Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 96 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The Good & The Bad
 from Sarasota, FL,  Feb 25, 2011

Okay. The truth about this product is that it really is a great hairdryer! My hairdresser recommended it to me. After several months of convincing myself to spend the big money on a hairdryer, I finally broke down and purchased the red one. It worked great for 2 months! Then the heating element went out on it. Thankfully I had purchased the protection plan and sent it back to Overstock. It was replaced with this (black) one, which worked great until now. The heating element went out on this one as well! And don't you know, it conveniently broke less than one month after the protection plan expired! PLEASE NOTE: This dryer has been used once a day (at most) on someone with moderately fine hair (probably takes me less than 7 minutes to dry my hair) and lasted less than 24 months. It was never dropped and rarely left my bathroom. Hardly undergoing "professional" use, if you ask me! WARNING: DO NOT BUY THIS DRYER WITHOUT PURCHASING THE PROTECTION PLAN!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great hairdryer and safe around the baby
 from San Jose, CA,  Jan 11, 2011

I am concerned with the effects of EMFs around our 1 year old granddaughter. She likes to hang out when I'm drying my hair and I feel she's not being bombarded if she stays. As to function, it is lighter and quieter than most, GREAT long, heavy cord that doesn't tangle, and a cool button that actually provides cool air. However, there is only a low / high setting with no ability to dry your hair with less heat or less power. I haven't found that to be a problem, but it might be for some people. Personally, I LOVE my new dryer!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it! Fast drying time!
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Feb 24, 2011

Love this hair dryer! If there had to be any negatives, I think the cord is too long and thick for my personal bathroom. Probably perfect for a salon, but that is just my opinion. Otherwise, it is not as loud as a "normal" hairdryer and dries my fine, but thick hair in half the time as my old dryer! My hair comes at smooth, and even in Florida, I barely need to use my chi flat iron after my blow out (it is Feb now, ask me again in July, that could be another story...) I am very happy with it so far and have even bought one for a gift. The only thing that I am concerned about is that I didn't get the warranty and in about a year it has a reputation of dying out. Enjoy it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked great... until it didn't
 from Washington,  Feb 18, 2011

I purchased this hair dryer on December 7, 2010. Today, February 18th 2011, the heater element stopped working. The dryer still blows air, but it no longer generates any heat. Up until this particular failure though, the dryer was great! Quick drying time, quiet operation... it'd just be nice to get more than two months' use out of it...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chi is the way to go
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 10, 2010

Bought numerous t3's prior to this purchase... this blow dryer is lightweight, and cuts drying time. I am a dedicated chi fan for life-- must buy if you want a nice blow dryer without breaking the bank

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So impressed!
 from Austin,  Sep 13, 2011

I love this hairdryer! Best I've ever owned. It came highly recommended by my hair stylist. He did give me a warning... it won't last long. Seeing the other reviews, I now know this isn't an isolated incident. I usually dry my extra long fine hair in 20 minutes, but now it takes about 10-12. So far, I love the product but Mr. Farouk Shami needs to work on the engine because a $$$ hairdryer isn't worth replacing every year. I don't care how great my hair looks. Not to mention all that discarded plastic... not very environmentally responsible.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far, so good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't last long
 from CA,  Aug 1, 2011

After just two years the heating element stopped working. It blows cold air only. I called customer service per warranty instructions to order post-warranty repair and was told that they no longer have contract with the repair company and can't help me. So, now it is useless only after two years. My old Clairol hair dryer that I bought for $20 in 1988 is still running and I am back to using it. What a difference!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. worked well for 2 years only
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality is great
 from Fremont, CA,  Jan 3, 2011

I was in desperate need of a hair dryer because my old cheapy was beginning to fry sections of my hair each time I blow dried it. My sister had this same exact hair dryer, so I was lucky enough to try it out first. The quality of this hair dryer is so much better than the one I used to own. It dried my hair very quickly and created volume! I had to have my own, and surprisingly enough I found the same exact one on Overstock at a better price than other beauty supply stores. I know its expensive, but it is well worth the investment!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dryer but doesn't last long!
 from Arlington, VA,  Jun 4, 2010

I got this hair dryer about 11 months ago. I absolutlty loved it the first couple of times I used it. I have long thick hair, it used to take me 15 + to get my hair dry, but after I purchased the CHI it cut down the time in half. The hair dryer worked great for the first 11 months, one day I decided to dry my hair and the heating element of the dryer was broke!!! It would blow cold air only, I tried cleaning the screen in the back of the dryer and nothing worked. I was so glad that I read some reviews before purchasing this dryer because I heard other people having the same problem so I decided to purchase a protection plan for the dryer. I never thought I was going to use it, but not even a yr later I'm having to return this item to overstock. I would recomend the dryer because it does a good job BUT the hassle to have to return the dryer and get a new one has taken a long time. I am in the process of getting a new one. If you decide to purchase this item I would highly recommend that you get the protection plan!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Early death...of the hairdryer
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Dec 28, 2012

The reviews are true - this hairdryer is great while it lasts. I had mine about a year and half. I was extremely disappointed when it died, so I went out and bought a new *** hairdryer instead that works just as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love it, I bought a second one.
 from Calgary, Canada,  Aug 10, 2011

Hair holds better after using this dryer, then with others.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not thrilled
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Nov 9, 2013

I LOVE these dryers…but after a few months the heating element went out…which just happend to be about a week after the element went out in my flat iron. I'm NOT a professional so my tools are not overused and abused…. Very frustrating that my cheap ones have held up better.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My forever favorite dryer
 from ATL, GA,  Jun 19, 2013

Love this quiet but powerful blow dryer. I bought it to replace a red CHI that I bought years ago--and sadly dropped the power cord one too many times while unplugging it from the wall breaking the end of the power cord. An electrician eventually fixed it for me--however, I prefer my current black CHI due to the thickness of the attached power cord. Excellent dryer and highly recommended.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top Notch!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad quality
 from Florida,  May 12, 2013

I only used it 100 times and stop working, wont heat any more, I purchased the same product before and lasted for 6 years but this one worked just enough time to complete the time for the warranty and 2 days after it stoped working.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I just used 100 times and stop worcking
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHI Prof. Low EMF Hair Dryer
 from Kirkland, WA,  Mar 14, 2013

I have had this hair dryer for almost 4 years now and am still very happy with it. Heating element works great, so does cool shot. I haven't had any problems with this hair dryer. I really like the way it heats, comes with focused and diffuser attachments and has long cord. Great hair dryer definitely worth the money.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Pictured image looked like received product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality, strong and nice attachments
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must need for my hair!
 from GA,  Feb 12, 2013

My hair is thick and course. Leaves my hair soft, smooth, and less frizzy. I will continue to purchase Chi. This was my first purchase with Overstock......I recieved my dryer quickly!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best hair dryer ever!
 from Charleston, SC,  Feb 9, 2013

This is seriously the best hair dryer I've ever used! My mom got it first and I used it when I visited her over Christmas. My hair looked amazing as soon as I finished drying and it really didn't even need to use a straightener. I have very fine hair that has a little bit of wave but not in a cute way! I usually have to dry and en straighten for it to look tamed. I kind of want to buy 5 of the, so I will always have one!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is great!!!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy the Warranty
 from Texas,  Feb 7, 2013

I bought my first Chi hairdryer probably 5 years ago. and because I loved it so much, a few years later bought one for my daughter. This is the hairdryer my hairdresser used. Mine lasted about three years and then the heating element went out. I called the manufacturer and for , I think $40 ,I sent it back and they replaced it. My daughter's hairdryer lasted about a year and it ,too , quit working. By then the company had been sold, I guess to Farouk, and there was no longer a warranty.We did not replace it with a Chi hairdryer. The heating element in my Chi hairdryer quit working again this year and I was looking for a new one. The Chi is light weight and did such a good job of drying my fine but thick hair I did not want to replace it with an inferior dryer. But I also did not want a hairdryer that cost well over a hundred dollars that was going to last only one year. I read the reviews on Overstock and decided to buy the Farouk Chi again and get the two year warranty offered by Overstock . Normally I never buy a warranty ,but this time I am confident I will use it. Too bad . But the expression" they just don't make thinks like they used to" applies to this hairdryer. It's hard to rate this product. I love it , but I'm afraid it won't last.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks just like it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from virginia,  Dec 31, 2012

I bought myself a Chi hair dryer 3 years ago and I love it! It dries my hair quickly and without the frizzled! It is also super quiet so I am not waking everyone up when I am drying my hair. So I just bought another one for my mom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dries well
 from St. Petersburg, FL,  Dec 29, 2012

dries hair quickly. lightweight and easy to use. Settings and "cool" button make drying hair easy

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 96 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top