Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
good sharpener, too long for my needs
 from Delaware,  Oct 29, 2014

I wish I had bought the 10-inch version. This does a good job sharpening my knives but it's several inches longer than the space in my knife block!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
culinary sharpening
 from tenna,  Feb 13, 2013

I use this principle (diamond embedded metal, to sharpen my wood turning and outdoors knives, It was expensive, but well worth it. Works well for food knives.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent knife sharpener
 from Milpitas, CA,  Dec 7, 2012

I use the sharpener for all kind of knifes in sizes and shapes. Though not used much, it seems to do the job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handy in the Kitchen
 from Calif.,  Aug 10, 2011

Real handy the kitchen, we like it. our friends like it too. it works good

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lived up to previous reviews
 from Fort Worth, Texas,  Apr 22, 2011

Excellent product. My hard german steel knives were sharpened with a few light strokes on each side. Works better than my mechanized diamond sharpener. Can't beat it for the price.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? absolutely
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does The Job
 from Central Pennsylvania,  Jul 3, 2010

I bought this for my Dad. He says it does a very good job sharpening his kitchen knives. The price is pretty good

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique sharpening tool
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Apr 12, 2010

The diamond specks interwoven with the steel make this implement a bit gritty. However, it provides a very sharp edge after passing the knife on this tool only about 5 times on each side, so I gave it a 5 star rating. After using this implement, I give the knife a final / fine edge by using my other rod sharpener. The only minor drawback is the12 inch lenghth (about 2 inches too long for me) and it does not fit in my wooden knife holder because of it's oval / flat shape, which I did not detect in the photo. I find this a must-have tool for my kitchen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 Mar 25, 2010

I love it.... This was a very good bargain.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Gotta Have It"
 from Chicago,  Feb 18, 2010

I love this product so well that I have one in each of two houses -- it's a "gotta have it" item for my kitchen. Sharpens scissors and knives perfectly and mistake free. This sharpening steel is well-made and its slim design stores easily in a knife block or drawer. "Gotta have it".

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better Than Expected
 from Tennessee,  Jan 10, 2010

I bought this for my husband who is a stickler for sharpening knives. This was his favorite Christmas gift. He was amazed that I could find what he was looking for. The longer length and diamond construction was especially important to him.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just right
 from Northern Virginia,  Dec 17, 2009

I'd been watching for a reasonably priced product just like this one for some time. So, I jumped on it when I saw it. Although the reviews I saw were all favorable, I wasn't certain honing with this "steel" would be better than, or even as good as, other methods. Having used it now on several knives, I can honestly say using it has become my honing method of choice.In my opinion, calling the product a "steel" is a misnomer. I don't believe it's designed to straighten a knife's edge, but to solely to hone it. Consequently, the process I now use is as follows: First, I use a regular steel to straighten my knives' edges. Next, I gently hone them with this product, first thinning the knives? edges at a more acute angle if needed and then, angling the blade more obtusely, running them over the surface for a few strokes to put the final angled edge on the blade. Next, I use ceramic rods to smooth the edge at that final angle. Then, lastly, if the final angle is an acute angle, I run the blade over a leather strop a few times.Honing has always been the most arduous step in my process. This product simplifies honing and makes the whole process more pleasurable. Consequently, my knives, which are normally kept moderately sharp, will now, on average, be kept even sharper.As for my numeric ratings: Although I haven't had the product for long, it appears to be well made. So, I gave it the benefit of the doubt with 5s for Durability and Workmanship. It is lighter than I expected and would actually prefer; but, it does its job well. Although I wouldn't call it attractive, it doesn?t need to win any beauty contests. It is what it is. So I gave it a 5 for appearance. I keep it in a drawer. If I wanted to keep it in my Wusthof knife block?s steel position, I couldn?t. Because of its elliptical cross-sectional shape, it won?t fit. Keeping my actual Wusthof steel there makes more sense anyway because it?s used much more frequently.As you can tell from my review, I'm pleased with the product. If you're on the fence, deciding whether or not to buy, my recommendation is to go for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
diamond knife steel
 from BK,  Dec 6, 2009

Over all the product is nice and does what it is suppose to do. I am no pro, but like the feel of the product for sharpening my knives when needed. I would recommend for the cost.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
of coarse
 from Ely, NV,  Dec 5, 2009

This Bergdorf diamond sharpening steel is my second diamond steel and definitely more of a sharpening steel than a trad straightening steel. It's worth having for knives that have gone seriously dull, but not for everyday steeling unless you want to buy new knives soon.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice tool
 from orlando, fl,  Nov 28, 2009

I read all the reviews and decided to try this item. I'm glad I did. It sharpens quickly and easily. the only thing I notice is that if I put too much pressure, the "diamond" can come off and it looked like a small piece of glass and its sharp. I used less pressure and it was fine. Love the sharpness of my old knifes now!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pleased
 Nov 7, 2009

I hunt and fish and enjoy cooking afterward, it is very important to have a sharp knife. This is the best sharpener I have ever used and it is priced at less than half the cost of what I have found after shopping around. It is probably the best value I have ever found. Do yourself a favor, don't buy one- buy a few and share them with friends. Your gift will be greatly appreciated.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 Sep 11, 2009

Very nice sharpener easy and quick. You don't need a fancy electric , done by hand is still the way to go.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a quality product that will be a welcomed addition to any shop or kitchen. The craftsmanship and durability make this tool an excellent aid for maintaining a razor sharp edge on your finest cutlery. Priced right and delivered fast and efficiently, the folks at Overstock.com have earned repeat visits from this Michigan customer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Item @ a Great Price
 from New York,  Sep 12, 2008

Sharpens you knifes for months with only a few quick strokes. Your knifes will be the sharpest they will ever be with this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for.
 from Angels Camp, Ca.,  Aug 16, 2011

Gave our old one away with out old knife set. Been looking for something to match the new one and this one fits the bill.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought