Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great "no frills" lens for the money
 from Warner Robins, GA,  Jun 20, 2012

Outstanding lens for the money. Let me clarify, this is an outstanding lens if you know how to use it. Everything is manual and you need to take some time to learn to use it properly. First, it is a very slow lens (F/16 at 1300mm or F/32 with the teleconverter. Given that Canon's equivalent focal length all automatic F/5.4 lens is custom built for $99,000, this lens is a steal. But you do need lots of light and/or a sturdy tripod. Biggest drawback (besides the aperture limitations) is that the lens tube is somewhat flimsy at the longer zooms. I felt it could be a bit sturdier and this is why I give it a 4. There is also a bit of chromatic abberation at long zooms in bright sunlight. Still I was able to see and photograph Saturn's rings at 2600mm ( I wish I could post the photo here). Moon photos are amazing and, with a solar filter, you can see and photograph sun spots. I am extremely happy with this lens.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality - manual zoom push/pull tube could be sturdier
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rokinon for canon 650-2600
 from Roy, UT,  Oct 27, 2009

I'm giving this three stars, for the money, it is worth it. Afterall, if you purchase a name brand lens, they are far more expensive. I don't care for the paper that calls itself a manual. It takes some time to figure out how to properly use the lens and I could not find much support on the internet. I would recommend it to someone that knows a bit about photography, but with practice this lens takes great pictures. You will need a heavy duty tripod to support the lens, all low light photography will require one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works great
 Jul 2, 2009

this lens is just what my husband wanted and for the price we are so happy this lens was a fathers day gift, the only issue that we have is that it is really heavy but with a tripod it will allows us to be in the stands of our sons football games and still be right in the action.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Canon Telephoto Zoom Lens
 from Marks, MS,  Dec 1, 2010

This lens is awesome, me being a photographer I value a good lens and i love that I get a professional lens for a moderate price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Focus
 from Utah,  Jul 20, 2010

I wasn't able to get a clear focus @ 2600 mm even with a large tripod - but maybe it's just my skills.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Richwood, ohio,  Aug 14, 2009

Took some pictures of the Moon the other night and was able to get a real close up view. I couldn't fit the whole moon in the lens at 2600 mm. Quality of the picture was just outstanding. Would recommend this lens to anyone looking for a cheap but hig quality lens.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good long range lense
 from Massachusetts,  May 19, 2012

this is a good product but must be used on a tripod with a remote control. If you touch any part of it while taking a picture it will blur. but as long as you stay clear while taking the picture it takes very clear and precises pictures. due to its accuracy it is very vulnerable to the touch or any movement.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well made
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
vary bad optics
 from Minneapolis, MN.,  May 9, 2013

This lens is made of inferior materials. The outer body tube is thin, and the push-pull zoom tube is not heavy enough to hold a full size camera. My Canon 5D3 actually hangs off centerline when the lens is supported by its tripod mount. As far as optically, the f8-16 anf f16-32 aperture combined with the low quality optics creates a horrible chromatic abbheration across the entire picture surface. The entire photo has a grey foggy appearance. over 50 pictures taken at a variety of different settings all resulted in the same fog. I also had a problem with vibration. the lens is so sensitive that I could actually see my building vibrating when I pulled it all the way out to 2600mm. So yeah, no, this lens is extremely poor quality and I have already returned it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? image matches fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? appears to be free of "defects", but made of very low quality materials
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for money
 from Auckland, New Zealand,  Sep 14, 2011

The lens is cheap and that is what you get. It is however value for money - you get a massive zoom lens for a very affordable price. The bottom line is that it is not a Canon quality lens but you don't pay the price of a Canon quality lens. Overall I am very happy with the product, it does what I expected for the price I paid.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was completely accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? It was exactly as I expected it to be
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is exactly what you would expect for a lens that size and that price
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent for what you pay for.
 from Detroit, MI,  Apr 5, 2011

For the price I paid, I enjoy it very much. It's so heavy that I need two tripods to keep it steady to get a clear picture, one on the lense and one to rest my camera on. I love that I can zoom in very close to something, I've taken some awesome full moon shots with it.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? The quality is good, but the aperture's are build right in the lense so my camera doesn't pick it up and you have to play around until you get the right shutter speed for a correct looking exposure.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tubed Eye
 from New York, NY,  Jan 20, 2011

Got my money's worth. I mainly want to use this lens for moon photos and very distant viewing and picture taking. I used it a few times. It does take a little getting used to but eventually will get accustom to it as with anything else. Photos are excellent. This lens is worth the money spent. It's not auto focus but that just adds more fun to my hobby. Delivery was fast!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
junk?
 from mi,  Nov 7, 2009

I purchased this item and upon using it for the first time I was extremely disapointed. It was user friendly and easy to understand as there are only three pieces. However after uploading my photos they were either non viewable or so light that we were unable to make out the picture at all. Very strange since it was a shot taken at dusk. It's possible that this lens in particular is defective, I will find out after they exchange it for me and if that's the case i will update this review. The view through the lens was fine and they would have been fabulous photos if they had turned out. I tried two other lens' just to make sure it wasn't my camera and it wasn't. They both worked perfect. I hope this was just a fluke because I really like this lens and think it was a good price to pay for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Good value for the price paid. Does what I need for it to do.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth at any price
 from Arizona,  Aug 13, 2014

Most of my problem with it has to do with the quality of construction. It is extremely hard to aim and focus. Even with a sturdy tripod it is supper difficult to aim. The lens itself flexes when extended so when you sight in your subject and let go of the camera the subject is no longer in view. also the slide (zoom) is very rough and does not adjust very smooth, again making it hard to dial in on what you are looking at. I found it so difficult to use that I sent it back, and that was just trying it out on a stationary ( a mountain top) object, let alone something (wildlife) that may move even so slightly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Camera lens
 from Frankfort IN,  Jul 16, 2013

My husband has wanted a lens like this but in the stores it cost way to much I was able to get it as a Christmas gift for him he uses it a lot and enjoys it

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rokinon 650-2600
 from Los Angeles, California,  Nov 12, 2009

Item is working great, but it need time to manual due to no autoforcus.Shipping was great, on-time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
James
 from NM,  Aug 9, 2009

Great product, and a great value, and I would recommend this product to a friend..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not very Happy
 from Vadodara,India,  Dec 27, 2012

The lens could not do what it said it would do. While the optics may be okay, the whole contraption is bulky...... manual focus is difficult. The photograph of the moon which is shown in most of the manufacturer's reviews is possible in view of the fact that the moon does not move. The claims that the lens can be used for wildlife photography is pure bullshit. You do not expect an animal or the bird to remain steady while you are working our your manual focus.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? okay
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? not really
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Okay....................so so
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to get it to focus
 from Texas,  Apr 17, 2012

It took forever to get the subject focused and then the pictures weren't very clear. Very disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
all in order
 from Toronto,  Mar 16, 2011

Hello I got the lens in one piece, all part in order and it took about 12 days to receive, just as they promise. Thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought