Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
No Software
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Dec 8, 2011

This TV card is good but don't come with any software or drivers outside of the standard plug-n-play built into most OS's. For me next time i will spend a little bit more and get a factory boxed card with the drivers and software. Over all for the price its worth it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. In Good Shape
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Review
 from Ardmore, OK,  Mar 20, 2010

Hello everyone. This card is very good at what is intended to do, and at a very good value. I recently lost my job so I had to return my 60" HDTV to the leasing place and must now run all my entertainment through my PC. Not so fun. This card allows you to watch cable television and play game consoles on a PC, which is awesome, but there are some things you should know. First: The TV tuner will ONLY work in a WINDOWS XP 32bit operating system. Second: The drivers and WinTV2000 app must both be installed for the computer to "see" the TV card. Third: WinTV2000's (the TV viewing program) picture quality is awful. Use DScaler instead. Google it. Forth: Consoles will hook up to it, but are a tad fuzzy. Nothing horrible. Fifth: Occasionally, some channels will have a "low" or "no signal". Usually not a problem. Also, Hauppauge, the manufacturer of this card, is VERY prompt in replying to help e-mails. I was trying to figure this thing out on my own (assuming that support would be awful), I sent a desperate e-mail and got a reply in a few hours!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WinTV-GO Card
 from San Antonio, TX,  Oct 14, 2009

This card is excellent. I first saw this at a customer's office, and had to move it to his new computer.The new drivers and application downloadable from the web, were great. This card is smooth in operation and very quick. It offloads the main processing from the computer's processor. I threw away my USB TV tuners after using this card.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Dead On Arrival, none of the hauppauge 44801 drivers or software work. If that isn't bad enough, they first shipped me a Dell docking station before I complained, now they sent me a non working TV tuner card.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? close enough
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? don't know
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Does not work
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doesnt work
 from California,  Nov 13, 2012

This product doesn't work...What else can I say?I would send it back, but its not worth it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tv card
 from orlando, fl,  Jun 17, 2012

Item does not work, windows doesn't even recognise it, even after download and installing the software

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no, does not work
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good description
 from Forsyth, Georgia,  Apr 11, 2012

it seemed like a good product, but unfortunately the device could not be installed on my machine. I ended up installing a USB TV tuner, which works like a champ.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was a good image
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? I do not know it could not be installed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I do not know it could not be installed
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful product
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Feb 18, 2012

The product was awful. Picture was barely visible. There were extreme amounts of static. You can install the drivers on windows vista/7 however. just google bt878 driver. BUT i do NOT recommend this product. As the card was made in 2003, due to old age it seems to have defects. you will NOT get a full refund when you return because I guess awful picture quality is NOT a defect? You can buy an HD tuner for $10 more on tigerdirect which works wonders. I will never buy from overstock again.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image is same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good standard cards
 from South Texas,  Sep 4, 2011

I always use these boards for video capture. Even though you can only usually get three of them into a single computer, they are rock-solid, cheap, and trouble free, since they use such standard chipsets. Personally, I use them under Linux with the "motion" package, but they work just about everywhere without a hitch.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. These are fine products.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great in linux
 from Gainesville, FL,  Jul 10, 2011

I ordered this product to replace a similar one that I had for over 10 years before it died. The replacement worked even better than the one I was replacing. One note, I ordered this for use on an Ubuntu Linux system. It is not supported by Windows Vista or Windows 7.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks identical.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Good
 from Iowa,  Sep 29, 2010

I have been working with computers and video for about 30 years. I bought 2 of these for backups to my exiting capture cards. I did check these cards out when I recieved them. They recorded fine. The problem is the frame rate (29.97 for USA) varied.any where from 30.4 ro 32.21. The frame rate being off prevented me from editing the captured video file. I contact the MFR and they told me the cards were not designed that way. Newer cards don'ty have a seperate audio in from your audio card and record to mpg rather than avi. I will be returning the 2 cards.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worked for me
 from ny,  Jun 8, 2010

i read the instructions on the websites and knew what to expect. card came bare, no manual or cd, but worked for me after I installed (and re-installed) the drivers and software. note: the card does not come with the cable to connect to your soundcard, so if you need sound (other than the TV one) you need to get a small patch cable from the line out TV card to the line in soundcard. I called the mfg tech support and they sent it to me for free.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exellent
 from Maui,  May 19, 2010

I purchased the card only, no instructions or installation CD but it was still extremely easy to get up and running on my Linux system. Remote control capability would have been a nice touch but for the price, you can't beat this card.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
incompatable with win 7
 from Santa Maria, CA,  Mar 17, 2010

it's incompatable with windows 7. i went to the website and they don't have any drivers for windows 7.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
unusable
 from Ohio,  Mar 10, 2010

This item came with NO drivers or software. Several trips to the manufacturers website proved futile and frustrating. It was completely unusable. Since the item cost so little I didn't even bother returning it, I simply threw it into the garbage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Non-HD
 from Pueblo, CO,  Jan 5, 2010

Better than usb. good for non-hd use only this is good for recording from cable

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Product Works Phenomenal Installing It Was Easy Working It Can Easily Record and Take Pictures,Would Totally recommend this product to a friend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top