Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Rochester, NY,  Mar 19, 2013

Great product for a great price. Does exactly what's it's supposed to do. Now I'm able to feed the digital audio out of my flat screen into my 1990's Sony receiver and have the audio play through the speakers. The sound is very good for not being digital. This price is great. Two thumbs up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't work
 from Portland, OR,  Nov 6, 2012

Used it as directed and it didn't work. Don't know whether it's the LG TV or the unit, but no audio came out the other end. Did all the TV settings correctly, so I conclude the unit didn't work. It's too much trouble to try to return it for a refund. Just chalk it up to lessons learned.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Don't know
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Can't tell
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good

This converter works well on my LG led tv when I'm using any inputs except my rf antenna jack. When I am using it to get my over the air digital channels, all I get is a motorboating sound. I tried it on 2 different LG TV's. All other inputs (HDMI, components, etc.) it works well. It also works fine if you are going through a cable box or satellite box and leaving your tv on ch.3. It just doesn't work for digital channels when hooked up directly to your antenna. I tried 2 different converters. I sent the 1st one back and when I got the 2nd one I realized what was happening.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
works well, great price
 from maine,  Apr 27, 2014

I now have good sound from my blueray player for a nice price

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Great...
 from Alabama,  Mar 8, 2014

Wow now I can listen to surround sound with my new TV.... I was thinking I had to get a newer home theater system but this adapter works fine.... and saved me a lot of money. After calling all around town looking for this type product...I almost gave up thinking there was no way to go from digital to analog. Glad I looked on the internet.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Worked Great.
 from Omaha, NE,  Mar 4, 2014

I've only had the converter for a couple weeks, so I can't comment too much on reliability. So far, so good. The price was by far the lowest I could find online. I needed this to connect an XBOX ONE to my old TV with no HDMI inputs. Used an HDMI to DVI adapter to plug in for video. I bought this converter and a 6 foot optical cable for sound (I already had an analog cable). It arrived 3 days faster than anticipated, and took about 2 minutes to connect. Fired up the XBOX, and everything worked great. The LED power light is nice. I have a surge protector power strip with a bad outlet...nice to know the converter is getting power if you need to trouble shoot.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good
Audio Converter
 from McDonough, GA,  Feb 28, 2014

this converter is of very good quality, is simple to install, and works flawlessly. It is just what I needed to generate an analog audio signal from a optical audio signal.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Digital Optical Converter
 from Boise, Idaho,  Jan 8, 2014

I had never even heard of a Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog RCA Audio Converter before I bought this one. All I knew was that when I bought my new TV, there was no way to hook-up my headphones to it. I need the headphones because the rest of my family apparently has very sensitive hearing and are always complaining that the TV is turned up too loud. I went back to the place where I bought the TV and found out that they don't make RCA outputs any more, just digital optical outlets and that I would need a converter. After hearing the price, however, I decided to look elsewhere. I don't know if what I found on Overstock.com was the exact same product, but it does do the exact same job at 25% of the cost they wanted. After receiving the converter, this non-tech Grampa installed it in about ten minutes and it works perfectly. All is well in the house again. Don't forget the digital optical cable to go from the TV to the converter.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Great Converter
 from St. Louis, MO,  Sep 23, 2013

I am using this to convert sound from an Apple TV (digital signal) to a Bose Companion Series sound system - analog only - (I had to figure a way of getting the digital cable to an analog connection as my Bose system is not designed for a receiver). This procduct works great, was exactly what I needed, produces great sound (the sound quality does not seem to have decreased due to this conversion) and was inexpensive. I would recommend if you need this type of converter.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
What I needed
 from Jackson MS,  Jul 3, 2013

This product definitely solved my problem. I was able to connect my TV and stereo system with ease. Love it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toslink D/A Converter
 from Kenora, ON, Canada,  Apr 16, 2013

Works as advertised, except that you have to re-boot it every time for it to work if you've powered down the input source....very annoying!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? not sure
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked perfectly
 from Boston,  Mar 14, 2013

Worked perfectly with no problems. Just plugged it all together and we now have high quality stereo sound with good base on our TV. 'Skyfall' was great with it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? so far
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Gadget
 from Ohio,  Feb 23, 2013

Small but functional gadget. Used it to hook up my AppleTV to my older (non-optical) receiver. Sound quality is great.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job!
 from central Indiana,  Feb 22, 2013

A very simple device to install, it converts a digital audio input (coax or optical) to an analog stereo audio output (line level). Does it well. Plug in the digital audio input, plug in the analog audio output, plug in the "wall wart" power, and "Bob's your uncle," there's line level analog stereo audio that can be fed into older audio amplifiers or other devices with only line level analog stereo inputs. I'm no audiophile and did not test it for frequency range; sounds great to me. My situation was a (cheap) TV with very poor built-in speakers. Its only audio output is coaxial digital. Have a very good older analog audio amplifier with an excellent high fidelity speaker system, but it only has line level analog stereo inputs. For the purpose of getting audio from the TV to the amp, it's a great device at a low price, and it's quite small so it tucks in behind the TV quite well. Substantially less expensive alternative to buying a "Home Theater" speaker system (albeit a 5.1 or 7.1 Surround Sound). Eats up an electrical outlet to power it, but most folks already have a power strip for the TV, Blu-Ray/DVD player, cable TV tuner/DVR, and Wii (or XBox). It's just one more.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Does everything it's supposed to do
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slam Dunk Device
 from Midwest USA,  Feb 9, 2013

Works perfectly. Simple setup. Hassle-free operation.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? As shown
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy fix for sound
 from NW Missouri the real America!,  Feb 5, 2013

This is a great product to adapt digital to analog sound. Many of the new flat screens do not have analog sound out which does not allow you to mate them to older sound systems. This little box makes them work together so you can use you great surround system or vintage stereo with digital output devices.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good likeness
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be good quality no hum in audio
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Digital Optical Coaxial Converter
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Feb 1, 2013

The converter that was purchase through Overstock.Com (including shipping) was less than half the price of a digital converter sold at Radio Shack.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The on site image was identical to the product purchased.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects in the purchased product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is doing the job it was intended to do.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to set-up, no background noise
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 24, 2013

I bout this to connect my AppleTV and HDTV to my older home theater stereo. I wasn't able to get the digital audio out from the TV to work, but taking the digital audio directly from the AppleTV to the analog audio inputs WORKED PERFECTLY, and that's all I really wanted, after all.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? They images from the site matched the product exactly.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? There did not appear to be any manufacturer defects.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The device was very solid, it didn't feel cheap or flimsy.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Toslink to Analog RCA
 from Grafton, WI,  Sep 7, 2012

It worked as advertised in the literatures just like it is supposed to.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top