For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Austin, TX,  Jun 23, 2008

I previously purchased the gold and black piccolo from Overstock for about the same price as this flute, and I'm still thrilled with it to this day! I've had it for about 6 months. So I decided to get a flute too, but I was very disappointed in the quality of this flute. The sound quality was poor (it sounded too "airy"), and some notes were hard to get out. I understand this is a school-band flute, as was the piccolo I purchased, so I wasn't expecting great concert quality of a professional flute. But I was expected decent and predictable sound quality. I've played flute for over 25 years, so it wasn't that I don't know how to play it. Also, some of the pads stuck, and the flute joints were hard to put together. They were too tight. The overall construction was very light, and it just didn't seem like good quality. Anyway, it's possible that I just got a lemon, as most of the other reviews here for this flute have been great. But I'm not taking a chance on getting another of the same kind. I returned the flute to Overstock and they gave me a refund. Overstock was prompt and fair about the refund.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappiontment
 from moreno valley, CA,  Oct 9, 2011

this flute is a bad flute.When I bought this flute when i was a beginner.it won't play D F Eb E G none of the low octaves some of the middle and some of the high octaves.When my band teacher (who is also a flute player) tried my flute he had the same problems i did! Don't waste your money on this .Its not a good buy!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it looks good but looks are deceiving very poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Made in USA and Great Quality
 from Iowa,  Nov 11, 2007

This flute was given high marks from our band instructor. For us, having a quality product was important but more importantly buying one made in the USA was more so. Thanks to Overstock we found both! Great buy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
School band flute
 from Tuskegee, AL,  Nov 6, 2012

This is a good instrument for a beginner. It is light weight but can do the job.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Band Flute
 from Middle GA,  Jan 4, 2012

I ordered this fairly close to Christmas and still got it delivered in time to wrap! It is just what he wanted, fits together smoothly, and sounds great. Thanks!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Great!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Product
 from Stillwater, Ok,  Nov 8, 2011

The flute has excellent tone quality, able to play all the notes and in comparison to my other flute (which had several problems) was a step up in quality. This was my first time to buy anything online and I liked how it was sent in a timely manner even though I was kind of worried that it would not get to my dorm. The flute came at a good time because I had to tryout and it performed well and since I will clean and care for this flute it should last me until I don't need it anymore. Thanks Overstock you proved to me that you had a good product which will persuade me to buy more things on your site.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The flute has awesome tone qualtiy and since it was a new product it could play all the notes.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brand Name Hidden for a Reason O. verpriced
 from Salt Lake, UT,  Oct 10, 2011

This is a basic entry level flute, I didn't expect it to be professional quality. I was short for time because my daughter needed it ASAP. I found this one here and figured I would go for it only because shipping time was shorter than other stores. Shipping was on time and flute plays as it should. Flute is priced almost $50 more than same brand at other websites. If your not in a hurry buy the lowest price flute from other stores and you will be getting the same brand name as this one..

  • How accurate was the sizing? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. as expected
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? case zipper was broken
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beginner Flute
 Jan 10, 2011

I purchased this inexpensive flute for my daughter who is in 4th grade. I purchased a more expensive name brand flute from another company. Both flutes arrived at the same time. My daughter played the more expensive flute for a short time and the keys began to stick. This inexpensive flute is still going strong and sounds great. Definitely worth the $$.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Respectable
 from Baltimore, MD,  Oct 21, 2010

I purchased this flute for my son to use in Elementary School Band. He is also taking Guitar, so I didn't want to invest too heavily into one instrument. I was pleased to see that it comes in a hard molded plastic case. The latches on the case appear somewhat flimsy, so he keeps an elastic pony tail band around the case for additional security. He has nad no apparent difficulty assembling and playing the flute. If you're unsure that your child will pursue playing the flute for years to come, this is a reasonably safe purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value!
 from West Virginia,  Sep 17, 2010

I was super excited when I saw this item was labeled "School Band" and was so cheap. Its my daughter's first year in band and I hated to spend $400 or more dollars on something she may not even like. When the parents went in for a first year student presentation, one of the first things they said was "Beware of $150 internet deals. If it looks too good to be true then it probably is." That had me worried so I took the flute up for the band director and an instrument dealer to look at. And they said it looked great! They were extremely surprised to find out that this was an "internet deal". My only complaint is I thought the case that it comes in was a hard shell but its actually a padded nylon, backpack type material. However, it seems plenty durable and protective. I guess time will tell though. If it starts to see unusual wear or damage that's not from misuse, I'll be sure to update my review. But so far so great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Band Flute
 from Kansas,  Aug 23, 2010

We believe the flute is of good quality. The only suggestion the band teacher made was if the flute needed repair, most repair shops will only work on name brands. For us this was cheaper than rental and as long as it last 2 years we are money ahead. My disappointment came when it arrived and had the brand name embroidery on the case. Started looking on the internet and could have bought the flute for around xxxxx rather than the xxxx I paid.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nickel-Flute
 Dec 28, 2009

I opened the box and the flute looked and sounded great! I started playing it at my house and a large crowd of women quickly gathered outside. It's like the flute made them fall in love. I would recommend it but advise you to be carful with this majical flute.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great instrument for a great value
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Oct 26, 2008

This flute works great. My daughter is learning how to play the flute for the first time this year. It sounds great, and her music teacher does not have any complaints about the instrument. I saved a lot of money by purchasing this instrument on overstock. The music company that the school suggested I use wanted $275 for a new flute. I would recommend this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nickel plated School Band Flute
 from Daytona Beach, FL,  Jul 31, 2008

I was very pleased when we received the flute. My 10 yr old daughter is just beginning flute lessons at school and this is perfect. It was going to cost us more to rent a flute through the school than the price we paid to own this one. The flute looks nice and the case seems very durable. My daughter is very happy. We will definitely recommend Overstock to her classmates.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nickel plated School Band Flute
 from philadelphia, pa,  Jun 4, 2008

Great product, it was exactly what I wanted for a long time, just for a fun time playing music at home with my childrens. I will recommend this product to everyone in need for a great instrument. Thank you O

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
School Flute
 Feb 2, 2008

This was a great purchase for home practice. Sound quality is excellent and now practice could be accomplished outside of the classroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter!
 from New Jersey,  Jan 9, 2008

We bought this for our 8 year old who has developed a love for the flute. We were renting and decided to make the commitment to owning. For the price, this is a great way to start off and the sound - wonderful! We have yet to hear what the band leader says though - so more to follow...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from New York,  Jan 5, 2008

Purchased as Christmas gift for my 9-year-old daughter who just started playing the flute this year. Has a nice sound. Music teacher did not recognize the name however he too thinks it was a great value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good, fast and well done
 from Michigan,  Aug 27, 2007

recived the package in time for school to start .. made a grandchilds day !!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
band flute
 from AZ,  Aug 5, 2007

After renting for 2 years, we decided to make a commitment to our daughter's advancement in her musical education and purchase a flute. Thank goodness for Overstock.com! We purchased this quality instrument at a reasonable price and not only received the product...but a renewed interest in her musical instruction! Our daughter has made her flute practice a priority for the summer break! Thanks, again, Overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Ravel by Gemeinhardt 202SP Flute
Today $298.99
Compare $304.99
Save 2%
Ravel Student Flute
Today $208.99
Back to top