Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Plainfield/IL/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I'm not an expert on saxophones, but it seems like a perfectly good instrument for a beginner, at a fraction of the cost of other saxophones. My daughters only concerns were (1) the color was slightly different from what everyone else in the band had (this one is gold, and everyone else's is more of a copper color); and (2) the neck strap isn't good. So, we bought a new neck strap for about $10. Other than that, she is honking merrily away on it. This was a LOT better than paying over $1000 for a big-name brand.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
COULD BE BETTER, BUT IS A GOOD STARTER SAX
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Jun 6, 2011

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my 11 year old to use in his first year of band. I figured it would be cheaper then continuing to rent an instrument since he plans to take band again in 7th grade. This is a nice looking instrument and it comes in a gorgeous bag, but I've already had to have it repaired twice due to sound and key problems. Unfortunately, repairs are not cheap....at least when you rent they are covered in the rental. Hopefully we finally have it up and running for awhile; my son likes it but it definitely does not play smoothly nor is the sound the best. I will do all I can to keep it going until he finishes band next year and if he continues I will need to make a smarter investment. It is a good starter instrument and would recommend giving it a shot, but be prepared for small repairs along the way.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Sax
 from cerritos, CA,  Jun 13, 2007

Very good service. Prompt delivery. Saxophone arrived in perfect condition. Sounds great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value!
 from Clovis, NM,  Dec 11, 2006

I bought this for my son who has started band this year and insisted on playing the sax. A very expensive choice. I shopped around and this was a great price. I was a little worried about the quality until we got it home, it looks and sounds just as good as the other kids instruments, and we are just as pleased as can be with this purchase. Thanks again Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
1ST TIME SAX PLAYER
 Sep 21, 2006

My daughter decided to play sax at the last minute. This was the very best price I found for a quality instrument. Very Happy and so is she. Tks!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from New York,  Jan 30, 2006

Excellent value!Comes with a sturdy carrying case and extras. My son has been playing for 3 years. He is now in the 8th grade. He was quite happy with the sound and the look of the instrument.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from California,  Jan 30, 2006

The Alto Sax is working more better than I expected. I've been using it and it works like a dream. It is absoulutely wonderful!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from New York,  Jan 30, 2006

Played sax for 8 yrs in grade school and decided (5 yrs later) to pick one up again. This one works/sounds just like any band saxophone I used to play minus the high price. Good buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Carmel, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

Great Beginner Saxophone, good sound, good looks... My son is very happy with it!! Excellent value!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from whittier/CA,  Jan 30, 2006

this saxophone is so awesome i have been playing for 2 years and i love the sound and the looks of the instrument.it is really worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Carmel, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

Decided to purchase a sax for my son instead of renting one....This is a great beginner sax, his school band approved! Excellent value

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Tennessee,  Jan 30, 2006

My daughter loves her new sax, she is just starting out in band but this is the perfect instrument for her as a beginner or for someone with greater experience. This is definitely a KEEPER. Thanks OVERSTOCK.COM

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from GAINESVILLE,FL,  Jan 30, 2006

GOOD SCHOOL INSTRUMENT

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
The saxophone
 from Philly,  Oct 25, 2013

Good enough for a beginner. Was bought for my son, a mddile schooler. He likes it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome and a great price
 from iowa,  Oct 7, 2012

Will and have recommended this saxophone and Overstock.com to many people!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Band/Orchestra Alto Saxophone Package
 from JBER, ALASKA,  Sep 26, 2012

MY SON LOVES THE SAXOPHONE, HE CAN'T PUT IT DOWN. THANK YOU!

  • How accurate was the sizing? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. MY SON LOVES IT.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? YES
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alto Saxophone
 from Lewisburg, TN,  Sep 12, 2012

I was very pleased at the sound quality that my child made as he is just a beginning band member. This instrument makes a beautiful sound, especially for the price. I saved at least $250 by purchasing it here and I did research several music stores.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality was great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It'll pass
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 14, 2012

This sax is good for a beginner saxophone player. I had a few problem with the keys sticking, but overall it was okay!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
saxophone
 from Chester, VA,  Nov 24, 2011

When we received this item some of the pads had fallen off in the case and others fell off as we attempted to assemble, which I think may be minor. This is an excellent price, especially if you are just learning. I shopped around alot. Did not want to spend much because I was just learning the instrument. Would recommend. Dalyce

  • How accurate was the sizing? Excellet
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Unsure
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Pads were falling off
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommended
 from Denver, Colorado,  Oct 11, 2011

I was surprise to find a new saxophone for this incredible price and was a bit worry about the quality, that was until we received the sax in the mail. After my son took it out of the box and put it all together he played a few songs it sounded just like the 1500+ rental he was using. very happy with this saxophone and would recommended for any school age kids.

  • How accurate was the sizing? right sized
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top