For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 309 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 16 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
comfy and sturdy
 from Mariposa, CA,  Oct 14, 2009

We could feel the wooden slats of our futon frame through our lumpy, old futon mattress. I'd been shopping around online when I finally decided on this one. It's true about it's tight packaging! I was nervous I was going to cut through the material! (It's shrinkwrapped for easy shipping, but you can BARELY get a pair of scissors under the plastic to cut it off.) Anyway, once I got the plastic off, I aired out the futon on our back porch for almost a week. I've heard that the 'new car' smell is actually new materials off-gassing, and it's toxic... I figured that the new futon smell was probably similar. After about a week the futon didn't stink like new materials, so we brought it in. We keep our futon in the living area, so it really does need to double as a couch and mattress for guests (i.e. it's not flat all the time). It's held its shape really nicely (it doesn't slide off the frame), and our guests have been happy with it. All in all, I'd recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy but wrong color
 from Boston, MA,  Nov 8, 2010

As the other reviews confirm, this is an extremely comfortable mattress for both sitting and sleeping. My only complaint, which doesn't matter much b/c I'm buying a different cover, is that the "cedar" colored cover looks brown in the photo but is actually more of a military green. It's not attractive. Keep this in mind when ordering.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bargain
 from NJ,  May 17, 2008

But... don't expect this to be the fluffy futon in the illustration. It's just a futon mattress. I can say that it's softer than the old mattress I had which was 100% cotton batting. And it doesn't weigh quite as much... but it's HEAVY. But if you own a futon you already know that. It basically looked the same as my old mattress but it feels better. I mostly use the futon as a couch but I did have to sleep on it and it was much more comfortable. It comes with a gray cover. I use a nicer cover over it but you could get away with the one that is on there - but once that's dirty you're in trouble. One comment on this and all futon mattresses, wouldn't it be great if they gave you some handles to move it around like a normal mattress?? It is difficult moving them because there is nowhere to grab (if it's a 1 person task). But all in all, the mattress is a bargain for the price and if you need a more comfortable mattress, you really can't go wrong.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good for the price
 from los angeles, ca,  Oct 13, 2010

I bought this mattress almost two months ago for my futon (used as a bed) and it's great. It's firm, but not hard- it definitely molds to your body, but offers plenty of support. It doesn't seem to compact-at least not yet- but I make sure to rotate and flip it as I sleep in the same position each night. I have it in a protective dustmite cover, so I don't care about the actual color of the cover, but I remember thinking it was a disgusting color that couldn't possibly go with anyone's decor (I got the Cedar color). Plan on buying a cover if you're using it as a couch. The smell others mentioned is definitely there; it reminds me a little of cedar although that's not quite it, but it's not bothersome. It's gotten less strong over time, and it never really bothered me at all. My only complaints are that, of course, it doesn't loft up to the promised 8 inches, and it's a little short for my frame- being tall, this is a little irritating since the frame is already a little short. All in all though, a good buy and one that I hope will last for years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Metro DC,  Mar 14, 2008

I'm rating this mattress at five stars because of it's value, I know that there are nicer mattresses but this is good for the price. I wanted a futon for extra family visiting and don't expect that it will be slept on much after this occasion. I wanted something that would be comfortable but didn't want to spend a lot of money and I am happy with it. It arrived (together with the frame I ordered) in about 3 days at a total cost of $2.99 shipping! It will mostly serve as a nice sofa in my basement. (I stood it up in a corner of the basement while it expanded, if you have cats don't do this - the cover is the worse for the experience!)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great 8" mattess
 from Bayonne, NJ,  Nov 11, 2009

I was nervous at first to buy the futon, but after reading the reviews, I decided to buy it (Thanks). I am glad I did, The futon looks great and soft. It was easy to carry, because it air tight, but I was a little scare to open it because there's not enough room to cut . I also purchase Otis Grip Strips from another site, this doesn't let the futon move, now my futon don't slip out. I am happy with my sage color futon. Thanks Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One puffy fluffy mattress!
 from USA,  Dec 17, 2008

Product was shipped fast! (here 4 days from date of order placement!) Nice to not have to spend a ton for shipping! Thats one of my favorite things about overstock. You don't have to be surprised at the end of the check out with some outrageous shipping charge. Nice! ;)Mattress was brought to my door by the UPS guy in a big white heavy duty threaded plastic sack that kept it safe from damage during shipping. I agree as the other reviews said to be careful about opening this sack with a sharp object. The mattress starts expanding immediately as you cut through the heavy duty threaded sack. When the sack is finally off and the mattress is unrolled it starts expanding even more right away. The cover is like soft suede. I agree that the true color is lighter in the picture as the swatches show. But I would use the large picture of the mattress to show the actual lightness of buff, cedar is lighter like the buff swatch but a little more neutral toned. Its a shame to cover it as it feels so nice. But you cannot remove the microfiber cover. Workmanship and value is great. Nice smooth stitches, even padding, dimension as stated ( i let mine flatten& fluff/rise) on the floor first before using) It feels so soft to lay on. When I first laid down on it I started to feel sleepy right away because it was so comfortable. I love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Middle of the Road
 from Bettendorf, IA,  Aug 2, 2008

It DOES come in really tight packaging. You have to be really, really careful cutting this open or you'll slice your futon cover. Shipping was really fast and you can't beat $3 shipping. The mattress does expand, so once you've cut it open (yikes!), lay it out flat and give it a day or so. It did fluff out nicely, though I really feel this is more of a seven inch thick mattress than an eight inch thick one. And it does seem a tad short on the sides; it doesn't fill out my full-sized frame like my previous mattress did. The mattress is a nice brown color, but I put a futon cover on it immediately, so the color doesn't matter. It's really soft and comfy and I bet sleeping on it is a dream, though I'm using it as the main and only piece of furniture in my livingroom. I do have concerns about this mattress not keeping its shape after a short period of time. I'm not exactly on the light side (200+ lbs.), so I do worry about flattening this mattress out prematurely. Honestly, I wish I'd opted for the 9" mattress with springs. My last one was a 8" with springs and it felt much sturdier (obviously). (One month later): This mattress doesn't keep its shape for long. Again, I am using the mattress as couch 100% of the time, so it's always it the upright position, creased somewhere in the middle. The side I sit my butt on is already lumpy and somewhat mis-shapen. We turned it around tonight, and can't get the darned thing to sit right (creased in a weird spot, making it jut out past the bottom of the frame too far). I can't say I'd recommend this mattress for anyone's main piece of furniture. It would be better suited in a spare room, in the "bed" position.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a steal
 from Ventura, CA,  May 23, 2008

The mattress is an excellent value and very comfortable. I am extremely pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Never filled out to full size.
 from Olympia, WA,  Nov 13, 2011

We left our new mattress open and flat for 2 weeks when we received it. It never filled to its full loft. It is a full 2 or 3 inches shorter in both length and height. The mattress is more comfortable than our last but because it never reached its full size, the cover sags in the center and bunches up A LOT when the futon is in the seated position. Because it's in between sizes, finding a cover to fit was impossible. It also looks a little awkward in the frame, since it hasn't expanded to fit arm to arm.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Brown mattress
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Comfortable enough. Not as advertised, though.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not very. Never filled out to dimensions advertised.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading
 from olympia, wa,  Jun 14, 2011

this mattress has the worst quality foam i have seen. I passed up other mattresses for poor quality foam but since the picture of this mattress shows good foam i got it. Look inside this mattress and you won't like what you see. you should spend less and just get a cotton futon, since it is fairly comfortable so far (i expect it to flatten and not last, as it has already started to do.) if i knew how to repackage it i would return it, but these things are huge and wrapped in such a way that you can't get them back in the box. i felt mislead and lied to, and from a name i trusted too!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? the picture shown is a lie. the matress has the worst quality foam i have seen. I passed up other mattresses for poor quality foam but since the piicture of this mattress shows good foam i got it. Look inside this mattress and you won't like what you see.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? absolutly not.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Very comfortable and attractive. My mattress is brown and I had thought it would be white, fortunately the color works well in my room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This mattress has been on a futon used daily for nearly 3 years by 4 teenagers, their friends, 2 large dogs, and my large husband. It is still in perfectly good condition.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pefectly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice mattress
 from Bakersfield, CA,  Nov 30, 2011

I read all the reviews on this product because I wanted to make sure I got a mattress that would be comfortable to sleep on and would keep its shape. I have had the mattress for almost two years now (I am a bit late on this review) and am very happy with the mattress. It is still as comfortable and puffy as the day it arrived. Compared to the prices at furnature stores this mattress was a steal and I can't imagine getting anything more comfortable even had I spent a lot more money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
8 inch loft cotton/foam Microfiber Futon Mattress
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 27, 2011

This mattress is 6 to 7 inch at most. You can unzip it and see the content within, there are indeed 2 layers of foam in the middle, but they feel like regular foam instead of high density foam. Also there's not a layer of cotton in-between the two layers of foam like in the picture, maybe that's the missing 1 to 2 inches. The futon is pretty firm, which is what I wanted, and the price is decent comparatively, so I would still recommend it. The mattress is rolled up along the long side and sealed inside a plastic wrapping compressed, then put inside a cardboard box. You can get the package dimension from the live chat help. I wasn't able to squeeze it through the hole in my car's trunk with the back seats folded down, but was somehow able to force it inside the car, laying diagonally on top of the back seat, once I removed it from the box.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The buff color is much darker in person and nothing like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Mattress
 from Roanoke, VA,  Nov 22, 2011

Very good product for the money. Made very well and will hold up well in a family room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Love the color - cedar goes well with room decor.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality - very well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great fit for intended purpose
 from Barto, PA,  Nov 20, 2011

This futon mattress is being used on a colonial rope bed with a sacking cloth bottom. Its thickness is perfect to give that "stuffed ticking" appearance yet is also thick enough to be very comfortable for guests.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Above average for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for sitting on.
 from Eastern, CT,  Oct 10, 2011

This futon gets fairly regular use, and in less than 6 months has become completely misshapen and uncomfortable. If you are looking for a cheap futon to use a guest bed a few times a year, this will fit the bill. If you have any other plans please consider another futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was darker on the actual product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I expected more from the product based on the description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Futon Bed is Truly Great
 from New York, NY,  Sep 24, 2010

This futon bed is really comfortable. It is sturdy without being too hard. I literally have it on the floor in place of a regular bed and love it! I sleep very well on it and have great support on my back, which has sometimes been a problem with other mattresses. It came quickly after I ordered it and is in perfect condition. I'm really happy with the quality of this item and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon comfortable to sleep on
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 30, 2014

I got the 8" thick futon because it wil be my bed. I am glad I did. It maintains its shape when I lean it against the back of my dresser during the day. It fit comfortably into the full size futon cover I bought for it. When unpacking, be sure to unroll the plastic covering; don't try to cut through it :-) It is heavy and fluffing it is a challenge. I stand it on its side and let it fall, then flip it over about once/week. After 2 weeks, still love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 309 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 16 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top