Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great product and value
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jul 27, 2011

I looked on line at other places and found larger and more complicated devices at 3 times the cost. This product was a breeze to setup and I connected it to my tube type TV without any issues. I use it for Windows 7 Media Center connected to an off air signal. My computer HDMI output is set for 720 x 480 (interlaced) at 29hz because I have a tube type / 4:3 aspect ratio TV. I also went as far as putting velcro on the back of it and stuck it to the back of the TV. Now it's like an HDMI input on my older TV. Great product and worth the money.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Spot on!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be high quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have a 65" 1080i HD projector TV, which does not have an HDMI input port. This converter box allows me to connect my laptop to the TV thru the HDMI port of the laptop. I was also able to connect the DirectV setop box to the TV thru this box using the HDMI port of the setop box. The quality of the video and audio coming out of the converter box is a little degraded, but not too bad.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does not work
 from San Jose, CA,  Nov 27, 2012

I had an old CRT TV with components inputs that I wanted to use with my shiny new Google TV box, which only has HDMI output. So I bought this converter, and it just does not work - nothing is displayed on my TV. When later I bought a modern TV with HDMI input and hooked it directly to the Google TV, everything worked.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? about right
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? it does not work, I do not know if it was a defect or by design
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it does not work
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
COMPLETE GARBAGE!!!
 from Newport, WA,  Jan 15, 2012

Don't waste your money here! Does Not do what it is supposed to do at all!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. total crap!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HDMI to 5 RCA Component AV Converter
 from Los Angeles,  Jan 6, 2012

Came as described in good order. It works great with one exception. I have an older SONY 60" LCD projection TV. It has many HD and other connections bu no HDMI. I needed the converter to connect the new Apple TV. It works great except that I can't seem to get the Apple TV to use the full screen and even regular cable can not get a full screen. So instead of a 60" TV, I'm getting a picture closer to 52" to 55". Still trying to figure out if I can modify some setting but nothing has worked yet. However, I am able to use my new Apple TV with all features and my pictures still looks as fantastic as ever.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems made well
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works
 from Phoenix,  Jan 3, 2012

works good price works like it.. Would by it again.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. works
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from nv,  Nov 18, 2011

Great- does not work with iPad but does work with my iMac. I use it with a Mitsubishi 1080i 65" rear projection tv. I play movies on my iMac and watch them on the Tv using this box and an HDMI cord as well as a mini av adapter for the iMac.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Recommended For HDTV
 from Denver, CO,  Nov 18, 2011

I purchased this item to hook up an external HD tuner to a "HD-Ready" television. Part of the image is chopped off, so a vertical-letterboxed image is shoved off to the left, and a widescreen image is cropped. There's no way to adjust it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be solid enough
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CONVERTER DID NOT HELP
 from CT.,  Nov 15, 2011

IT WAS A GOOD THING TO HAVE,BUT I DID NOT WORK FOR ME.THANHS...

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? GOOD
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? YES
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. IT LOOKED GOOD
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job.
 from Las Vegas,  Oct 27, 2011

this aided me in configuring apple-tv to my component TV (to watch netflix.)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty solid actually
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product - does exactly what it says.
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Oct 8, 2011

Needed this to pass a new DirecTV receiver through to an old component-only HDTV I inherited. Does the job and does it well, although it can't support 1080p because it doesn't have HDCP -- no big deal. The only complaint I have is that the LED on the power supply is *amazingly* bright.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works great and seems sturdy and well made
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HDMI to component & audio
 from Austin, Texas,  Aug 30, 2011

The HDMI to Component with audio worked right out of the box. Video quality and sound quality is excellent. You need to get your own cables, HDMI, Component and audio. There were no issues in setting it up and watching HDMI out on my Component cable TV.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid case and good connectors
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works like it says
 from Northern IL,  Aug 18, 2011

Hooked this item up immediately after reading the directions and it worked right out if the box. Just had to adjust my computer screen output to match my monitor resution and that was it. The product worked for 2 weeks then it smoked! Something burnt up inside and the screen went blank. The power light started flashing on and off and it was over Johhny. Overstock promptly ordered a replacement since it was under warranty and I can't wait for it to arrive so I can continue to use my 8 year old Plasma that has no HDMI input. Hopefully the replacement will outlast the original.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Could be better, power light remains on all the time.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BLACK SCREEN!
 Aug 16, 2010

I bought this product so I can output my computer to my HD TV component in. I'm not sure if it's the HDCP that's from my ATI card that's blocking the signal or the box itself. When I plug the device I only get a black screen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only If Necessary
 Mar 23, 2010

The item itself works, but the quality is very poor. It converts HDMI to composite, but the image on the television doesn't appear to be composite material, rather, it looks like an old CRT's quality. If you're in a bind, it will work for you, but note that the quality will be impaired

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked as advertised.
 from Chicago, Il,  Jul 28, 2011

Perfect solution for anyone looking to convert HDMI to component...

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect, exactly what I thought it would be
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's ok
 from NC,  Feb 12, 2011

I am connecting an HTPC with HDMI out to my Panasonic plasma with component input. It's not bad but it does seem to degrade the picture quality. I gave it 4 stars for the price (best I found) and the fact that part of the problem may be my setup. With more trial & error, I may sort it out. (I've been lazy). 5 stars to Overstock for prompt (cheap) shipping and great communication.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought