Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Looks cheap, hard to construct
 from Chicago,  Jan 4, 2007

This shelf looks cheap, but it is, so I was not expecting much. I bought it in Oak, and the color looks very old fashioned and something my grandparents would have in their house. It took over 5 hours to put it together for 2 people, and some of the main pieces were either cracked or did not come together right - I did not return it simply to avoid the hassle. If you want a cheap shelf for a couple of years, this will do - if you want a quality piece, keep looking.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oak Vaneer Bookcase
 from Greene County, NY,  Oct 25, 2007

I'm not entirely happy with this purchase. The whole unit is made with pressed wood and the veneer is printed paper stuck onto the pressed wood panels and shelves. It has no feet, so the open edges of the pressed wood sits directly on the floor, these edges will deteriorate over time. Finally when originally shipped only half of the needed hardware was in the shipment. I had to call to request the 2nd bag of hardware and wait a week for its arrival.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bush is Better
 from New York, NY,  Apr 1, 2007

This bookcase looks great once completed. The workmanship however is not good. I had to be very gentle with the pieces during assembly as the press board is very cheap. Im even afraid to move it. If you've ever had Bush furniture that is the one to go with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
apperance can foolish
 from Paramus, NJ,  Nov 1, 2006

It takes hours to assemble the book case. Once assembled, the product is not stable at all. Apperance may be good, but I could have spent the money wisely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking bookshelf
 from Houston, TX,  Sep 18, 2006

This book shelf is actually 2 separate bookshelves that eventually make 1 large wall unit. It is 6 feet tall, so it definitely required 2 people to assemble and additional mechanisms to ensure it's placement since it stands so tall. It is quite nice looking and a great addition to my living space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Prepak bookcase
 from clearwater, FL,  Dec 8, 2010

received parts and instructions for a 29" bookcase (Wood parts for a 77" bookcase) after email to Prepak....received some more hardware, but no instructions...after phone call...instructions sent...but not to fit the wood parts I have, still with insufficient hardware....will call again today....(over 2 weeks since ordering the bookcase) and hopefully receive the necesary parts and correct instructions for putting this headache together

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I purchased not 1 but 3 of these! The best advice I can give mirrors the reviews of others who went before me: READ the directions first (can be confusing). You will switch back and forth between the instructions for the smaller book case and the larger one. Be aware the "top" of the small one is really the "top" of the larger one. The remaining 2 went up very quickly. They don't appear sturdy at first, but once it is all together, it's quite durable. There is a ton of space, which is what I was after, and the color is true to what I saw online. I'm very pleased with this purchase. You will need another person to put it together, though, as it's pretty heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This is a fair (but not exceptional) value for the price. Assembly was easy and took about 1/2 hour. The bookshelf arrived with one small damaged area, but I didn't feel like going through the hassle of returning it, and it doesn't show too badly where I placed it. The shelf looks fine from a distance -- up close it is easy to tell it is composite wood and the workmanship is only fair.If you need a truly high quality, genuine wood bookcase, this is not for you. If you are on a budget, are looking for something that holds books and doesn't look bad from across the room, this may be just the thing. I'm a school principal and it looks OK in my office, but is clearly of lower quality than the other furniture in the room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookcase
 from colorado,  Feb 12, 2009

This is the second one I've bought, and they are great! I like the height of the shelves, (store large books), and easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value!
 from sunshine state,  Oct 4, 2008

I was looking for a tall bookcase to fit into a specific space in my office for a reasonable price and this one fit the bill perfectly. It is very well-made and looks much more expensive than it was. It was very easy to assemble as well. I believe this item was a great value for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product for the Price
 from Newport, PA,  Dec 23, 2007

My husband said this bookcase was not sturdy (he's actually built bookcases before) but it is sturdier than it looks. I filled 5 of the 6 shelves and it doesn't look like the shelves will ever bow or anything. It looks great and it's a good price. I would recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookshelf
 from bergen county new jersey,  Dec 5, 2007

this product is wonderful.. i live in a rented small space so i knew it was not going to be an investment piece. if your looking for low price no frills good looking bookshelf this is ideal..i read previous reviews before buying this product and was warned it is not the sturdiest of pieces and i took extra care when assembling it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

They look good, now that they are assembled. However, it was so difficult to assemble that I had to hire someone to do it. It took him 6 housrs to put 3- 6' bookshelves and 1-smaller one together. The value would have been greater, if I did not have to hire someone to put them together. I would have rather purchased a ready made product. But it you are good at assembly, I would recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Trenton, New Jersey, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

The bookshelves are beautiful. They were a "snap" to assemble, the wood is awesome, they are nice and sturdy, and they are more than worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Middletown,CT-USA,  Jan 30, 2006

The Book shelf was worth more then I paid for it by a long shot. Overstock has always gone out of the way to show the community That quality is some times more inporant then quantity. The shelf has improved the looks of my house. Thank You.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from New Jersey,  Jan 30, 2006

Maybe I'm a little more handy than most of the other reviewers, but I felt that the bookcase was easy to put together. It is a little top-heavy, but the bookcase is after all over 6 ft tall. Some of the trim didn't line up exactly and some of the finish was scuffed during shipment. Not so bad that I had to return it though. It still looks good. It adequately serves my purpose at a price much lower than buying one from a name brand retail store.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Antioch, CA,  Jan 30, 2006

Book case was easy to put together, although I had a little trouble getting the top piece square with the bottom piece. Once together, it looks great and stands very sturdlely on only a 12" by 30" base. One has to remember with a tall bookcase, once needs to put the weight on the bottom and not the top as then the bookcase will be too top heavy. Thanks Overstock.com for another great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Sep 9, 2014

I needed a very tall bookcase for a specific area; this one is perfect. It looks more expensive than it is. The assembly was slightly tricky but very do-able. I love the look. It's a great value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great surprise!
 from Houston,  Jul 24, 2014

Better quality than I was expecting. The bookcases are beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's OK
 from Katy, TX,  Jul 19, 2014

It wasn't easy to interpret the instructions. Some of the shelves are bowing under the weight of the books but serves it's purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought