Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 144 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great mattress at a great price!
 from Greensboro, NC,  Apr 5, 2011

This is a very comfortable mattress. It's on a futon with wood slats and I cannot feel them at all. After unpacking and put on the frame I promptly fell asleep on it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bang for the buck
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 31, 2011

After trolling around the internet and looking at local futon shops, I finally bought the Burgandy version of this mattress from Overstock. Since it will be used in the lower bunk on my daughter's convertible futon, we needed a non-innerspring mattress that could easily convert to a couch without issue. After two sleep-overs, the report has been that the mattress is decidedly comfortable for overnight guests. It came well packaged, but still has a bit of a "new futon" smell to it that will not be missed once it has totally disappeared. Could not find better value for the money. Very pleased with the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but....
 from Fairfield, IA,  Sep 6, 2009

Good and as described but the length is 2" inches shorter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super comfy futon mattress
 from Columbus, OH,  Sep 29, 2011

A great mattress for the price. 100 times more comfortable than our previous futon mattress. It does have a slight odor when it first comes out of the packaging, but it really isn't that noticeable. I'd reccommend allowing the mattress to air out and expand for at least a day. I didn't measure the exact thickness, but it is probably around 8 inches. Overall, it is very comfortable and the price was right.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, seems to be very well made
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from kansas city,  Feb 24, 2011

perfect for my kids, well constructed. being pretty much the cheapest full size mattress i could find i wasn't sure what to expect, but i am very impressed with it. i opened the package and within 20 min the mattress was a full eight inches. medium to firm. could not believe how fast it arrived. it was here three days after i ordered it. amazing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very firm , durable mattress
 from San Jose CA,  May 25, 2012

Ordered this mattress because I sleep on my back and need a firm mattress. As the description states --- this mattress is mostly stuffed with cotton with some foam pads in between. It gives a firm support (no sinking etc) even if you share the bed with someone. I have it on a platform bed with slats and it works fine for the past 1 year. If you sleep on your side this mattress is not for you. You will end up with a back ache.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Save your money. Not worth it.
 from Western NC,  Jan 25, 2012

We were excited to read about the apparent thickness of this futon mattress, as my son was looking for a good one to have in his college apartment in case friends or brothers wanted to sleep over some nights. There is NO WAY I would want to sleep on this mattress. Even sitting on it is uncomfortable - you can feel the bars of the futon right through it. Disappointed!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed at the right price
 from Lawton, OK,  Sep 30, 2011

I looked for a futon locally and couldn't find the right quality at the right price. On a whim, I checked O.com and selected a simple futon for use as a couch and bed, when necessary. It arrived quickly, and when I opened it, it was the right size and thickness for my futon frame. I let it sit out flat for a couple of days and then placed it in the position for use as a couch. The material feels sturdy, and the thickness is comfortable as a couch (I haven't used it as a bed yet). I'm very satisfied with my purchase and will purchase again from O.com.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? What I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, solid futon
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I am not sure it's 8 inches, but it is the right thickness
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect futon mattress
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Sep 6, 2011

Solid, comfortable, fits perfectly on my frame. Holds onto the "new" smell for quite awhile. I'd recommend thisto anyone looking to buy a futon mattress!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cotton futon matress
 from KY,  Jul 16, 2011

Very firm, nice quality cotton futon mattress. Color (hunter green) slightly darker than picture. I have been sleeping on this futon mattress on the floor for three weeks now. It is very comfortable ( I like a firm sleep surface), and shows no sign of compression where I sleep. It is durable and should suit my need for an inexpensive sleeping surface during my year of training. It is firm enough that it would do well as a sofa. I did not notice much off odor when I unwrapped the mattress on arrival. It aired quickly, and had no odor within a day of opening. Due to my circumstances, I opened it in the evening just before bed time, and had no difficulty sleeping on it due to odor on the first night.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? hunter green slightly darker than picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. escellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable
 from FL,  Jun 22, 2011

We have been using it as a mattress on a platform bed for the past week, topped with a feather bed. It is very comfortable to sleep on and a great deal at the price. It did have an odor when first opened so we aired it out a couple of days before using.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
odor
 from NH,  Jan 31, 2010

i received this matress three days ago, and although it is incredibly comfortable, i'm not sure i'd recommend getting it, because it has a terribly strong smell to it. It really is giving me a headache, and I'm just hoping this smell goes away soon or I will be returning it. Sorry to report this, because it is a really comfortable matress and a great price.....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Mattress
 from Saint Louis, MO,  May 20, 2014

Shipping and everything arrived as described. I happen to have dogs so I got a mattress pad in addition so stains do not go through the mattress. I love to keep everything as clean as possible. I would recommend that to anyone.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality but not for everyone.
 from Seattle, WA,  Feb 26, 2014

I purchased this without taking into consideration I'm a stomach sleeper and I need a mattress with a soft top yet firm. This product would be awesome for a back sleeper or maybe with a box spring underneath but my circulation gets cut off and it's pretty uncomfortable for me. The quality of the product is fantastic and it'd be a good guest room addition but not a nightly use, at least for me.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 from Portland OR,  Oct 3, 2013

this mattress arrived in a few days. it is exactly what I wanted, which was a futon sort of affair for sleeping on the floor Japanese style. I have slept very well since its arrival one month ago. room for two and no complaints. nice product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very poor quality
 from Ann Arbor, MI,  Aug 25, 2013

We ordered this mattress for a futon used as a couch in the living room of our daughter who is in law school. The futon couch is about 20 years old and had the original mattress which was getting a little "saggy". The Overstock futon mattress came (with no smell which some have complained about), and I was initially concerned about the stitching of the tufts which had small holes at the ends of most of the tufts that I was afraid would start to pull into bigger holes once people were sitting on it regularly. We let it sit to "fluff up" for two days and then put it on the futon frame, and two people sat on it for the evening. By the end of the evening, the mattress had squished down so much that you could feel the frame beneath, and it was very uncomfortable. The next morning, the mattress had clear indentations where the two people had sat. We retrieved the original mattress and put it back the frame, and it was SO much more comfortable, even at twenty years old, than the new mattress. If it wasn't such a massive thing to ship back, it would be going back. As it is, the mattress will be going in the trash. Don't waste your money. This mattress is TERRIBLE. Spend $**.** more and get something that you can use.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LIke but the smell....
 from CA,  Aug 5, 2013

I'm giving a rating of average because I'm not sure what futon mattresses usually smell like. This one...OMG! We aired it out outside for over two weeks and, when we finally put it in the room, we could still smell it a little. Smell is very faint now. It's a good heavy mattress but make sure you give it a few weeks to air out as it's packaged airtight.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
waste of money
 from martinez, ca,  Jul 27, 2013

Started using it and its april and it wore down and was so flat in 2 months so uncomfortable u can feel every inch of wooden frame from our futon if ur planing on sleeping on it better invest in a mattress topper as well even the first night we got it my niece felt the frame (she is 98lbs) I had no idea about futon mattress but I now know I would never ever buy a futon mattress with no springs ever again also NO way to clean cover better buy one of those to because u can only flip it so many times to hide stains (we bought the light khaki)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. awful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon mattress exchange
 from California,  Jun 20, 2013

I was pleased with the ease and friendliness of the employee that helped me return the original futon and reorder a different color. No hassle or complaint. Very professional and nice. Made the experience less traumatic. Will use overstock.com again. Thanks!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The original color was not what i expected, so reordered a different color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the futon was the size and comfort expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? except for the color difference, it was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy
 from Clarkston, WA,  May 7, 2013

The color wasn't quite what I expected but my son loved it none the less. It's very comfortable. Good quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I got burgendy and it seems more purple
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 144 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top