Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not cheap...inexpensive!
 from WV,  May 28, 2010

As a lone IT technician supporting 50+ users, my time is precious. I needed to replace an internal HD on an early Intel iMac. Replacing that particular HD takes nerves of steel and more than a few minutes. This little gem was the answer. In 2 minutes, the internal replacement HD was converted to an external, slapped a piece of Velcro on the case and the back of the Mac, plugged it in, booted up the Mac, re-installed the OS and I was off and running. I'm ordering a couple more to carry updates on from workstation to workstation.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, Great price, fast delivery!
 from Hamton Roads, VA,  Apr 12, 2014

Needed this item to try to salvage my HD from a damaged laptop. Since it was questionable whether or not the HD would be functional I didn't want to spend too much money on a HD encloser. This item fit the bill! Shipped quicky from California to Virginia. Item worked perfectly, very easy set up, basically plug and play.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black Sata Enclosure
 from ton, MiCan,  Oct 29, 2013

After figuring out how to open the enclosure, it was easy to mount the drive and when I plugged it into the computer it worked fine. The screw drive was an nice touch. The price was right, I Would recommend to any one that needs one. would have given 5 stars if direction to open would have been better. Could use some better instructions on how to open it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap and flimsy
 from Northern California,  Oct 27, 2012

It is a cheap case for creating an external storage unit with small hard drives. One has to be careful not to bend it because the aluminum is so thin. I bought it to save a few dollars over a good quality case from a company I have dealt with in the past. The savings was not worth it. I will now buy the good-quality one from someone I trust.. I won't risk putting a good drive in this product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job
 from Winston Salem, NC,  Jun 28, 2011

Poor choice of material used for the mounting plate in the middle but still intact enough to hold the drive and shell securely in place. Used to hold the original drive from my PS3 so computers cant really access the drive but it does recognize as a drive that needs to be formatted. So in all it works for what I need it for. Not sure I would trust it for valuable data that was going to be used for more than just on the shelf storage. So I won't be dragging this around town or anything. For what I paid for the product it is what I expected and does the job. Would I buy another one? Yes, if it was for shelf storage. But look elsewhere for something more durable for travel.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? No - wrong color says black but only had silver option.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No - mounting plate had a crack in the middle.
  • How is the quality of the product? Quality was in line with the cost of the unit.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 Jan 25, 2011

Just what I was looking for. Works great. Lets me get to my data on the hard drive from my unfixable laptop.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bought 6
 from Oklahoma,  Jan 8, 2011

I had ordered 3 Black ones and all worked with 120, 250, and a 320gig SATA drives. I then came back and ordered 3 Silver enclosures and they worked great. These are nice inexpensive way to save SATA drives from busted, dead laptops. I have ordered many different versions of external enclosures for my customers but this has proved to be the most cost effective method of keeping my clients data files intact for them. Don't hesitate to order some of these. Great product. Thanks Overstock.com we need you keep up the good work

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard Drive Enclosure
 Dec 21, 2010

Product was received as advertised, and worked as advertised. Very pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It works!
 from Lakewood, CO,  Nov 18, 2010

I bought this to test out the hard disk from my in-law's laptop. It sure came in handy. The drive fit nicely without using any screws, and the device was recognized and usable right away after plugging it in via USB.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Saved my life
 from Albany, NY,  Nov 11, 2010

We all "try" to back up our computers... However what happens when you but a new shiny netbook and your in-laws spill wine on it? Well I pulled out the Hard Drive and bought this and like magic it worked all my files and programs worked. I could even boot form it if i wanted to. This earns more than 5*.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Tifton, GA,  Oct 21, 2010

This was the best price I could find on this hard drive enclosure. I had it up and running in less than 10 minutes and was able to scan my netbook's hard drive for viruses using my desktop computer. As a result I was able to remove those nasty viruses, spyware, and malware. I could not have done this without the hard drive enclosure from Overstock.com!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice n cheap
 from TampaBay,Florida,  Aug 4, 2010

For the price you can't go wrong with this enclosure. It's works really well, is simple setup and nice looking. I didn't have to use the screw pack, just pop in the hard drive an the case snaps shut. I'm very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 8, 2010

I have told all my friends about this, fast shipping....fantastic product

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
enclosure
 from Seattle, WA,  Apr 26, 2010

Got it fast, and it works just fine. Only complaint I have is the weird USB cable that it came with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed
 from Indiana,  Mar 27, 2010

This product was exactly what I needed. An inexpensive casing for my hard drive after my motherboard went out on my computer. Very easy to use. Might want to have your own screwdriver. The one that came with it didn't hold up. That was minor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid inexpensive enclosure.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 17, 2010

This enclosure doesn't have the feature set of some (no external power port, usb only no esata or FireWire. But it does work very well over USB2 for both Windows 7 and Mac OS X (10.5, 10.6) It is easy to put together, no external screws and seems fairly tough after 30 days of use. If you have an old sata 2.5 drive lying around and want to use it, I do recommend this enclosure. If you are like me and frequently upgrade your laptop's HD, the ease of use of this enclosure is great. If you need more features, or want to use your external drive for booting you may want to invest in the more expensive FW or eSata enclosures availiable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The case is very well made and lightweight. It is easy to assemble. The only con I have is the cord. The small end that plugs into the enclosure is VERY flimsy and can be damaged very easily if you do not know it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good price good product
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Nov 29, 2009

As stated this is a simple product that does what it does.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Puzzling
 Aug 12, 2010

Did not work, but I don't know whether it was the drive or the enclosure. I would have returned it, but its price did not warrant paying for shipping to do so.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought