison, and you won't think twice about ordering this umbrella.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this umbrella!
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 5, 2006

Our family loves this umbrella. We use it everyday and night out by the pool. Love the steady lights....provides enough light to shine on a table but not blinding! Very soft lighting. A great value...great purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it even after a year!
 from oakland, ca,  Mar 31, 2012

Love this umbrella. When it lights up it is charming and almost a little scifi, lol! It has been outdoors for a year through all kinds of weather especially wind and doing great. No mildew or stains. Good buy, especially when shipping is so cheap! Remember this must be plugged in, not solar.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy duty and good looking!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice for the price!
 from Monrovia, CA,  Jun 4, 2008

We just got this today, so I have no idea how it will fair in the long term! My parents actually bought this, after I looked around and found a great bargain here on Overstock. We got it in taupe, which, like previously stated, is actually more of a very light greenish-grey, when usually taupe is more to the light brownish-grey tone. It's also a thin material, compared to other umbrella's I've seen or owned. Anyway, it's a great price for an umbrella with led lights, digital clock, date, and temp. I've set it up, which is very easy, and am happy that all parts are in working condition, unlike some other unlucky buyers. The tilt feature is also easy to do, which is great. I also like how it can be raised and lowered by cranking one direction only. A previous umbrella cranked both ways up and down, and it just got confusing as to when it was all the way open or closed, so, it's fabulously easy to do now! I don't see anything spectacular about it's construction, nor do I think it's cheap or flimsy, somewhere in between in my opinion. So, overall it's a great buy. I gave it 4 stars due to the color being a bit off, and, it being a bit thiner material than expected. Shipping was incredibly fast, two days from the ship date, a total of three including the day I ordered it. Overstock is an awesome place to find a bargain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far, so good...
 from Southern Cali,  Apr 11, 2007

Shipping on this item was mighty quick. Umbrella looks great and lights and thermometer are in working order and seem of good quality. Given other reviews, I'm a little concerned what's going to happen after the first rainfall and whether it will knock out the lights, but so far so good...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TAUPE UMBRELLA
 from OHIO,  Jun 28, 2006

ORDERED THE TAUPE UMBRELLA ON A SUNDAY, RECEIVED IT ON TUES. WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE. SHIPPING WAS SO FAST. IT MATCHES CHAIR CUSHIONS I HAVE THAT ARE IN A FLORAL PRINT. THE TAUPE COLOR IS A TRUE TAUPE. THE UMBRELLA LOOKS GREAT ON THE DECK. IT IS A FAIRLY LARGE UMBRELLA AND THE LIGHTS ARE A GREAT ADD-ON. I HAVE ORDERED ITEMS FROM OVERSTOCK.COM IN THE PAST AND HAVE WILL SHOP WITH THEM AGAIN. THE PRICES ARE GREAT.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lights turn off by themselves
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 12, 2014

I've had this for a year now, and while it has held up through one summer (it was taken inside for the winter) and doesn't really show signs of wear yet, I can't really recommend the product for one simple reason. The built in lights turn themselves off really quickly. So first you have to hook up an electric adapter to it, which I have on the deck so no big deal, but then you have to hit the power and cycle through a few different modes where the lights flash, again not a really big deal, finally you get to the setting where the lights are just on solid. It's nice to have at night when a soft light is all you're looking for. The problem is after just a few minutes (I'm talking like 10 minutes or less) they just turn themselves off, which ruins the feature for me.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely
 from Piscataway NJ,  Jun 22, 2013

Its lovely I love the color it matches my table and chairs. And I love the lights.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but lights are useless
 from Gainesville, FL,  Jun 14, 2013

I guess I have to agree with many other reviews, which I had read before purchasing but didn't want to believe. The umbrella is nice, light, easy to carry and I really like the opening system and the color. We have used it for a month now and it is still working so I can't tell about the quality. However the lights are yellow/orange and do not provide much light as I was hoping. So that's basically a useless features, unless you want some fun and entertaining for toddler. Bottom line: not bad but not sure it's worth the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's a nice design and very light which makes it easy to carry and open
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate except that lights are not meant to light up, just entertain.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it but Black Faded really fast
 from Gaithersburg, MD,  Mar 2, 2012

We loved the umbrella but wish i would have ordered white, because the black faded to grey on top by the end of the summer. We loved the lights and the way it looked at night. It really is nice quality, but I think the dark color was a mistake. I would recommend getting it in White, beige or Cream.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK, but the black faded to grey by end of summer
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it, but FADES quickly!!
 from California,  Jan 2, 2012

Loved it when we first got it.. got the chocolate brown (dark brown) but after just one month in the sun it faded

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great Match but one month in sun and faded drastically
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
crappy umbrella
 from chicago, IL,  Oct 11, 2011

1st umbrella didn't light up as described so returned it and was promptly sent another one. That was the good part. the 2nd one lit up. Very poor lighting. would think it would be good but barley as much as a candle on the table. Then one row of lights went out and basically all the lights went out. was not worth hassle to send back since lights suck anyway. Save your money and buy a solid umbrella without lights for the same amount.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. crappy quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great!
 from NY,  Sep 19, 2011

this umbrella is awsome. i have had it about 4 months now. i got it in the black. looks great! blocks sun great. perfect size. bigger then the ones i have had before. the lights work perfect. no problems so far. i have left the umbrella out in the sun all summer. no fading so far. hope it doesnt fade. when i bought it i said i wouldnt leave it out because i didnt want it to fade. but, oops. it held up great. great product for the price. shipped fast. i will definitely buy this again if this one goes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black color matched.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is fabulous'
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? just as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 578 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 29 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top