Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Get It Now!
 from Baltimore Maryland,  Sep 23, 2009

I purchase two of these DVD recorder mainly due too I didn't want a combo (DVD/VHS) unit. This unit's tuner in this model is stronger then the turner in the combo unit made also by Magnavox at least to my liking. The unit is easy to operate, program etc., etc. I would kindly recommend for any one looking for one at lease try the Magnavox first. Also only use use the manual clock setting and not the day light savings or auto clock setting. Call the time on your home phone and set it for exactly for example (5:59 and 50 seconds). I would like too note in doing such you won't mess a show from the beginning to the end. FYI , Magnavox will no longer be making DVD recorders (single or combo) units with digital tuners. After speaking with a rep., who called me back after 24 hours of leaving a message to question a few things I was informed. I did state for the record that Magnavox is making a terrible mistake in not making them with the built in digital tuners. The rep., informed me that the company did research thinking folks will either go with satellite. cable, or some other direct feed source to receive digital into their homes. I stated that some folks can't afford such and at least if you have a DVD recorder or combo unit with a digital tuner you can still watch TV even if you may not want those cable services, satellite, etc., et.c,.I would like to note if your TV doesn't have a digital tuner built in and you wish to record from your DVD/combo unit you can except you can't watch a different channel. Reason being that if your TV is analog meaning it doesn't have a digital tuner you can't go to another source. I have not trashed any of my analog TV's I just have all of them hooked up with DVD recorders with built in digital tuners too them all. I do have one flat screen TV with a Digital tuner and that's it. There are other makers who do make DVD recorders with digital tuners but they all are combo units or the tuners aren't as strong.Make sure you have a good rabbit ears ant., or one of those digital ant..Please note if your trying to recorder a show at 8pm to 9pm on one channel and wish to record another show at 9pm to 10pm on another channel you my or will run into a problem being that for each time set recordering that after each is completed it must finalize that show before taking on the next program time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from West Chester, PA,  Oct 17, 2009

I like everything about these units except for the fact that they seem to lose the memory of the digital channels when you switch the power off, or change to the analog tuner . However, if you just leave the power on it retains the digital channel memory. It is a great alternative to the cable companies boxes which won't let you receive HD channels without a subscription. I don't think you an beat the price right now for a unit that has the digital tuner. We'll be buying another one for a third TV.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from NoVa,  Oct 9, 2009

I wish it had more I/O but overall it was a good deal - particularly at this price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exellent Recorder
 from Deltona, FL,  Sep 23, 2009

This recorder works well. The main reason I purchased it is because it has a built in turner. It also has all the other features I need. (eight program timer , uses all DVD discs, etc.). I could not find a new recorder that had a built in turner. None of them could record from cable TV.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Equipment
 from New Mexico,  Sep 2, 2009

I now own two of these recorder/players and am very satisfied with the performance and value of them. Programing is very simple, as is hookup and use. They are lightweight and have good sound and picture quality. I would recommend this unit to anyone who is trying to keep it simple yet get good quality recordings and sound.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnavox DVD Recorder ZC352MW8
 from Aiken, South Carolina,  Feb 19, 2009

This is my 2nd one from Overstock. It works just like a VCR but is going to be a little slower because the unit must prepair the DVD for recording. I use free air (antenna broadcast) to record my programs so I had been looking for a recorder with digital tuner. The clock on both loose time so they have to be reset every so often. Follow the manual as to what brand of DVD's work best (I use Sony DVD+RW).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hunk of Junk
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 30, 2008

I bought 2 of these for Christmas. The one I kept does NOT work outside of powering on. There is no set up menu and when I put a DVD in the unit I can hear it repeatedly stopping and starting trying to read the DVD. There is no picture ob the TV so I have no visual and it was hooked up EXACTLY like the other DVD player I had on the TV that works just fine.I'm not sure if I want to send this back to Overstock.com and be hit with the 10% restocking fee or if I want to send it to Magnavox directly for a replacement. This was a very disappointing transaction. I guess I had better check with the person who got the other one to see if the one I gave them for Christmas is working or if they got a dud too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still love it
 from Pass Christian, Ms.,  Feb 23, 2011

Ive had this almost two years now. Bought the 2 year warranty also since it was refurbished an I wasnt sure of the quality of the item. I have used it almost daily since Ive bought it. I have recorded hundreds of hours of programming. Easy to set up. Never knew it had a digital tuner in it when I bought it, guess if I ever dont have cable, it will be very useful then heh. Anyways, sad thing is, last month the remote stopped working on some buttons, now its completely useless. Not the batteries, but this isnt a complaint. The machine still works great. Since I have the warranty, called to see about gettting the remote fixed or replaced. Can't. They are going to replace the whole unit like new again. So having the warranty helped in that regards. Only thing is during all the shipping back an forth I wont be able to record anything, l'll have to watch my tv in realtime heh. Im also getting the 2 year warranty with new unit. They will also pay for shipping. I recieved the shipping label in the mail from them. All I have to do is box it up good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great combo
 from Boise Idaho,  Dec 15, 2010

We got this to replace our cheap converter box that stopped working. We were very pleased with the picture quality this tuner gave us and having a dvd recorder attached is a huge bonus. Pros: -easy set up -picture quality is sharp (much better than our previous digital tuner) -the tuner picks up weak signals and holds onto them better than our old tuner -very affordable for everything it delivers Cons: -the dvd drive is a bit noisy. If the sound on the movie is low our player can be heard whirring -the tuner is slow when changing channels

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from So. Calif.,  Sep 23, 2010

Prior to buying this Magnavox, I was using a Panasonic and was frustrated with the lack of a Pan & Scan option for picture display. I still have an old fashioned "square" television set, and the playback from the Panasonic had a black border all around the square picture, reducing the viewable picture on my 35" TV down to roughly that of a 27" or smaller. The new Magnavox (actually refurbished) is great. It seems to do everything the Panasonic does (in slightly different ways). The remore control is a bit smaller than I would like but it has all the necessary controls. The price was a real bargain, and the set definitely performs as well as my much more expensive Panasonic. In my particular case, getting the Pan & Scan feature was worth the price of the set. ALSO, the Magnavox has the built in tuner which many of the new sets lack. I definitely recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dvd recorder/player
 from Stuart, FL,  May 11, 2010

I had the very expensive Panasonic recorder. Had to bribe the cable man to install it because it was so difficult. This Magnavox recorder was simple to install ( I am not an electronics person) and I have already recorded more than a dozen movies. There was a problem playing other recorded discs from the Panasonic on the new Magnavox, but overall this was a great find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner
 from Ohio,  Apr 3, 2010

Good product and easy to run. Records ALL channels. Very clear pictures and great sound.The only down side to this product is it takes it so long to load, but if you can be patient its worth it. I tried a phillips DVD recorder, but it would not let me record HBO, Starz or FX, (some type of block from DirecTv I guess.) If you weren't lucky enough to get the goverment rebate on a digital converter this is a good way to remedy it and have the added plus of recording.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD Recorder
 from Tennessee,  Jan 9, 2010

This is the best thing I have ever bought over the net I would buy this dvd recorder again it's simple and easy to operate has a great picture and sound. and the price was great I really got a good deal and a great DVD Recorder.And the hook up to our tv was simple and easy I have recordered all my Christmas shows and it was delivered in no time at all. Thank You Overstock.com I'll be back to shop more.Janicep.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best value out there
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jan 2, 2010

Had read reviews about difficulty programming. I had no trouble at all. Set up took less than 1/2 hour; most of that was auto channel settup. Found progamming for weekly recording of my favorite programs easy. I was replacing a Magnavox VCR, so commands very similar. Have been recording in the mid speed/guality range - is as good or better than VCR. You can't beat the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Cleveland, OH,  Dec 17, 2009

This is so much easier than the last one I owned. This unit does the uploading on its own. Quality is good. Price was great. Everything is working wonderfully after 3 weeks of use. Very impressed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
did not record
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Nov 23, 2009

I bought this as a backup, due to a wonderful price. I hooked it up and loved the picture and sound, but it would not record. I bought Sony DVD's recommended in the booklet. The first disc did not record and gave me an E40 error, which means the disc was bad, so I tried another, still no good. Tried the "record" button and it was fine. Tried to timer record again and nothing. After reading all of the reviews, it sounds like a good product. I must have gotten a bad apple in the batch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnavox DVD recorder
 Nov 2, 2009

I love this recorder. It is apparently one of the only ones on the market (maybe the only one) which has a built-in tuner. It was pretty easy to set up, and the recording quality is excellent. The price was great, too (less than $100).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD DEAL
 from CUDAHY, WISCONSIN,  Oct 28, 2009

I have only used this recorder to do basic television recording functions. It does seem that the Manual makes simple operations seem complicated. But, with some perserverance it is workable. this is definitely a good quality recorder for the money. I would recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Needs HDMI Hook-up
 from Detroit, MI,  Oct 2, 2009

I loved everything about this device except the fact that there is no HDMI attachment. Other than that it was great. I found it very easy to hook-up and going thru the menu's was a piece of cake.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great deal
 from Trappe,MD,  Sep 20, 2009

This is a great DVD recorder. The recordings look beautiful. It has a great picture. You can't tell it is a recording the quality looks so great. The manual is too big and kind of complicated but I can deal with that. I may have to contact customer service for help with a few things but so far I love this product. This was my first purchase from Overstock. I will definitely shop here again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Night Owl PE-DVR4 Digital Video Recorder
Today $116.99
Compare $151.08
Save 23%
Night Owl PE-DVR8 Digital Video Recorder
Today $148.99
Compare $278.47
Save 46%
Toshiba DVR620 DVD/VCR Combo
Today $189.99
Compare $245.47
Save 23%
(20)
Toshiba SDV296 DVD/ VCR Combo Player
Today $99.99
Compare $154.91
Save 35%
(62)
Back to top