Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good value but requires addition prep
 from Minnesota,  Oct 1, 2012

Don't be lulled into false security. 1. Added minimum 3 - 1 litre bottles of water. The first days of an emergency water might be scarce 2. The Aquamira bottle included is very nice and good for 100 gallons of water . . . however Aquamira also sells Water Treatment Drops (1oz) as a cheap backup and treats 30 gallons. Chemical treatment is consider a superior guard against bad water. Without water this kit is useless. Est cost $12 3. The Fire On disk is an emergency fire starter ONLY. Estimating 30 days requires 20 hours of heating fuel. A safe and reliable cooking stove is essential. Pocket stoves are easy to find, plus add sufficient fuel that works with your stove. Make sure you have at least two types of fire starters. COST EST $30 4.. To conserve fuel consider making two meals at a time and put the 2nd meal in a wide mouth thermos (a 28 oz plastic Thermos with a sturdy built in handle works well) A wide mouth Nalgene bottle would NOT be an appropriate alternative. COST EST $8 5. This kit requires hot water (warm water for milk) for every meal which is unrealistic if your group includes kids or the elderly. 1-2 boxes of crackers w/peanut butter, canned cheese or foil pouch tuna or chicken are a cheap solution. These can be rotated yearly which adds to your long term cost and a serious omission of this particular kit. COST EST $20 7. No flavor enhances was a surprise. Some long term food storage kits have up to 20% of the total contents/calories as Kool-aid or Gaterade like drinks. I added 24 individual servings foil wrapped water enhancers designed to be poured into a liter water bottle They are easy to find. COST EST $8 8. The kit may be nutritionally sound but added several bags of dried fruit, nuts and multi-serving pouches of vegetables.which can be purchased on line or at a local camping store. COST EST $20 9. In times of stress, sweets are a quick moral boost. Fun size M & M's, individual servings of hot chocolate mix instant coffee, a couple freeze dried Mountain House desserts add to the overall cost but if you are 'addicted' to eating sweets or coffee you might not be able to live without them COST EST $24 10. Add measuring utensils. The directions specify 1/4, 1/3, 1/2 & 1 cup measurements as well as 1 & 2 tbsp which seems a bit complicated. You also will need approx 2 cup cooking pot (larger if making more than 1 person servings) , a metal cup and plate, plus 2 or 3 1 oz purse size hand sanitizers and two dry wash cloth, aluminum foil and coffee filters. Most can be purchased at a dollar store. COST EST $12 11. The county extension office offered a class in homeland security and recommends several screw cap plastic bottles be added to a food storage kit to secure dry-powdered food or keep uneaten loose food. A recycled plastic peanut butter jar and a open mouth mayonnaise jar were suggested 12. An additional safeguard to consider is a 72-hour MRE kit which may be unnecessary but me I'm a bit uneasy having the bulk of emergency food to be from the same source. COST $38 All the above suggestions can be put in a zippered canvas bag or back pack and secured to the Augason kit with a clip or a bungy cord. The quality of food available is a deal breaker to how well an individual tolerates adversity. The items suggested above adds $180 but likely can stretch a 30-45 day kit into a realistic 60 day kit (or 30 day for two people) which makes the purchase of the Augason 300 meal kit plus add-ons still an affordable option for home preparedness.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much tastier than I expected!
 from KY,  Sep 28, 2012

I am not quite sure how they managed to get so much in one bucket! The food is packaged will in sealed pouches. Some of them have zipper sealers so you can use it over a number of days instead of all at once. The food tastes great - even my daughter likes it! I like the selection and variety. The price was great. If I can eat for a month for only $***hat makes a big difference to my budget! The bonus to me is the water filter and the burners included! This is a no brainier. I'll be ordering more.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good. Packaged well, easy to make, very tasty.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
as pictured
 from ohio,  Aug 5, 2012

Nice package, lots of calories for the money. Water filter and fire starters are a nice bonus.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Haven't sampled yet.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product, Great price!
 from Fowery Branch, GA,  Apr 22, 2012

I am very please with the overall qulaity, price and ordering of this product. Overstock provides better than competitive pricing on this iten and to include shipping for free, you definately can't go wrong.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent and informative
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good and when I am starving I imagine it will taste even better!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Good deal!
 from California,  Mar 25, 2014

Great price and looks to be a ton of food. Water is essential to use the food in this pail.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Hard to Review, No emergency
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 9, 2014

Compared to other "30 day" or 4 week emergency. I am not so interested in the flavor, though it would help. It's the fact that I have emergency supplies in case of problems. It was a reasonable price for the variety of food. I eat to live and if I have to open this pail, we're not dining, we're trying to survive.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Great emergency supply
 from Barboursville, WV,  Jan 4, 2014

bought for my son- & his family I am planning to buy one for myself

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Item was as described.
 from Omaha, NE,  Jan 2, 2014

I have not and hope to never use this product but it is comforting to have some long term food put up in case of an emergency. Additionally, the containers are light enough to grab and go if needed in the event of an evacuation. Overall, I think it was a great value.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Reliable
 from Iowa,  Jan 1, 2014

Obviously this is an emergency item so I haven't broken the seals. However, it arrived quickly and appears in great shape.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
What I was looking for.
 from Savannah, GA,  Nov 20, 2014

Just what I was looking for! This is for emergencies, so hasn't been used yet. However, it's nice to have it for "just in case".

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Average
Net Review
 from Pennsylvania,  Nov 18, 2014

The package came damaged and packaged poorly. Returned item same day that I received it.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Positive review
 from Central Florida,  Nov 16, 2014

Great to find a comprehensive short term solution to emergencey situations.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Average
Hope I don't need to use it...
 from Bethel, CT,  Oct 29, 2014

We ordered several buckets, but one arrived and then the rest arrived a few weeks later. I thought that was a little strange. Hopefully, we won't need to use this food, but it is there just in case. I can't comment on the taste or quality of the food, because it remains unopened.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Augason Farms 30 day Emergency All-in-One Pail
 from Cleveland, OH,  Nov 19, 2013

Did a fair amount of research, this is by far the best value I found.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
30-day food storage emergency all-in-one pail
 from Salt Lake city utah,  Oct 21, 2013

Delivery was fast. Bought one for my family and one for mother in law. Compact in very nice bucket with handle. Easy to store in basement. Excellent price also.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big heavy pail !
 from OK.,  Jul 18, 2013

Very suprised by the size & weight of the pail, it's all there. The pail was all "sucked in" a little at the sides, I think because of the altitude change from where it came from. Great price, might consider getting some more later. Would recommend to others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
got it in case of an emergency
 from san diego, ca,  Jun 21, 2013

everything is sealed and i havent opened it yet. i got it just in case. couldnt go wrong for the price plus i had a coupon

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Emergency protected
 from CT,  Jun 8, 2013

Anything related to these products are worth having. You just never know and it's important to have supplies. I hope I don't need to use them but the great thing is the last over 25 years so these are worth the investments to have. Have at least a years worth per person.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? On target
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The bin came in dented but the items weren't compromised.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from Arkansas,  May 9, 2013

After losing power for 5 days over Christmas due to an ice storm, I've gotten serious about having back-up supplies for my family. I purchased this pail for a decent price. I hope I never have to open it. Can't speak at all to the quality of the product inside.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks to be good quality, looking only at the outside of the pail
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great item to start with for your SHTF supplies
 from Chandler, AZ,  May 1, 2013

I've not opened the bucket up and hoping to not have to. Delivery was fast and it is exactly what was advertised. I'll be buying a few more in the coming months.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Haven't opened it to verify. Bucket looks the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Unsure...have not opened it up
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top