Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A nice lens
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 15, 2010

Works great with my D40.. manual focus (set and forget), manual aperture (twist the ring), manual exposure (use the histogram). Mine came free with finger smudges on the front element, but they came off with careful cleaning. Low distortion even in the corners. Overall an excellent piece of glass. Body mount fits a little tight, and the focus scale is off. But neither is a big deal. The odd thing part about using this lens in portrait orientation is how easy it is to get your feet and the ceiling in your photo at the same time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow! What a lens!
 from San francisco,  Sep 10, 2011

I use this with my Nikon D7000. Matrix Metering and Aparture Priority are available. The best *** toy a photographer can have! Rokinon 8mm f/3.5. Manual focus is not a problem---just set it to 1.5 feet at f/8 or f/11 and let the DOF do the focusing for you. This is a great lens, I am very happy with it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well built, fine optics.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

A really good lens just no autofocus function which detracts a bit. Also it's not a very fast lens so you will need to use it in bright light.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wrong lens
 from Orange County, Ca,  Sep 14, 2011

I ordered a 8mm Rokinon Fisheye lens, and what I received was a 8mm Bell & Howell Fisheye lens.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Wrong lens
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fisheye
 from new york, ny,  Nov 13, 2010

Great Lens and Good Price. Focusing is a little tricky at night in low light settings. Wanted to get this lens before I dropped the money on the nikon Fishey.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rokinon 8mm Fisheye
 from Arizona,  Aug 25, 2010

This is a great lens. I have noticed some people say "It is a great lens for the money." I just think it is a great lens. The resolution is excellent, the build is more than satisfactory. I find very little problem with chroma. There are a few things I would like to see-provision for a filter and the ability to use FX. Other than those two items, the lens is fantastic. I think Bjorn might enjoy it immensely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from CA,  Jun 14, 2010

This lens is wonderful lens and for less $300 you can touch this! It is sharp, contrasty and easy to set the focus manually by estimating the distance and setting the distance on the focusing ring. My only reservation was that the focusing scale was off. My lens focuses best in the middle of the "8mm" written on the lens. Looking up other people's reviews this is a common yet minor problem. I would have given this lens 5-stars if the focusing scale was correct. The focusing scale can be readjusted if your lens is off. See the following link for more information: http://

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasantly surprised
 from Boston, MA,  Apr 10, 2010

After doing a little research on some photography forums I decided to take a chance on an 'off brand' lens. The lens is well made and comes with end caps and pouch (which wasn't noted in the description). Filters are not an option but that can be dealt with in post processing. The lens meters on my D200 and D300 but not on my D100 or D70. Focus is manual on all bodies but this is really not a problem as you can set the hyper-focal distance and forget about it. On a crop body you get very close to 180 degrees of view. This is a fun lens to play with- not for every composition but then again, for the right scene it adds a considerable amount of interest. I have not tried any other fish eyes but for the money I don't think you can go wrong with this lens.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT DEAL!!!
 from Pocono's Pa,  Mar 25, 2010

I bought this lens for my Nikon 300s, i wanted a fisheye lens but i could not dump another xxx for the Nikon version since i just spent $4000 on my Camera Package. I was not too fast too jump on this lens with out some research, i decided for the price and reviews take a chance, 1st day i took it out and took some great shots with this lens, it feels solid, fit perfect on the 300s, operational was all there, No Complaints at all.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great cheap manual focus fisheye
 from walnut,ca,  Feb 17, 2010

This thing is just stellar for distortion, less than most fisheyes and basically gives me 180 degree view on DX nikon format. It's cheap, manual focus (dont need focus too much cuz there's so much depth of field), but minus one star cuz it doesnt meter on anything below a d200. Well i knew this when buying, but having metering would help so much more. overall an excellent product to play around with fisheye

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice lens
 from reno,nv,  Jan 6, 2010

although i'm not a pro -i see well enough--this lens produces excellent,clear& comprehensive pictures--it does what it's supposed to at a reasonable price-i'm not a lens snob so i don't get to whine about the cost of getting good pictures-- the brain does this-not the lens--good value

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Camera lense!!!!!
 from Boxford, MA,  Dec 26, 2009

Here is an awesome camera lense that is very good for the amount of money that you spent. The typical lense goes for 900+ from other brands. It does have some draw backs though, you do have to manually set the apeture and shutter speed so you have to know how to us a camera. Overall a great lense though.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Man's Fisheye Lens
 from Washington State,  Dec 15, 2009

The price was right, and the image quality is good. The manual operation takes some getting used to, but my Nikon D200 and D2H both offer exposure metering with this lens while in the Manual mode. (My D100 does not.) With a little practice, I was able to get properly exposed images every time. It does not auto-focus, of course, but that hardly makes any difference. The depth of field is so great that you almost don't have to worry about focusing at all. For those who can't afford or justify Nikon's 10.5 mm lens (and I fall into that category), this is a good alternative.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fisheye
 from Atlanta,  Nov 25, 2009

A great low cost alternative to a Nikon fisheye. You need to know how to use manual mode and read a histogram to assure proper exposure. The quality of the glass seems great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top