Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good fun!
 from UK,  Jun 5, 2010

The review above which is more down to poor purchasing rather than a fair comment of the lens itself. Yes like all catadioptic (mirror lenses) this is manual focus, the way all lenses were not too long ago! These days a professional photographer probably wouldn't be seen dead with such a lens, but for the amateur or experimenter this is a relative cheap fixed 500mm focal length and fixed 6.3 aperture. I've had fun with mine and managed to capture reasonable wildlife shots with it hand held! Yes it needs good light to work, yes it is manual focus and subject to your camera, other auto functions may not work. It is not heavy or cumbersome but you will need to use a high shutter speed and/or a mono/tripod. You will have to spend considerably more to get an equivalent glass telephoto. Good fun for a reasonable price. Worth a punt? Why not!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rokinon 500mm Mirror Lens - Worth Buying
 from Kerala, India,  Oct 16, 2013

First of all I would like to thank overstock.com for their excellent service, I was very apprehensive about buying from a site, which was not in India. Now about the lens. The Rokinon 500 mm f/6.3 is a manual lens, which has a fixed aperture of 6.3 and a fixed zoom of 500 mm, the only feature available in the lens is focusing. I have been field testing the lens and have got some amazing shots with it. Increase the shutter speed and and you get some amazing shots in daylight, Increase or Decrease the shutter speed, ISO, as per the light available and you will be surprised at the results. The donut bokeh issue is there in some images, but with practice one can get over that issue as well. This lens is for people who are used to manual photography and have the patience for that, this lens is not for people who are used to point and shoot cameras, or who use the auto mode in their dslr's.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best deal for this product
 from Orange County, CA,  Dec 8, 2011

This is the best price you can find anywhere on the Internet or stores. It also includes the t-mount for Nikon, which usually costs $$ elsewhere. I am using this with my D200 and results look good enough for this price. Don't buy the 500mm f/8 lens. Its image quality is not as good as this one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value, definitely worth it.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 6, 2011

Lens is an excellent value. If you know how to work around the weaknesses of mirror lenses, you can get excellent results from it. This lense is great for shooting long range in decent light. The lens is fairly lightweight, and the fous ring is large and very smooth. This is a manual focus only lens, but I have had no trouble getting it into focus. I can shoot without a tripod, and get clear shots.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Product was just like in the photo.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid build quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great lens for the money
 from Iowa,  Jan 1, 2014

Don't believe all the negative comments on a mirror lens. This lens performs great even in handheld conditions with overcast days. Attached to my Nikon D3200 gives me the reach I needed. If all you want is point and shoot auto focus this is not the lens for you. However if you know how to control your camera's manual settings this is a nice lens for the money.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You need to be a professional to use this.
 from Pinehurst, NC,  Jun 28, 2012

I am still trying to adapt the lens with my camera usage. It requires manual settings and I am still trying to l;use it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Lens and Service
 from Southern Alberta, Canada,  Apr 15, 2011

Very impressed with the lens, the service and the speed of delivery. Even more impressed with the fact that I ordered an F8 and received a better F6.3, wonderful. Will definitely use this company again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it's a ok product.
 from Clinton, Maryland,  Aug 2, 2011

I have not had time to really get into the product yet.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very good image.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality was good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dissapointed
 from N.C.,  Jun 3, 2010

I wanted a lens as a beginner photographer with the new dsl cameras that would be able to take great closeups of my kids in action at their different sporting activities. no place did it say that it was a manual focus camera. also had a difficult time getting it attached to my nikon d5000. i am sure that it is a great lens if you are a professional and not taking high action shots, but it wasnt what i wanted or needed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top