Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good for my project
 from seattle,  May 30, 2012

I ordered these futons to use as cushions for a long sofa that I made. They were the perfect choice for this application, but I need to say that if you are planning on sleeping on this mattress you are best to find a better quality. They are filled with cotton batting that I think is probably recycled material. They are quite, the only word I can use it, toxic. The off gassing is still going on and I've had them for two weeks. I let them air out but there is still a very slight chemical smell. I only sit on it for limited periods, if you would sleep on it I would worry a little about my health. My eyes itch and I get a slight headache when I take a nap. I will be covering them with a plastic mattress cover in a few weeks so this won't bother me, but I wouldn't let me children sleep on it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was definitely standard quality. This is a basic futon
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent purchase
 from Rocklin, CA,  Jul 11, 2013

We bought this for our kid's trundle bed, but the mattress is firm enough to be used by adults! Excellent value. Can be moved around easily.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like!
 from Grabill, IN,  Mar 20, 2014

I'm happy with the 2 twin futon mattresses I bought for my boys' room. I am using them for their twin beds. Not super cushy like a traditional mattress, but they are only 4 and 6, so they don't mind. The bonus is they won't jump on them! Maybe when they are older, I can buy 2 more and stack them for added comfort...or get a feather bed topper. The twin sheets I bought fit great, as well as the twin mattress protector. There is a smell to these mattresses. I guess it's a cotton smell. Pretty strong for the first week or two, but didn't smell chemical. I would have preferred organic cotton, but these were more in our price range. I talked to customer service/chat to ask about fire retardants and was told they use Boric Acid. Would have preferred no fire retardant chemicals, but I think Boric Acid is better than others used. Not 100% on this. Overall, happy with purchase. Would do it again if I was limited to this price range, but if I wasn't, would definitely go all natural, organic, no chemicals, etc. I thought this was a bargain though!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad
 from Reno, NV,  Feb 25, 2014

I thought the futon would be a little thicker. it is very thin. i am at a vacation rental and the mattress was too soft and non supportive (i need a VERY firm sleeping surface). i ordered this and put it on top of the box spring, would might explain some of the non-stellar rating....but i still thought it was a little lumpy in places. anyway, thank God the owner had a thick mattress topper i used on top of the futon and now it is working fine. i was surprised that i wasn't totally thrilled with the purchase because of the great reviews. it would do fine as an occasional emergency bed or something for guests.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy futon mattress
 from Vermont,  Sep 29, 2013

So yes, it has the green tea smell which is slowly dissipating. However, I love the fact that it is all cotton. It is heavy though, which is great once you get it where you want it. I ordered the natural color and it looks really good.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong natural farm smell - EXCELLENT HOLD UP!!!
 from Midwest,  Jul 28, 2013

Even after over a year it has kept up wonderfully with heavy use! Folds up well an responds to folding direction. Pure cotton inside - buy a cover - this zips over but is not a cover. Keeps good shape! Comfortable! Very comfortable even for co-sleeping, or changing from child's bed to adults bed). Heavy use (night time plus day time naps) is great! Wonderful futon! Note: natural cotton means its heavy. Like four or five loads of cotton t-shirts and jeans lol

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Goo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good - does have strong cotton smell but we didn't mind
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong smell
 from New Paltz, NY,  Jun 30, 2013

My understanding is that these cotton futons are treated with Boric acid as a fire retardent. My hope was that there would not be a significant smell from this but the smell is very very strong even after several weeks. I am going to look into returning it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is fine but the smell is terrible
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I love that it is all cotton (and so biodegradable when I am done with it) and made in the USA! A low price for a mattress shipped to my door. The mattress is firm.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent mattress
 from Delaware,  Apr 10, 2013

Excellent. Product as described. Very satisfied with purchase. My dad had a back surgery and needed a flat hard comfortable surface to lie down on. My husband built a bedframe with 21" legs and flat plywood same lengthxbreadth of this mattress. The mattress fit perfectly on the bed and my dad can sit down comfortably on the bed without too much bending. The bed is firm yet comfortable, he loves it and recovering very well from his surgery. It worked out great!! Highly recommend this mattress to anyone who wants a firm no-nonsense yet comfortable bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent, very satisfied
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? precise and accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
totally satisfied with product
 from Woodinville,wa,  Apr 2, 2013

Total value for money. I was looking for a good firm cotton mattress for my 5 year old daughter. She was transitioning to a twin bed. It fitted perfectly and she now sleeps very comfortably as opposed to the regular foam mattress. I just hope we get a queen size so we can get to sleep and try it. very happy with the purchase. Will surely recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fully accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice product
 from MN,  Mar 2, 2013

So relieved that product came out of the package without the strong smell that some complained about. Still, I took it outside to air and sun. I got a twin size and even that is HEAVY. Requires two people to move. That is the only downside but an expected one and worth the trade off as I wanted a firm bed without memory foam. Overall an excellent choice for the price. Thank you Overstock! But too early to tell how long the product will last.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top