Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Enjoyment
 from Montana,  Jan 28, 2009

I have the product up and running and have no problem hooking it up. It works great. Thank you ever so much. at least I found a DVD/VCR player that went with my Tv. Thank you. The price was right and so were the shipping charges,

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba DVD/VCR player
 Jan 28, 2011

Product arrived in a very short time and was in perfect condition. The instructions for connecting were fine and the unit was set up quickly. In use since it operates easily and well playing both VCR's and DVD's. Given the price and performance this item seems to have been an excellent buy. It is particularly useful since we have many VCR tapes and didn't want to discard them. It, of course , plays DVD's very well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD/VHS Player
 from Maine,  Jul 3, 2009

Bought this to replace one of another make that failed. Easy to hookup and even with the most basic hookup the picture and sound were excellent. The remote does everything but put the disc in for you, very intuitive and easy. Recommended, good value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dont buy Toshiba
 from Hubbard. Ohio,  Dec 18, 2012

Overstock was wonderful with taking back the DVD/VCR & returning our money. This DVD/VCR Does not have a tuner so you cannot tape shows from the TV. I called Toshiba for help & was told that they no longer answer any questions about anything but computers. We thought Toshiba was a good company to purchase but we've changed our mind. No more Toshiba.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba - Double Good Fun
 from Danbury, Connecticut,  May 23, 2009

I've had my Toshiba for years and it's a great dual source player. I decided to buy this as a gift and the recipients love it. Anyone who has both a VHS and DVD collection needs a machine like this and Toshiba's is tops in my book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba SDV296 DVD/VCR Combo Player
 from Memphis, TN,  Nov 15, 2012

I have been pleased with other Toshiba products I have purchased until NOW. Inside of the carton was a sheet stating in RED "NEED HELP" please contact us for help, if you require assistance in set-up or operation. Well I called for help. I was given another telephone number for assistance. At that number - I was told that they DO NOT GIVE ASSISTANCE FOR the product I purchased. I have Directv and asked for assistance to connect what I had purchaed. I purchased a Vizio 32" Smart TV and the Toshiba DVD/VCR. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING ELSE WITH THE NAME TOSHIBA.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I am not sure because it has not been connected. See my review.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good price
 from Colorado,  Jul 9, 2009

We needed a new VCR and found this one with the DVD. It has been a great item for the money. Of course we have only had it for about a month but the quality is great and it only took about 2 minutes to hook up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba Combo
 from NYC,  Jan 10, 2011

Basic unit, no extras. It was good to know that my vhs and dvd collection still have manufacturers who make players that replace worn out units. I don't understand why this model does not have coaxial connectors. RCA connectors work, with a little more effort to plug all the different wires in. The picture and sound are good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba SDV296
 from San Fernando, Pampanga, Philippines,  Nov 9, 2012

This is an affordably priced, reliable VCR/DVD player; if you have, as I do, a great many VCR tapes that you can't, or don't want to, transfer to DVD, this is a good choice to make (I have over 300 videotrapes purchased beginning in 1980, and it was cheaper to buy a new player than to begin the process of finding someone to transfer the tapes to disc -- and that doesn't take the quality issue into account). It might be the TV screen I'm using -- I'm not sure, but a number of my tapes have 2-line subtitles at the bottom. The image cuts the lower line off. I'm honestly not sure if this is the Toshiba player or the TV screen. But I don't think it's significant. If you have a lot of VCR tapes, this is a good player to have!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Up to Toshiba's standards
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works great
 from Pa.,  Sep 11, 2012

I have bought alot of VCR/DVD players because the ones I bought would break after only 6 months to a year. I picked a brand that was not an expensive one, or one worthy of it's brandname until now. Thanx Toshiba! This has lasted the longest and is reliable. Love the way it works and all the features that make it fun to program. Kudos on a product of sheer pleasurable experience. I will recommend this to my friends.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ahhhhh!
 from New York, NY,  May 13, 2013

I can finally watch home movies and the stuff still on VHS thank you.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It works, and for a great price
 from Michigan,  Dec 20, 2012

It is getting harder to find a VCR/DVD combination, but this one works for me. A very good price and a very good product so far.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matches
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to work perfectly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cracker Jacks?
 from Clearwater, FL,  Apr 3, 2012

I cannot speak to the operational qualities of this player, as the quality of its construction was SO poor, that I immediately returned it. Those of you old enough to remember Cracker Jacks will get the reference--it had all the spit and polish of the plastic prizes that used to be in those packages. This just felt like a toy, not a pice of machinery that would last. My first VCR player was built like a tank, and lasted over 15 years. This one looks like it might last 15 months, at that. I advise going to a physical store and carefully examining the actual electronics product you are considering before buying. Summarizing--the problem wasn't with Overstock, it was with Toshiba. That said, Toshiba makes a superb PC laptop!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looked the same.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Questionable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Unit arrived on time and free from any defects. I usually don't buy these types of things online, I like to see them in person first, but the price was good and I had sone some research so I felt good about the purchase. The unit was very easy to set up with other components and the onscreen set up was very clear. I would recommend reading the manual before you begin however. There are some parts that, if you don't know about them beforehand, they can be somewhat tricky. Unit plays well and the clarity of playback is good also. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased
 from Colorado,  Mar 25, 2011

I was looking for a basic, simple to use DVD-VCR combo and so far have been very impressed with this unit from Toshiba. The only snag was I needed seperate cables for the DVD side and the VCR side (4 cables in all- two for video, and two for audio) Playback and picture have met my expectations and have enjoyed the performance and quality. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SIMPLE BUT GOOD
 from Washington, DC,  Jan 30, 2011

if all you need is a DCVD/VCR player and don't want to record, this Toshiba is inexpensive and entirely adequate.,

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plays some dvds but malfunctions on others
 from Novato ,CA,  Jul 4, 2013

I don't know why, but the dvd player stopped functioning when I put my own recorded dvds in the machine. It played them just fine for a couple of months, then began sending me error messages. I don't know what the problem is, but I'm just going to stay away from Toshiba products in the future.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? unknown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seemed fine at first, but.......
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
defective
 from Naples,Fl,  Apr 5, 2013

this product worked fine for 2 months then it kept ejecting a tape when watching thought it might be a safety hazard to contacted overstock and returned it with no problem and got a refund.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no, it was a problem
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wasn't good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba SDV296 DVD/VCR
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 19, 2012

I am very pleased with this product and highly recommend it to those looking for good engineering.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The fuction is easy and the quality of sound and picture is high.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toshiba combo player
 from Parks, La,  Jul 28, 2012

Works well, a bit difficult to get the timer going, but not a real issue.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top