Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 121-140 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
What the first Nook should have been
 from Atlanta, GA,  Oct 28, 2011

This is what an e-reader should be . It is perfect for reading books. There are better options if you are looking for tablet capabilities, but that is not what this Nook is intended for, and that is just how I like it. It is easy to read, easy to navigate, and the memory is expandable. Personally, I prefer Amazon's web site to Barnes and Noble's, but I like the Nook better due to its styling, expandable memory and real buttons for turning pages. I also strongly dislike closed proprietary hardware. If I pay $$$ for an e-reader, I should be able to read epub documents on it, don't you think?

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just as pictured.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Arrived as new
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Has worked flawlessly so far.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am loving this thing
 from Buffalo, NY,  Oct 27, 2011

I've always debated between getting the nook and the kindle. At the time I got it the Kindle Fire wasn't out yet so I didn't get to compare that one, but personally I am not regretting my purchase. The size is perfect, in my opinion. I first got it so that I didn't have to carry around my laptop to class since most of my text books are ebooks. Now I use it for everything, reading books, textbooks, magazines, news, etc. The ease of use is very intuitive. File formats might be limited, but compared to kindle who uses their own proprietary format, Nook uses epub which is pretty much compatible with anything. Only real downside for me would be the pdf viewing. Most of the pdfs that I have are images of the page and not the text so it doesn't scale up when I change the font size. If B&N is reading this I hope that the next update for the system includes: Landscape reading for pdf, image viewer, calendar, and notepad functions. I've been using this as school and the other students have asked me several questions about it and I've even convinced them to possibly purchase one themselves :D

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks like the stock images from B&N so... yea...
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? As far as I could tell none
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality nice build
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality & price!
 from Glen Mills, PA,  Oct 27, 2011

Pros: high contrast, non-reflective screen, looks just like a paper page. Fast response touch screen. Holds charge for 1-2 months. Great price for the quality. Cons: page turning and cover design could have been designed a bit easier in order to hold it like a real book. Overall, it is a great reader for those who simply wants to read!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I imagined
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Perfect condition
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Wisconsin,  Oct 26, 2011

The refurbished Nook Simple Touch Reader that I received is no different from a brand new one, except that I did save about $$$. I am completely satisfied with my Nook Simple Touch Reader, as well as the transaction with Overstock.com. It is as light as a paperback book, and I can hold it and flip pages with just one hand! Unlike my iPad, I can read my Nook in bright sunlight. Thank you!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from nm,  Oct 26, 2011

this is a great way to read - light weight, no eye strain, easy on arthritic fingers, lots of books available.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far, so good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Reader
 from St Louis, Mo,  Oct 25, 2011

This appears to be a really nice reader. I've not downloaded a book yet, but I expect no problems... I almost always buy refurbished products. They're like new without the "new" price! I've purchased items from O.com for several years. I've NEVER had problems with , and if there was a problem, O.com has always "made good" on defective items

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It's the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Appears to be free of defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As per Consumer Reports
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product works great
 from New Rochelle, NY,  Oct 20, 2011

Got this as a gift for a friend and so far as i know they like it

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the product looks new and the manual had some writing in it.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

1 trip to Asia in, I'm very pleased with the nook so far. Functions great as an e-reader with smooth sync to adobe digital editions (where I can borrow free e-books from my library with overdrive). I chose nook over kindle due to support for major formats, ePub and PDF being the most critical. I love that I can download PDF docs directly to it to read and eliminate more paper! Also love the ease of customizing screen savers! Thus far, I'm on track (with wifi off) to hit ~4 weeks battery life. Only downside is web browsing leaves a lot to be desired... Though it is an e-reader. You're buying it to read books, not surf the web.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My second Nook. I love them.
 from Marcy, NY,  Oct 19, 2011

I have owned 2 Nooks now. Barnes and Noble offers a great deal if your purchase a refurbished item. It could have been shipped quicker so that I would have had it sooner. Also, if I had bought it elsewhere, I would not have to pay sales tax. Those are the only complaints that I have.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Not yet.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Barnes and Noble refurbs are always a good deal.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good deal
 from Hickory, NC,  Oct 16, 2011

I purchased these products as Christmas gifts. I purchased the platinum protection plan so I have no worries about purchasing these refurbished products. I will be glad to update should something arise.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? I have no idea
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I have no idea.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with the reader
 from Richmond, VA,  Oct 13, 2011

I'm happy to say that the Nook touch reader satisfied my need for an e-book reader. I needed to take the Nook to a store with wi-fi (it was closer than B&N.) The initial setup was simple. Then I hooked the Nook to my laptop with the USB cable and I was able to download and read my e-books.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just like new
 from oh,  Oct 6, 2011

I wanted a ereader that is just that, an ereader. I have the Nook Color, but was having a hard time reading it in direct sunlight. So started searching for the perfect eink reader. This one fit the bill. I thought it was going to be a little too wide, but it's fine. It feels comfortable holding with two hands, or one. So the width is not a problem.I was surprised by how light it is too, about the same weight as a small paper back. Well it's lighter than my Android cell phone, lets put it that way. The unit I received was perfect,could only tell it was refurbished by the sticker on the box. Works wonderfully! And the display is great, looks like a book. It's very easy on the eyes, for me it doesn't add eye strain. My only con: is, (and maybe I haven't fully read the manual to fix this) I read a few books at a time, and it would be great to be able to have those on the home screen. Maybe in the lower box where 'book suggestions" are. To me that would make this product perfect.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? as pictured
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast Service! Great Product!
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Oct 1, 2011

I love my new Nook. As always, Overstock provided a high quality product at a great price. This unit was listed as "refurbished" but looks "new" in condition.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? This "refurbished" Nook was in "as new" condition.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Price - Expected to Fall
 from Haiti,  Oct 1, 2011

With the announcement of the new Kindles, I'm sure NOOK prices are going to start falling across the board. This Refurb was already $30 off the normal price for a Nook (plus tax savings). I'm happy to say that if they drop the price $20 or $30 soon, I've already gotten that much enjoyment out of my NOOK. The unit was pristine - no smudges, no scratches, no defects. This is my first eReader, but it only took a couple of minutes to orient myself to the controls and also to forget I was reading on a machine. The matte black is a nice background and the size and weight are perfect. This thing makes a paperback seem heavy and unwieldy. I love Amazon, but didn't want the Kindle because of all the DRM mess. I have found no need to root my Nook yet. It has a functioning web browser (just type a URL into the search box). I didn't buy this to be a small B&W tablet, but to be a dedicated eReader. Maybe I'll get around to it one day.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Like New
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works as Advertised
 from PNW,  Sep 28, 2011

Bought the Nook ST instead of the Kindle because I can download books from the local library. Got my first book last week and the download was seamless. Getting the book into my Nook library took a bit of messing about but once I understood the process it too was seamless. Like the size, the print is easy on the eyes, weight is just fine and the battery life has been superb , in fact I'm still running on the first charge after two weeks. I'm a satisfied customer.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? 100%
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Can't tell from New
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished Nook
 from Fort Lauderdale Fl,  Nov 16, 2011

This Reader is very hard to use. I gave to my daughter who doesn't have a computer, she is unable to get the Nook to work without downloading to it. Her friends have tried to get it to work but no luck. Don't know if it is this particular Nook or all of them. Seems not to be very user friendly. Could be because it is refurbished and isn't working. Have to get her to check that out.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Unable to get to work yet
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOOK Touch
 from New Iberia, LA,  Oct 28, 2011

I have both the 1st Edition (purchased new from B&N) and the Tough purchased as a "remanufactured" from Overstock.com. It is difficult for me to understand that the invoice is from B&N and not Overstock. In reality, I much prefer my 1st Edition. I wish that Overstock would honor the lower price of the same item when it was purchased after lowering the price after the purchase. Give a credit to the buyer on their account would be nice.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? As far as I can tell.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seemingly, the quality is about the same as a "new" Touch.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product, Late Delivery, Excellent Adjustment
 from New Bern, NC,  Oct 19, 2011

This is a mixed-bag review. I ordered the Nook on a Saturday and I paid extra for 1-5 business day shipping to try and insure delivery by the following Friday. I was leaving the following Saturday for a 2-week cruise and wanted the Nook for something physically light weight to read while traveling. No ship date follow-up came till Tuesday when I was told the delivery was slated for the following Tuesday. Not good. I called Overstock and advised them of the situation. I don't know who dropped the ball - B&N (from where the Nook was sent), Overstock, or UPS. In any event nothing could be done to accelerate the shipment. I had to buy the Nook locally at full retail. To Overstock's credit, when I got back, I contacted them again and they gave me full credit and provided a postage paid return shipping label. The customer service people were as apologetic as could be and were extremely easy to deal with, providing me in addition with an incentive to shop at O.com in the future. As for the Nook purchased locally, it is exactly what I expected. My only gripe is that I wish the base background were a little less gray. The refurbished Nook that eventually turned up looked for all intents new except the package had been clearly marked as refurbished.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Nook Simple Touch is a fine E-reader, simple to operate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as described
 from California,  Nov 9, 2011

Does NOT include Wi-Fi, except for downloadine e-books for sale. Says you can download public library books, but it has to be done thru your computer to a memory stick, from which you can transfer the e-books to the Nook. Rather inconvenient! There's no backlighting so the text is not legible except in lighted conditions--like a regular book you need to have a lighted lamp at your chair side, more inconvenience.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? product much smaller than appearance
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. difficult to figure out
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not What it Appears
 from Indiana,  Oct 15, 2011

The issue has nothing to do with overstock and the refurb. It is entirely related to the NOOK itself being flawed. It locked up every few mins and had to be restarted. I have already talked some friends out of getting it.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? not sure if locking up every 2mins counts as manufacturer defect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the unit was fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 121-140 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought