Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Everyones Mistaken
 Nov 13, 2010

The violin is perfectly fine, in the other posts, it is obvious that they do not know anything about orchestral instruments. of course the string will come unattached if shipped or if under stress from different temperatures. the bow isnt warped, you just have to adjust it, and why should you care more about the case than the object inside? its fine, i have one, it just required little assembly that others are too lazy to do

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Duh! It's overstock.com newly minted .com
 from Alabama,  Aug 31, 2011

Okay, the strings weren't good, but anybody would want to get the right strings for their style anyway, I bought "fiddle" strings for mine. The rosin was old, but duh it's overstock.com, not newly minted.com. The bow could easily be warped when you get it, mine wasn't, but that and the rosin is probably the first thing you should replace anyway, a better bow with high quality rosin, on better strings makes the entire instrument sound so much better, it's like a much higher cost instrument. People that expect such a low priced instrument to sound like a Stradivari original should think again, while looking at the price tag. Dollar for dollar, you get more than your money's worth. Of course some snooty violin teacher will tell you it's not too good, it isn't in the realm of violins, it's a basic beginner instrument. The changes needed like strings, bows and rosin will be needed on any lower end instrument, violin or otherwise. Think of it as an opportunity to tailor the instrument to the player, and their style. Any violin under a thousand dollars is going to have something or another to find fault with. The only question that need be answered is did you good value for what you paid. I'd have to say yes, and then some.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Right on the money.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Okay, the one I got was bit old, the strings needed replaced right away, and the rosin was old. The bow was okay... for a low end instrument, but I wore out the hair quickly, so had to get another, this time opting for one where the hairs can be replaced rather than the whole thing, still, it's reasonable in price.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Other than stated above, it's an okay violin. No great shakes, but better than the price suggests.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommended
 from Denver, Colorado,  Oct 11, 2011

I purchased this violin for my son, we had been renting a violin for a year until we found this Violin kit with everything he needed to continue playing all for less than the rental cost.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate sizing
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This voilin was better than expected
 from Denver, Colorado,  Jul 28, 2011

This was a suprise for someone that wanted to take up the violin. Perfect for 1st timers!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Violin is extremely disappointing!
 from Northeastern IN,  Mar 21, 2012

You get what you pay for! As I write this, my violin is in the music shop being repaired. This is the second violin we've tried. The first one was even in worse shape. The bridge we received isn't the correct size for the violin and the neck has a raised piece (that shouldn't be raised at all) that keeps the strings from laying as they should. We knew nothing about violins when we ordered this, but got "schooled" right away after we received both violins. Save yourself some heartache and don't buy one of these violins. Even for a beginner, they aren't worth it. The repair being done on our violin right now is going to cost as much as we paid for the violin itself here on Overstock. Even then, we're not guaranteed that the violin is going to have a long life. Not a great buying experience at all!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing was accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood itself seems nice, but there were many defects that prevent the violin from being played out of the case.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Absolutely not!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get what you pay for
 from CA,  Dec 27, 2008

The bow is falling apart to easy. Hard to keep in tune.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Average
Rather disappointed
 from MD,  Sep 16, 2014

I understood from reading the reviews I'd have to buy a new bow and rosin. I was not anticipating the bow to come with already broken strings as though someone had already used it. My largest issues stems from the fact that it came quite loose and in trying to tighten it, the strings became dislodged and I'll need to take it to a music store. Fortunately, it turns out that this is the wrong size for my daughter so we are going to put off the added expense of fixing the violin so it actually plays.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Decent for Beginners
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Dec 14, 2013

This is a good violin to learn on for the value. Ignore the people who complained about this instrument. They have no knowledge of musical instruments particularly of the violin. It is a difficult instrument to learn and takes years to master. As a noob, I sound horrible due to my technique. The only issue I had was tuning. The strings are brand new and need some time to stretch out before you can get a reliable sound. Overall its a good buy for what you get.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Fair
Not the best quality
 from Ada, Michigan,  Sep 9, 2013

While I was teaching my violin student, the tail broke. I was able to fix it, but it is only good for beginners. She had it since 2010, and it has had quite a few problems. Please don't waste your money in this violin.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
I don't know yet. I have to wait for a bridge.
 from Auburn, NY,  Jul 19, 2013

I got it in the mail and was so excited. I am a beginner so this instrument is perfect, but was sad that the bridge was missing. I contacted customer service though and they sent out a new one ASAP

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible Violin That's Worth the Price
 from Williamsburg, VA,  Apr 12, 2013

Instead of spending months trying to find a decent used violin at a flea market/thrift store, I spent the $50 or so on a new one. Every component on this violin is cheap, including: soundboard, back/sides,fingerboard, and tuners. Bridge is decent. Tuners are of low quality and require a little persuasion to stay in turn (stick with fine tuners for most of your tuning). Got this violin as something for my kids to beat on when they grow up. If you get this violin for a beginner, learning will be more difficult. All that being said, however, this is a good buy. You are not going to find a cheaper price for an entire kit: violin, bow, rosin, and case. Is $50 worth all this frustration? The simple answer is yes. Beginners can practice on this for a couple years and then splurge on a several thousand dollar violin when they become competent. And because they've been playing on such poor quality, that high end model will feel and sound that much sweeter

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low quality, but worth the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Tuners are not tight, making adjustment difficult
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Starter Violin
 from Milton, WA,  Jan 1, 2013

The girls love them! How inexpensive to let them try it out to see if they will follow learning violin. Maybe had the string been intact and the rosin...my review would have been excellent.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? A broken string and the rosin was dried and broken
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this is a fine quality item!!!!!!!!
 from San Diego,  Nov 12, 2012

overall i was still satisfied with my purchase and i would recommend this website to various friends

  • How accurate was the sizing? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was excellent!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? indeed
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for it's price
 from NC,  Nov 3, 2012

I got my Violin a few days ago. just the other day I brought it to a music store to make sure it was in good order and the man looked it over and tuned it for me. Over all it got a clean bill of health and I'm using it as a learning instrument. Of course there are better ones out there and if you have the money then more power to you but, on a low budget, I would recommend this violin.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a good choice
 Jul 21, 2010

Bow was horribly warped and needed to be replaced upon receiving violin kit. Violin sounds okay, needed to be fixed a little first. Rosin was old and dried out. Box it came shipped in was damaged but inside packaging was fine. Would not recommend buying a violin from overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not good but not entirely bad
 from Michigan,  Dec 10, 2008

The violin I purchased was a gift for my teenage son. The shipping box came with a picture of a violin on the outside (nice surprise). When we looked the violin over it looked nice enough until we took it into my son's school where his teacher (who a professional violinist and teacher) and he said the item was so old it needed to be re-bowed, re-strung and a number of other things wrong that will eventually cost us most to bring it up to acceptable standards than it would if we had just bought one in a store. Very disappointing. I am normally loving Overstock, but this was a real bummer!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible!
 from Myrtle Beach,SC,  Aug 23, 2009

DO NOT waste you time or money by buying this violin. It is pure junk! It can not be tuned no matter what, it showed up at my door with a broken string I might add.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BAD MUSIC
 from new york,ny,  Aug 8, 2009

If your thinking about a beginner violin think again here. Strings unattached, wooden pegs don't turn, and unattached bridge. You need a construction certificate to assemble. Turned off my once aspiring violinist.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top