Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice Violin
 from SC,  Mar 25, 2011

Nice quality violin for the beginner. My daughter played this for two years before she needed the full size violin. Definitely cheaper than renting!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great little violin
 from dallas, Texas,  Dec 28, 2010

We ordered this for our 6-year-old to start lessons and have been very pleased with it. Her instructor, who plays professionally for a metropolitan orchestra, has commented numerous times on its nice tone and was astonished when we told him it cost around $***. Let me point out, however, that he noted that the bridge would eventually need to be replaced because one of the strings is too far apart (this is not an expensive item and is easily switched out). It won't be an issue for us, he says, because our daughter will outgrow the violin by the time she is ready to practice that final string. Overall we are very happy with our purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unsatisfied!
 from Cheyenne, Wyoming,  Jan 7, 2013

We bought this product from overstock, since our daughter was eager to play. The violin arrived, and at first it looked, and sounded great. However, after one day of playing, it would no longer stay in tune! The tuning dowels are loose, and stay that way. When you try to tighten the strings, they immediately untighten themselves before your eyes. Now we have to take this in to get looked at by a professional, to see if it can be helped. This violin now has been sitting in it's case for over a month because it is unplayable! Daughter is complaining for another violin, one that she can play. I wish now we had of bought locally, and invested a little more into a better product. This product is junk. Save your money, because mine went OUT the window on this instrument they claim is a violin. Very unsatisfied!!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not orchestra quality
 from Topeka, KS,  Sep 20, 2012

I did not want to have to rent or purchase a $*** violin until my daughter grew into a full size. Based on reviews I purchased this. It was humiliating, the instructor sent my daughter back to tell me the violin was not only inadequate, but was not even worthy of being called a violin. Part of me was mad that $&@#% was so arrogant , and thought maybe... I got what I paid for...but the piece she played on last year was half the price and only had to upgrade bow and bridge. That is what I was expecting here. Not the case, save your money and rent until they make it to full size.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Less than poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Not adequate, will not stay tuned, instructor refused the instrument
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Merrick, NY,  Aug 20, 2012

I previously sent another violin to my grandson and it was not a quality product. Upon receiving the violin purchased from Overstock, my grandson was very pleased and my son and daughter-in-law had very positive comments to make. This violin is an excellent beginner musical instrument.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very satisfactory
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? None
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good deal
 from los banos,ca,  Jun 3, 2012

my son's teacher in music recommended this entry level violin

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The violin I ordered is simply beautiful.
 from Durham, NC,  Sep 29, 2011

My grand daughter loves her new violin. We couldn't have made a better product selection for her needs.

  • How accurate was the sizing? After I ordered the wrong sizing, the supplier promply helped me return and get the size I needed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The violin and beautifully made.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Def a nice piece
 from Long Island, NY,  Sep 13, 2011

i am happy with it and my 5 year loves learning to play on it.. My music place just likes to chaulk the strings so they stay in tune longer.. But it is great, love the case.. it is very neat..

  • How accurate was the sizing? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. i am happy with it and my 5 year loves learning to play on it..
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? It looked great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great violin
 from San Diego, California,  Aug 26, 2011

I bought this for my kid for her violin class and she loved it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exellent quality at a great price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter
 from Winston Salem, NC,  Aug 3, 2011

Great Violin for beginners. Purchased for my daughter, and the only problem I see is that you have to tune it every time you play it. But from what I hear you have to do that with them all. Better quality than I expected and came fully assembled only the bridge needed to be placed. Bow and chin rest was beautiful as well.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality for Price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No, Only a minor stitching error on case. Don't see this as the norm though.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprising Quality!
 from White Lake, NC,  Jul 22, 2011

We were surprised by the quality and sound from this violin. It is a good beginner violin. Information about tuning the violin was included. Overall, we are pleased with the product and would buy it again.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from Upstate New York,  Oct 19, 2010

I don't much about violins. However, this did not come ready to be played. We had spend an additional $53 to put a bridge and get the strings fixed. My son's now seems to be happy with the instrument.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Violin, Bad Tail Piece
 from Broken Arrow, OK,  Sep 9, 2010

I am a violin teacher. I purchased it for my 10-year old daughter. Tone-wise, it's a very good violin for beginners at a very reasonable price. It came with a good bow and case. However, the adjuster screws on the tail piece are of poor quality. I could not adjust the tune with any of the fine adjuster screws; they appear stuck and are very hard to rotate. A simple examination by the seller would have revealed this defect; but it appears that was not done.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Student 1/2 Size Violin
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 21, 2010

Overall an excellent buy, 1/2 size violin for a 7 year old beginner. Tone is excellent after changing the original strings for Perlon core string set. Spent four hours fitting the bridge and pegs. Pegs were not fitted, and violin came with two unfitted bridges. Plan on spending some set up time or find someone that knows how to fit the instrument. Original chin rest (over the tail piece type) was way too tall for a 7 year old. Replaced chin rest with a shorter style (beside the tail piece type). Wooden bow that came with the set is acceptable for a student, with real horsehair. Case is foam core with zipper nylon shell and flocked interior; attractive enough, light weight, with back pack style shoulder straps on the bottom. Came with a plastic and rubber shoulder rest that fits acceptably. Sound post was properly positioned and violin body has good glue joints. Again, the tone after fitting and string replacement is excellent for a student violin.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Starter
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 2, 2010

I have played many different violins in my musical career. This violin is great for people starting out. The sound quality is good, and for the price, this is a GREAT buy! I gave the violin as a gift, once I tested it out and made sure it was in good condition. If you are looking to start playing and don't have a lot of money, this is the perfect violin for you!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
STUDENT VIOLIN 4/4
 from NAIROBI, KENYA,  Nov 11, 2009

Lovely beginning violin. Needs to be tuned and fined tuned, but once that is done, it is great value for the dollars spent.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just okay
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Feb 9, 2009

I purchased this awhile ago and so far I am a little disappointed. The violin does not hold the note for very long after tuning, the pegs slip during tuning, and once the bridge popped off. The sound is good for a violin of this nature, and it looks nice. However when I took it to a violin repair shop to properly place the bridge on and to fixs the pegs, I was told I would need to purchase new pegs and a bridge because the ones that came with the violin do not fit properly. Perhaps I just got a bad one however be cautious when considering this violin......

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value!
 from Florence, SC,  Jan 15, 2009

This is a wonderful violin for someone who is just starting to play.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a bad starter
 from Mtn Home AFB, ID,  Feb 20, 2008

I plan on purchasing a better one if I continue to play, but this is a great starter violin. I would highly recommend to those that aren't sure if they would keep it up. It sounds surprisingly good for being so cheap.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good beginner violin
 from Arkansas,  Jan 23, 2008

My 5yr old asked Santa for a violin. I wanted something that he could actually take lessons with, but didn't want to spend a lot of money. From what I can tell this is a good violin for a 5 yr old. If he continues to show interest with lessons, we will go up in quality, but I am happy with this violin for now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top