Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 127 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Central New York,  Feb 24, 2011

I bought this mattress to replace a cheap foam futon mattress that had become very thin and uncomfortable. I've only had the new one for a couple of days, so I can't comment on how well it will stand up over time, but it is VERY comfy! I can't feel the bars of the futon frame underneath me when I sit on it or lay on it, and it has a very firm and "springy" feel that is similar to real furniture like a couch or chair. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. For the price, this is a significant improvement over what we had. The only reason I'm giving this four instead of five stars is because the product description says that it is 10 inches thick, and it's really more like 6.5 inches. That on its own doesn't bother me (comfort is more important than thickness), but I ordered a futon cover to go with it, and specifically got the bigger size intended for futon mattresses that are 10 inches thick or thicker. The cover is a bit large and looks wrinkled and sloppy. If you're ordering a cover to go with this mattress, choose the smaller size.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Service
 from Manhattan, NY,  Feb 22, 2011

I moved into my new Manhattan apartment and got the mattress within 4 days (at 2.95!) The only glitch was that they didn't register my tracking info on my account. The mattress smelled strongly, but I covered it because I use it for a bed, and it's fine. I bought a non-slip rug pad to keep it from slipping of the frame, and it works like a charm when I put it up!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon mattress
 from Klamath Falls, OR,  Oct 12, 2010

We have a really nice futon frame, but the mattress was 11 years old and battered after 3 kids, 2 dogs and 3 cats have lived on it. Didn't want to buy a new couch or futon, so decided to buy a nice mattress instead. This mattress is so thick and comfortable, the kids, now teenagers, want to sleep on it instead of in bed! So comfortable and beautiful. Bought a zip-on mattress cover that's washable. A must for a busy home. I'd definitely buy it again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would Never Recommend this Item, Ever.
 from Baton Rouge, Louisiana.,  Feb 15, 2013

This is misrepresented in that no way can it bend in the middle to be used as a sofa on a futon frame. I would not recommend it, unless you plan to lay it flat - and only flat. This product is only good as a bed mattress, not as a sofa, as pictures. I would have rated this product as "0", but was not available. And it's not 10" thick, maybe 7 or 8 at the most - definitely not 10.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Site looks yellow, actual is tan/khaki
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? This product does not bend, you know - like in the middle so it can be used as a sofa. Cannot bend it, not even with a heavy duty bungie cord.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Splendor Full-size 10-inch Spring Twill Futon Matt
 from Gillette, WY,  Jul 6, 2013

We bought this for my son's bunk bed, it originally came with a 4 inch mattress that when you sat on it, you felt the bars through it, received the mattress and opened it up, put it on the bed and have loved it. I even slept on it a few times with my son and was surprised how comfortable it was.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? only came out to a 9 inch mattress
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Florida,  Mar 6, 2013

I just received the mattress yesterday, but it appears to be very good quality - certainly as described in the listing. The depth was 8 rather than 10 inches and I had been counting on that (picked up from other customer reviews) because I wanted to reuse my outdoor cover, made for an 8 inch depth. But, I detected no issues as I placed it on my frame and then sat comfortably. So far I am very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seemed very good quality - out of the box
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We have has this for over two years and use it constantly as a couch and occasionally as a guest bed. It has held up well and is still comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The navy blue was the color we expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This by far was a pleasant surprise. I have had this mattress for over a year now, and it has been comfortable and held up to heavy use. I have it out in my screen room and it is used as a couch most of the time, and a bed when I have overnight guests. I have had no complaints from anyone. The inner springs make it thick and cushy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality with durable outer cover
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Tennessee,  Jun 5, 2012

I recently downsized and lost my spare bedroom. A friend gave me a futon frame and I wanted a good quality mattress so that my guests would be comfortable. I shopped locally and found the nicer ones to be $600-$800. This mattress is as nice as the best one I saw in the futon store. I find myself crashing in the living room on weekends and putting guests in my bed because it's so darn confortable. I am very happy with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark brown as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I had expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 from Orange, TX,  May 10, 2012

We love this futon mattress. My husband works nights and sleeps on this futon so he doesn't wake me up. He loves the new mattress. It did smell "new" at first but that goes away. Also, it had a slight hump from being shipped but also went away and he is super happy with it. Great deal from OS!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much better than the mattress my futon came with.
 from Maple Grove, MN,  Apr 26, 2012

I bought this mattress to replace the one that originally came with my cheap futon. After a few nights with my old mattress I could feel the bars of the futon and it was unbearable. I took a gamble and purchased this mattress. I ordered it on a Monday and had it by Wednesday! I have only used it for a weekend, but I slept very well. I cannot feel the bars anymore and find it to be much more comfortable than my old mattress. This was definitely worth the money. I am very happy I decided to try overstock, and very happy I bought this mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as decribed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Everything was close. it is not 10inches thick.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice mattress
 from AZ,  Apr 23, 2012

This is a very nice matteress. For $$$bucks delivered, can't be beat. Color was excellent. No factory odor. My only criticism is it barely "lofted" to 8 inches. As it is, fine. I think 10 inches whould have been too thick. I weigh 220 pounds and this pad is comfortable. I'm happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? precise
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So comfortable and so nice looking
 from NY,  Mar 28, 2012

Fits futon well. Is good quality and very nice looking. Firm but not too firn.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? about the same should not be called khaki it is more of a light tan color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comfortable futon mattress
 from Boston, MA,  Mar 25, 2012

We replaced our old worn futon mattress with this one and are very pleased. It is on a futon in the family room used upright for playing video games, and laid flat for overnight guests. I've had nothing but good reviews from my teens who use it. We aired it out for a couple of days after reading other reviews, and there was no issue with any odor. Good value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far seems to be good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the mattress is accurately described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Good Mattress for a Futon
 from Indiana,  Jan 28, 2012

The mattress was a great purchase. I've seen some people upset because the futon has lacked the quality of a couch or bed. Honestly, a futon is designed to be neither of those exclusively, but simply to have the capability of both. The futon is excellent for an occasional sleeper- we've used one in our basement during heavy storms- or in cases as how I use it now; as a couch/mattress for a gaming room for myself and friends to use intermittently. The mattress comes vaccuum-sealed, and will definitely have the raw cotton odor that is common with such sealed products (a outdoor/grassy type smell.) We were able to alleviate this smell largely with Fabreze and area room deodorizer. In warmer weather, opening a window would help as well. Probably something most noticeable in smaller rooms especially. This was our first foray into a spring-loaded mattress, and I was a bit dubious as to how well it would fold and stay on the futon. It actually folded rather easily, stayed well and certainly added more support than our previous all-cotton and cotton-foam hybrids.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I've had the product for about a month now. It's held up well thus far and is probably the most comfortable futon mattress I've sat on to date.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love My new Futon Mattress
 from Spring Hill,FL,  Jan 4, 2012

I have read other reviews and was expecting an odor when we opened the package but, there was absolutely, no odor. The 10" size was on point. It's nice and thick and very comfortable. My son who is a 36 has been visiting and has been sleeping on it for the last week and says "it is probably the most comfortable futon he has ever slept on. All in all, I am very happy with my purchase....I love it. I have never been dissatisfied with any of my overstock purchases but, I do have a problem with Fed-Ex not updating their tracking system.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color match was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, better than many I've seen
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mattress, great price, great comfort
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 21, 2011

I am very pleased with this purchase. I am always wary of buying products online that I can't try out in person, so this was a big risk for me. I am very happy about the mattress, however. I was afraid it would kill my back and not be the right thickness, but I was proven wrong. This mattress is perfect in every way. Super plush, I use it as a bed and as a couch. The inner springs are much better than the non spring futon mattresses I've slept on. Definately a positive purchase, and fast shipping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same - black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality so far.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT MATTRESS
 from madeira beach, fl,  Jul 24, 2014

WOW. THIS WAS REALLY A SURPRISE. THE MATTRESS IS BOUNCY AND IT FOLDED EASILY FOR THE UPRIGHT POSITION. NO ONE HAS SLEPT ON IT YET BUT IT FEELS LIKE IT WILL SLEEP JUST FINE. VERY HAPPY . PRICE IS GREAT.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mattress for the price
 from WV,  Jun 17, 2014

On average, I replace my futon mattress every 18 months because it gets a lot of wear and tear from my dog. I have purchased this mattress a number of times and it is the best one that I have found for the money. Plus it is very delivered right to my door so I don't have to haul it home. I will keep buying this mattress!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable mattress
 from Arlington, VA,  Feb 22, 2014

Comfortable mattress and good quality for the price. I recommend it for an extra bedroom or small place.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 127 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top