Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love My New Camera!
 from Schenectady, NY,  Jun 1, 2012

I love this camera. I am by no means a professional photographer but still I have "an eye" for photography and want my pictures to come out like a professional. With this camera they do. The automatic settings on this camera do it all. Has all the bells and whistles. The zoom is fantastic. The picture stabilization feature works great. I took pictures of a bald eagle (boy was I lucky) 30 or 40 feet up in a tree without a tripod. They came out as clear as if he was 5 feet away. You could see his tongue and leg band in the photos. People said the pictures looked like they should be in the National Geographic and congratulated me on great photos. I credit the camera.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is superb. Well made and with the size of the zoom surprisingly light.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works as advertised
 from LIBERTY LAKE WA.,  Mar 15, 2012

After having a SLR years ago then using 3 point and shoot camera's, this Canon sx40 is what I was looking for. The zoom is great, and the image stability control makes taking pics easy with great results. I have no complaints at all with this Canon.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the canon name tells the story. the best
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Canon power shot sx-40 HS
 from Bayside NY,  Aug 15, 2012

I was disappointed to find immediately that there is no manual that goes with this camera. You have to download the CD which has hundred of pages of instructions. I tried out this camera for a week or two. The photos were not as sharp as I expected with such an expensive camera.. especially in the telephoto mode. Photos were fuzzy. Even in automatic mode, the sharpness and color was not there. Also It is very difficult to track an object you are trying to photograph without shaking. I guess that if you always used a tripod to stabilize the camera, the photos would maybe be sharper. There were just too many modes and functions to understand and takes way too much time to switch functions for a non DSLR. You would be better off with a DSLR.. If you choose to shoot mainly in automatic, this is not the camera for you..

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good image from site to actual product
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I wanted something better than the run of the mill small digital camera but didn't want to spend a fortune. This camera was the perfect choice! It takes fabulous pictures, the zoom is phenomenal and it's a great size. What I don't like is that it is VERY confusing and no one can figure out how to use it properly. If you hit a wrong function and get yourself "stuck" in a mode you don't want, it is almost impossible to find your way out, and turning it on and off doesn't do the trick. Now don't get me wrong, I AM recommending this to others (as long as you are somewhat patient). I'm hoping the longer I have it, the easier it will be to "figure out" but I've taken it on two vacations thus far and have struggled greatly with it. When I hand it to someone else to take a photo with me in it, they too struggle to figure it out. It does come with instructions of course, but they are not all that helpful. Perhaps I am an idiot and others won't have the issues I do, but I do feel it's important to know it's certainly no "point and shoot" camera. The zoom feature is very user friendly, but sometimes just getting it in picture mode is challenging, and then trying to view the pictues you just took can also be an issue. It has many more features that I do not use and probably more than I will ever want but if you want a multifunctional camera with a lot of bells and whistles for reasonable money, then this is a great choice. If you want a simple aim and shoot camera, you might want to reconsider this one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly recommend this camera !!!
 from AZ,  Jun 16, 2012

This is a great camera. It's very easy to use and takes great pictures. It also shoots great videos. My husband and I couldn't be happier with our purchase or with overstock. I have been purchasing from them for years and they have never let me down.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the best camera I have ever owned.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Camera!!
 from Carlisle, KY,  Apr 24, 2012

I just want to start saying that this a Canon and you cant go wrong when you buy one. I looked on different sites at other cameras and this one was overall the best one to buy. The pictures are crystal clear and the zoom is amazing!! It fits right in the hands perfectly. I'm very glad I bought this camera, anybody would be pleased with the quality of this camera!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was right on what I planned on getting
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great camera with options
 from North Dakota,  Mar 14, 2012

Really like this camera. Was looking for a little more than a standard pocket sized digital but not as much as a Rebel. The size makes it easy to hang onto, it has some bulk and weight. Control buttons easy to access. Flip out screen is handy. Alot of options if you choose but has auto setting if you don't have time to mess with it. Takes great kid shots since they are always moving. Low light shots are great. Very clear pictures. Zoom is amazing. I like the Canon menu. Wish the book came with instead of on a cd. Looking forward to using it more and in different settings.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. New quality, no loose buttons or rattles.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
canon digital camera
 from fl,  Jan 19, 2014

This camera goes on every single road trip w/ my family . Excellent picture quality.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Camera Ever
 from Nj,  May 10, 2013

This camera is one in a million......the quality of the pictures are phenomenal!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Camera!
 from Franklin, NC,  Apr 6, 2013

This Canon camera has a lot of features, more than I have mastered! It takes beautiful pictures! I am a novice so I can't comment on the technicalities, but I am enjoying it immensely. It holds over 1000 pictures, and the battery life is GREAT!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivery problem with UPS
 from texas,  Nov 7, 2012

UPS driver lost the camera when it fell off his golf cart into the street. Camera was delivered by someone else who found it and took it to my house. Didn't hear from UPS until I called them and asked what happened. The driver that lost it tried to cover up what happened.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super easy to use!
 from Kingsport, TN,  Sep 29, 2012

Haven't had an opportunity to use it much yet but the zoom is really great! Takes a good picture.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact;y
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Big-Zoom Camera
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 31, 2012

Great camera, I was a bit worried because the temperatures in the delivery van must have been 120F the box felt so hot, but no damage done. If you like taking pictures of wildlife, the zoom feature is spectacular, giving crisp images no problem. It makes this camera what it is. The manual and semi-manual controls are where it's at, you must graduate from the auto and pre-set settings to get a full appreciation of this camera's capabilities. It takes great videos too, though that's not my main focus. I love that is has wide angle viewing in addition to its telephoto capabilities. This camera will make you a photography enthusiast if you weren't already one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Camera for Amatuer
 from Washington state,  Aug 19, 2012

Bought this camera before going on an Alaska Cruise. Was not disappointed at all! Such a great camera. Very user friendly. The zoom is incredible. In fact, it was so much better than the binoculars I purchased for the trip, that I just used the camera to see wildlife instead of the binoculars. Beautiful photos! I feel like a professional with the shots I was able to capture. Definitely worth the money! Did purchase an extra battery, which has been helpful.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top