Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bang for your Buck
 from Washington, DC,  May 27, 2010

Great glass, great lens, really nice bang for your buck. If you buy Canon's fish eye and you have a 1.6x crop sensor, you're not going to get much of a fisheye effect. This one on the other hand, is beautiful! It's full manual, and doesn't 'talk' to your camera....so don't get this unless you know how to use your camera or are willing to move off the 'auto' setting tomorrow.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super wide angle lens
 from Chino, CA,  Dec 15, 2011

At anywhere near this price there isn't any other lens that can do what this lens does. Keep in mind that this is a full manual lens and all settings must be made by you. A manual lens isn't that hard to use, especially a fish eye lens, because the focus isn't critical. Just set your camera to aperture preferred, compose your shot, set the focus(use the distance scale as there is no viable difference in the viewfinder while focusing), then stop down to the f stop you want to use(this lens is sharpest around f8) and take a great picture. On my wife's Canon T2i this method works perfectly and the pictures are beautiful. We looked at several other more expensive lenses but knowing how seldom a fish eye lens is used we couldn't justify the cost. There are situations or times when the perspective distortion of a fish eye lens is great, so we really wanted one. After reading other reviews on this lens we decided to give it a try. We have not been disappointed at all. If you have $$$$ plus for a fish eye lens you can buy a full automatic lens from several manufacturers, but a fish eye is most likely used in less than 1 out of a 100 pictures, so having a manual lens isn't really that much trouble. Overall, it's pretty obvious I highly recommend this lens.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? matches what is shown
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Works as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The lens looks like it is well made and works well
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome for the price
 from Rio Rancho, NM,  Aug 6, 2011

Great lens for the price. It is not a sigma, but takes the same pictures. This was a purchase for my T1 Rebel. No issues reported.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? image was as presented in the box
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is not a sigma, but for the price, really a good buy for my T1.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Addition!
 from Sidney, MT,  Nov 28, 2011

Lense was exactly as discribed and worked perfectly with my camera. Very happy!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and takes great pictures!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome lens
 from Dallas TX,  Nov 30, 2010

This is a very nice lens for the price. There is a learning curve that comes with using this lens. I was able to get a nice pictures on our Disney trip with it only after a few days snapping pics with it around the house to work our the kinks. It does not have auto focus so you have to do it urself. There is not a zoom lens so you have to be close to what you want to capture in your picture. All in all an excellent lens that will give you some cool pics!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rokinon
 from Balt, MD,  Nov 24, 2010

This is a very good lens for the price. It interfaced very well to my Rebel EOS Camera. Buy it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wrong lens
 from California,  Oct 6, 2010

Specs listed above for Canon EOS. I have five Canon cameras...all EOS, and it fit zero of them. Definitely not for a Canon mount. Was definitely a returned item previously since someone had put Scotch tape all over it to hold box closed. Packaging had no packing material...could have easily been broken in transit as well. Will be returning item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Luv-It
 from IOWA,  Jul 31, 2010

A good purchase! Easy to use and the photos I have taken have been great! This is a fun lens!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from New York, NY,  Jun 26, 2010

The lens if phenomenal, especially taking account its price. It's absolutely not a problem that it doesn't have auto focus. I'm not a professional photographer, but the expression that this lens allows me is great! Overstock's service is great! I made a mistake and ordered lens for a wrong camera, and this was replaced with just cost of shipping back.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 from Arvada, CO,  Apr 11, 2010

Great product for the money, pictures come out awesome! A fun affordable lense for every photographer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice fisheye for the price
 from Green Bay, Wisconsin,  Feb 27, 2010

This lens is of decent build and quality. For my 7D crop sensor camera the widest viewing angle (diagonal) is 167 degrees, which means that for full panoramas I have to shoot more frames. I did shoot photos with this lens and also Sigma 8mm. With cost of only 27% of Sigma it is delivering good quality images. The only thing is the lack of AF (not a big deal for a fish eye lens). As far as my experience with Overstock goes, it went very smooth, very reasonable price, prompt delivery.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fisheye
 from Sparks, NV,  Jan 4, 2010

I got htis for my husband & he loves it. it is easy to operates & has clear viewing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for price
 Dec 28, 2009

Fish eye lenses can be extremely expensive and this one fits right in any budget. It's by far my favorite lens for close ups or parties. People love that you can be so physically close but still get so much in the picture. I would easily purchase again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was pleasantly surprised by the build quality. Aperture is not automatic, and the aperture ring is a little too loose. Forget about focusing through the viewfinder; finder image is too small. It's not too big a deal considering the extremely short focal length. I've had success setting to f/8 then approximating distance using the focus scale. In all, it's a good way to try out a fisheye lens for less than $300.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fisheye
 from Metro NY,  Dec 17, 2009

As seldom as a fisheye is called for, I didn't have the $ to justify a brand name lens.It is a manual focus, manual aperture lens, so you have to fiddle with the exposure before shooting critically.The lens does not project a circular image on the sensor. It fills up the frame with image which is usably sharp to the edges. (Doesn't project a circle on a non-C camera, either).Focus is a matter of guessing the distance to the subject and setting it on the lens barrel. With such a deep depth of field, if you stop down to f8, almost everything is in focus anyway.Heavy, solid feel lens. Acceptable results. Because of the comparitvly low cost, I am a bit more daring with this lens - get right up in someones face, where distortion is unique.Since the projected beam from a single flash doesn't come close to covering what the lens sees, multiple flashes, bounced, preferred to approximate even lighting. Just a warning.If someone else is buying, get the Name brand lens. If you're buying and only shoot occasionally with this lens, it is a bargain. And you should only shoot occasionally with a fisheye anyway.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top