Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 171 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love mine!
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 13, 2011

I have read so much more since getting my Nook in July. So many books occupy space and gather dust waiting for trade/share when I'm done with them and this keeps me from drowning in books. I also love Free Fridays and download them each week (even though I haven't read many yet). I love the sample feature and have used it quite a bit. There is also a wishlist. My favorite feature is the ability to read in bed without holding two arms up for the larger books to keep it open and the ability to read and hold the Nook in one hand to change pages while reading. The e-ink is easy on my eyes and needs light just like a regular book does, which is perfect after decades in front of a computer screen causing eye strain. It holds so much, takes so litte space and solves so many issues that were preventing me from reading for pleasure. I'm thrilled with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was hesitant about buying an e-reader because I didn't know if I would like it as much as a "real" book. My mother-in-law requested an ereader for Christmas. She didn't have a specific brand in mind and I knew next to nothing about them at the time so I started researching. Of course, it didn't take long to narrow it down to the Nook and the Kindle. I told my husband that I really didn't think we could go wrong with either one of the two. However, I decided on the Nook because it has several options (lending books to others, a brick and mortar store to go to with questions, the touch screen...)that the Kindle doesn't offer. Of course, all of this got me to wanting an e-reader of my own. After a few weeks, I ordered my own Nook and I could not be happier. The negative reviews on here really amaze me. I have found the device to be very easy to navigate and understand. There is a slight learning curve to with the different controls and which buttons do what but that is to expected. The fact that I can have a new book to read in a matter of seconds and I can store them so easily all in one place is fabulous! My mother-in-law loves hers as well and has not had any problems. We've had to contact customer service only once and the representative was quick and helpful. I use mine every day and I do have to charge the battery every 3 days. So, I charge it! Big deal! Also, as some others have stated, the touch screen can be a bit slow however, I fail to see why either of these is such a problem for some. These are certainly not deal breakers in my book! The web browser is pretty useless. Again, NOT a deal breaker at all! If I want to browse the web, I'll use my laptop! I purchased this device as an e-reader and for that purpose, it is excellent! I am convinced that the Nook is the best e-reader out there. If you want to do other things, then invest in a tablet. If you want and e-reader for reading, buy a Nook!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 10, 2011

I wanted an ereader, and a good one, because high tech is important to me. I looked at all of them, in terms of price, value, screen quality, access to various types of books (especially free ones from libraries), etc, and a refurbished Nook came out the winner. Its screen isn't as contrasty as a Kindle 3's, but then, nothing is. Its Wifi worked just great out of the box, and while the packaging clearly isn't for a new product, the Nook itself is just like new. I recommend that when you get yours, immediately update the software as per B&N directions, because it made the touchscreen way more responsive and the page-turn speed negligible. In fact, you should always keep all of your devices' software up-to-date. It's the nice thing to do. In terms of reading experience, it's just as absorbing as a normal book, and a notch easier to hold. Considering that I had a library book downloaded, opened up, and formatted nicely within 30 minutes of signing for the package, you can call me a satisfied customer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOOK
 from TX,  Dec 27, 2010

Bought this as a Christmas gift and was very impressed with the customer service we received. Continuous emails kept us updated as to when it would be shipped and arrived at our door safely. Daughter loved the NOOK and we'll definitely buy from Overstock again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Nook!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Apr 29, 2011

I am so happy with my refurbished Nook from Overstock. Although the box had a "refurbished" sticker on it (this sticker is required for refurbished products), everything else about the Nook seemed good-as-new. Perfect condition, everything seems to be in tip-top working order. I was wondering if this was going to be an "Overstock-refurbished" (if there is such a thing) product or whether it would be manufacturer-refurbished. Mine shipped directly from Barnes and Noble, meaning that at least some, if not all, of the Nooks on Overstock are manufacturer-refurbished. It arrived within two days of my order and I have been delighted with it ever since. And at about half the price of a new Nook, I couldn't be happier!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Same as new!
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 26, 2011

I purchased this refurbished Nook from Overstock.com about a month ago. I really like it. You cannot tell it is refurbished and it is easy to use. I have never had an e-reader before this and so far I really like it. BN.com gives you a free book download every Friday. I read one of those so far and the book was decent for being free. I am also able to download some books from my local library with the Nook. I feel this was a great deal!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I bought this refurbished Nook because I wasn't sure how much or if I would use an eBook Reader. I love it! I have it over a year and never had a bit of trouble. It still works as if new. I would trust any refurbished product Overstock sells.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Need to check whole screen for defects.
 from Between Orlando & Daytona Beach,  Nov 26, 2012

One of the reasons I selected the Nook over the Kindle, was the fact I could change out the battery and not have to send it out to be serviced.The unit always has a dark screen saver so I was not able to see the defect on the screen. I noticed one day it had a spot on the screen when I had a white screen background. The battery has to be replaced because it only hold a charge for 3 days. Over all I was happy with the unit I have had it over a 1-1/2 years.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was very hard to find the defect on the screen until several month after I received the unit.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I loved this model. When my first one stopped working I bought the simple touch...sorry to say I hated it!! It was smaller and lighter but that was not a benefit. This model allows you to hold with out your fingers resting on the option swipe. I love the fact that you actually have to you the little touch pad at the bottom. On the all tough model it no matter where i rested my had I was accidentally "swiping". The shelve option on this unit was much better too. All in all the Nook WI-FI is by far the best e- reader I have ever used. I am however very disappointed in OVERSTOCK right now. The price on this is so much higher than other internet options.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great image
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? great product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks and works like a new one
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My buddy
 from Florida,  Jul 14, 2012

This product is my new best friend. I read most of my books on it and I belong to four book clubs including one at Barnes and Noble. Definitely recommend - in fact, I purchased another one for my hubby. Better than the Kindle in my book!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A plus
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook
 from Upstate, NY,  Jun 12, 2012

Have had this product 2 years now. It was in new condition when I received it. It has worked perfectly since I received it. I called Barnes and Noble for help on two occasions. I thought they may not help because it was reconditioned and not purchased through them but they were very helpful it made no difference. I think that is good to know for someone thinking of purchasing this. It is a excellent product and has performed well.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still going strong
 from NY metro,  Jun 5, 2012

My first ebook reader. Happy with the product but now realize a backlit model would be better since I like reading in bed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? seems to be
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. just fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
first nook
 from killeen Tx,  May 4, 2012

bought this Nook over a year ago and loved it so much I upgraded to the Nook Tablet I gave this Nook to my granddaughter and downloaded a lot of childrens books for her we both loved it

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wonderfu;
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook wi fi
 from Ozark, Alabama,  Apr 16, 2012

I loved this reader. Others have said they liked their Kindle, but after purchasing a kindle for my father, I wish I had bought him the Nook. It is much more user friendly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook
 from queens,  Mar 28, 2012

Nice and easy to use. I purchased this as a refurbished product and do not regret it. Excellent

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished Good As New
 from Seattle, WA,  Mar 19, 2012

I bought this for my wife as a gift after she told me exactly what she wanted. I saved a little money during a tight money time and tried something new by using Overstock and Refurbished. I could not be happier and she loves her Nook. I don't know that she would have even known it was refurbished other than the tape/stickers that said refurbished, the packaging and quality were so like new. She has been using it heavily for more than 6 months now, including on a couple of long flights as well as at home, so I am pretty confident we are not going to have one of those failures after you write a good review then regret it. On average I'd say she uses it 10 hours a week or more, more than an hour a day, without a single problem. I am very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE the NOOK!
 from New Jersey,  Mar 13, 2012

Love the Nook, and especially loved getting a NOOK that was exactly like new for such a great price! I use it all the time....much more convenient for reading. The size is perfect to throw in my bag & if I am waiting, I make great use of the time by reading wherever I am. I have the Bible downloaded on it, and use it when reading scripture along in church. Easy to take anywhere!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, was exactly like new
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my nook
 from Queens, New York,  Mar 5, 2012

Love my nook, my husband hates it. I am a voracious reader and my nook fits my lifestyle perfectly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
short life
 from GA,  Feb 28, 2012

We got this for my daughter as a gift. It worked great...for awhile. It;'s less than a year old and the screen is now scrambled and it is near impossible to use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great - for awhile
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it.
 from Youngstown, OH,  Feb 6, 2012

The product was everything it said and more, everything worked just fine until I charged it overnight and it broke. I've charged it prior to that night, so I guess I just got a defective product. Other than that the Nook was great.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the actual product looked better
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great, until it broke
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 171 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought