Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 174 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Central New York,  Feb 24, 2011

I bought this mattress to replace a cheap foam futon mattress that had become very thin and uncomfortable. I've only had the new one for a couple of days, so I can't comment on how well it will stand up over time, but it is VERY comfy! I can't feel the bars of the futon frame underneath me when I sit on it or lay on it, and it has a very firm and "springy" feel that is similar to real furniture like a couch or chair. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. For the price, this is a significant improvement over what we had. The only reason I'm giving this four instead of five stars is because the product description says that it is 10 inches thick, and it's really more like 6.5 inches. That on its own doesn't bother me (comfort is more important than thickness), but I ordered a futon cover to go with it, and specifically got the bigger size intended for futon mattresses that are 10 inches thick or thicker. The cover is a bit large and looks wrinkled and sloppy. If you're ordering a cover to go with this mattress, choose the smaller size.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Tennessee,  Jun 5, 2012

I recently downsized and lost my spare bedroom. A friend gave me a futon frame and I wanted a good quality mattress so that my guests would be comfortable. I shopped locally and found the nicer ones to be $600-$800. This mattress is as nice as the best one I saw in the futon store. I find myself crashing in the living room on weekends and putting guests in my bed because it's so darn confortable. I am very happy with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark brown as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I had expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon mattress
 from Klamath Falls, OR,  Oct 12, 2010

We have a really nice futon frame, but the mattress was 11 years old and battered after 3 kids, 2 dogs and 3 cats have lived on it. Didn't want to buy a new couch or futon, so decided to buy a nice mattress instead. This mattress is so thick and comfortable, the kids, now teenagers, want to sleep on it instead of in bed! So comfortable and beautiful. Bought a zip-on mattress cover that's washable. A must for a busy home. I'd definitely buy it again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Service
 from Manhattan, NY,  Feb 22, 2011

I moved into my new Manhattan apartment and got the mattress within 4 days (at 2.95!) The only glitch was that they didn't register my tracking info on my account. The mattress smelled strongly, but I covered it because I use it for a bed, and it's fine. I bought a non-slip rug pad to keep it from slipping of the frame, and it works like a charm when I put it up!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Florida,  Mar 6, 2013

I just received the mattress yesterday, but it appears to be very good quality - certainly as described in the listing. The depth was 8 rather than 10 inches and I had been counting on that (picked up from other customer reviews) because I wanted to reuse my outdoor cover, made for an 8 inch depth. But, I detected no issues as I placed it on my frame and then sat comfortably. So far I am very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seemed very good quality - out of the box
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Springs have sprung, would not recommend as couch
 from Northern Virginia,  Feb 18, 2014

I bought this product about 6 months ago to replace a regular foam futon (which I used as my main sofa) that had compressed over the years and was no longer comfortable. I was hoping for a more resilient and supportive surface to sit on. Initially the new spring mattress worked well as a sofa and the support was even and comfortable. But after just a few months, the springs began to wear unevenly, so in the most-used areas of the mattress we can feel certain springs poking at our, well, behinds. Makes for a really uneven surface. Six months isn't a long time, so while this might be OK as a back-room guest bed, it's not a good choice for frequent use as a futon couch. Would go back to my old foam mattress if given a choice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We have has this for over two years and use it constantly as a couch and occasionally as a guest bed. It has held up well and is still comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The navy blue was the color we expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This by far was a pleasant surprise. I have had this mattress for over a year now, and it has been comfortable and held up to heavy use. I have it out in my screen room and it is used as a couch most of the time, and a bed when I have overnight guests. I have had no complaints from anyone. The inner springs make it thick and cushy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality with durable outer cover
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 from Orange, TX,  May 10, 2012

We love this futon mattress. My husband works nights and sleeps on this futon so he doesn't wake me up. He loves the new mattress. It did smell "new" at first but that goes away. Also, it had a slight hump from being shipped but also went away and he is super happy with it. Great deal from OS!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much better than the mattress my futon came with.
 from Maple Grove, MN,  Apr 26, 2012

I bought this mattress to replace the one that originally came with my cheap futon. After a few nights with my old mattress I could feel the bars of the futon and it was unbearable. I took a gamble and purchased this mattress. I ordered it on a Monday and had it by Wednesday! I have only used it for a weekend, but I slept very well. I cannot feel the bars anymore and find it to be much more comfortable than my old mattress. This was definitely worth the money. I am very happy I decided to try overstock, and very happy I bought this mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as decribed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Everything was close. it is not 10inches thick.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice mattress
 from AZ,  Apr 23, 2012

This is a very nice matteress. For $$$bucks delivered, can't be beat. Color was excellent. No factory odor. My only criticism is it barely "lofted" to 8 inches. As it is, fine. I think 10 inches whould have been too thick. I weigh 220 pounds and this pad is comfortable. I'm happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? precise
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Good Mattress for a Futon
 from Indiana,  Jan 28, 2012

The mattress was a great purchase. I've seen some people upset because the futon has lacked the quality of a couch or bed. Honestly, a futon is designed to be neither of those exclusively, but simply to have the capability of both. The futon is excellent for an occasional sleeper- we've used one in our basement during heavy storms- or in cases as how I use it now; as a couch/mattress for a gaming room for myself and friends to use intermittently. The mattress comes vaccuum-sealed, and will definitely have the raw cotton odor that is common with such sealed products (a outdoor/grassy type smell.) We were able to alleviate this smell largely with Fabreze and area room deodorizer. In warmer weather, opening a window would help as well. Probably something most noticeable in smaller rooms especially. This was our first foray into a spring-loaded mattress, and I was a bit dubious as to how well it would fold and stay on the futon. It actually folded rather easily, stayed well and certainly added more support than our previous all-cotton and cotton-foam hybrids.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I've had the product for about a month now. It's held up well thus far and is probably the most comfortable futon mattress I've sat on to date.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love My new Futon Mattress
 from Spring Hill,FL,  Jan 4, 2012

I have read other reviews and was expecting an odor when we opened the package but, there was absolutely, no odor. The 10" size was on point. It's nice and thick and very comfortable. My son who is a 36 has been visiting and has been sleeping on it for the last week and says "it is probably the most comfortable futon he has ever slept on. All in all, I am very happy with my purchase....I love it. I have never been dissatisfied with any of my overstock purchases but, I do have a problem with Fed-Ex not updating their tracking system.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color match was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, better than many I've seen
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good mattress
 Aug 20, 2015

i needed a futon matt to replace an old one in bad shape...i shopped around and i preferred to get one with coils inside as opposed to a cheap plain foam and fillers matt that would flatten out in no time ...this mattress had the coils and thick foam that i wanted for long lasting comfort and that is just what it delivers... im a big guy 6'1 260lb and i use this to sleep on mainly because the stairs leading to my apartment are treacherous and narrow so a real bed wont fit through to my apartment but a futon that can be brought in in pieces and assembled inside is just what i need ....Great mattress Lightning fast shipping ..A+++

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its nice, but...
 Mar 16, 2015

...if it is 10" think, I have missed out on a promising career in pornography.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ollie
 Feb 24, 2015

The mattress is quite firm and does not fold into my futon as described. I tried sleeping on the mattress once Iputit on the futon, however, it was so uncomfortable because of the firmness, so I bought an inexpensive mattress foam pad at Walmart and put it on top of the mattress which made a huge difference. Now I can sleep on it very comfortably.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This futon mattress is perfect
 from Jax. Bch. Fl.,  Dec 12, 2014

I throughly love this futon mattress. The burgundy color is perfect, just like in the picture. The material is so easy to keep clean and soft to sit on. We keep it in the so called "office" which we use for everything; guest room, crafts, office, and just watching TV. The granddaughters and I have totally enjoyed the sturdiness of this futon. One reason I bought it is because it is made in the USA, I've never been disappointed either.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Splendor Full-size 10-inch Spring Twill Futon Matt
 from Gillette, WY,  Jul 6, 2013

We bought this for my son's bunk bed, it originally came with a 4 inch mattress that when you sat on it, you felt the bars through it, received the mattress and opened it up, put it on the bed and have loved it. I even slept on it a few times with my son and was surprised how comfortable it was.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? only came out to a 9 inch mattress
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would Never Recommend this Item, Ever.
 from Baton Rouge, Louisiana.,  Feb 15, 2013

This is misrepresented in that no way can it bend in the middle to be used as a sofa on a futon frame. I would not recommend it, unless you plan to lay it flat - and only flat. This product is only good as a bed mattress, not as a sofa, as pictures. I would have rated this product as "0", but was not available. And it's not 10" thick, maybe 7 or 8 at the most - definitely not 10.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Site looks yellow, actual is tan/khaki
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? This product does not bend, you know - like in the middle so it can be used as a sofa. Cannot bend it, not even with a heavy duty bungie cord.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
smells badly
 from Savoy, IL,  Aug 14, 2012

It smells really bad (from factory, maybe). It won't go after 5 days in patio. It is still in my guest bedroom since

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 174 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought