Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 139 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Buffalo NY,  Oct 22, 2011

I bought this for my daughters sweet 16 birthday gift 2 weeks ago. She has been very pleased and told me several times how happy she is with its quality. I was very conflicted with whether to buy this or the Kindle. I have no doubt that I made the right choice in the Nook. She has been able to connect to the internet without any problems at dozens of hot spots. The battery charge lasts as long as advertised, which is exceptional. She has downloaded her school books on it without any trouble, and been able to do the samewith books at her schools library. My ex-wife has the kindle and apparently now wishes she would have purchased a Nook. So I scored 2x's on this gift ;o) Of course this is not a tablet PC, if thats what you are looking for look some where else, but as an e-reader and e-reader/multimedia tool for simple tasks it does an outstanding job and is one of the best on the market.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? right on target
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Maryland,  Sep 17, 2011

I have this and love it. You can download library books to the nook and there is no glare when you use it in bright light or outside.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Even Better than the First Nook
 from Arkansas,  Oct 28, 2011

The Simple Touch arrived quickly and was in excellent condition. It had everything it needed in the box and was as perfect as a non-refurbished one. No defects or problems what-so-ever. My mom loved her 1st Generation Nook and likes this one even more. It is much lighter, has AMAZING battery life and the touch screen displays great detail and clarity. It, of course, has the anti-glare screen for reading outside in bright sunlight. The only thing to note- there isn't a lot of memory dedicated to side-loaded books. That is easily fixed with a micro-sd card. You will find the micro-sd card listed separately on your computer and you have to side-load the books to that card- not the Nook, itself. The books still show up in the library the same as your downloaded content. This was just something that took me awhile and a call excellent customer service to figure out. This is a great Nook and if I didn't already have a 1st Generation and a Nook Color, I would be getting one for myself, as well.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Light, Easy to Use
 from Sachse, TX,  Oct 22, 2011

I couldn't be happier with my new Nook. I had a different reader before and, when it was time for a new one, I chose the Nook because the books I had already bought for my old reader (in the epub format) would transfer to my Nook. (I had no trouble with it, by the way.) It says it's refurbished or certified pre-owned but I'd never have known it when it came in the mail. There was not a scratch, ding or fingerprint on it. The battery lasts a really long time, the screen is super-clear and easy to read, it seems like it hardly weighs anything at all and it's simple to use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As good as new!
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Sep 28, 2011

After debating whether to buy a new Nook from B&N or a refurbished one from o.co, I decided to get the refurbished one. And I'm so glad I did! I saved well over $30 in total, and after receiving my Nook today, it looks like it's brand new. (The product was actually shipped to me directly from B&N, according to the shipping box.) There are no scratches or marks on it anywhere, and aside from the "pre-owned" sticker on the box, I wouldn't have known it's a refurbished product. A great product at an incredible value! What more could I ask for?

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it, use it daily
 from Lenexa, KS,  Oct 28, 2011

I love the Nook simple touch. I use it daily and am exteremly happy. The price at overstock was excellent and you would never know it was a refurbed unit.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook simple touch reader
 from Ozark, Alabama,  Apr 16, 2012

I had a nook before and this was a replacement. love the touch feature, but am dissappointed I lost other functions such as games and dictionary.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? this was the second one I got, I had to return the first one because it would not turn on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent eReader
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 16, 2011

Bought Nook Touch and was surprised by the condition of the referb unit I received. Looked like it was new off the shelf. Unit shipped quickly to me from Barnes and Noble. The reader itself is great, love the eink screen, latest update from Barnes and Noble installed perfectly and now I have an updated machine for a price still lower than what Barnes and Noble is asking for a new machine after the latest price reduction. The Nook is great to hold while reading and I am glad I made this purchase. Would do it again, great eReader.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Free of defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so easy
 from Idaho,  Nov 16, 2011

This eReader is great. While the NOOK does not get as much press as the Kindle, I found it super easy to use and a much better deal than the Kindle. It comes pre-loaded with a quick start guide and comprehensive User Guide, making any questions you have easy to look up. I was able to start using mine right away - set-up only took 5 minutes. The touch screen is great and makes navigation very easy. It also makes the whole device smaller since there's no keyboard. I would highly recommend the NOOK to anyone looking for an eReader.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high; basically new
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Light device and great upgrade
 from Dacula, GA,  Oct 24, 2011

I bought this as an upgrade from the Nook Classic and I'm definitely glad with my purchase. The software/user interface updates make it well worth it. The Nook ST is surprisingly light, small, and fast - there's barely any UI lag except for loading large books (+1k pages). The only downside from the smaller size (and removal of the bottom screen) is that it's less comfortable to hold - for my large hands at least. I bought a roocase cover to make up for the size and to protect the screen.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Like New
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed
 from Whiting, NJ,  May 21, 2013

After about 1 year, the nook stopped working. Took it to Barnes and Noble and was told it was not fixable and the nook was only built to last 2 years. Would never buy another Nook.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Only for 1 year.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Terrible
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fair to poor
 from Denver,  Feb 15, 2013

This was an inexpensive way for me to see if I liked the E-book idea, especially for traveling. It was refurbished and I guess I got what I paid for. It worked great for a few months and then zip, zero, nada, it was done. Quess I'll ask Santa for a different one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? it was refurbished
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Carlsbad, CA,  Dec 28, 2012

I bought this Simple Touch because it is compact and light. I did not know that there was no backlight. So I purchased a clip on light for well under a dollar. The size is perfect for travel or waiting inline or in an office. The light weight is a true asset. I love it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image was very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality no issues
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bought for a Christmas present
 from Tn,  Dec 15, 2012

Will know when opened at Christmas when received if it is liked

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ST Simple?
 from Idaho,  Dec 6, 2012

This product needs a better instruction manual for new users. Once figured out, the Nook is not so hard to use but it took several of us numerous tries to find out how to download a book, how to find the book, how to read the book. A new user needs to know that it comes pre-loaded with several books but new books purchased MUST be from BN. If I had known that the particular set of books I wanted, from another bookstore, could not be read on the Nook I probably would not have purchased the Nook. There are no directions or help to show a new user how to read in one place and then go to another place quickly. The nook display is easy to read but not good for a rapid reader who wants to turn pages quickly and go to another place, then return to the original. It should come with a stylus because a person who has fingernails will find it difficult to move from place to place.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image and the product looked the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects noted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Simple Touch
 from Oklahoma,  Nov 17, 2012

really like the Nook Simple Touch we bought it for our daughter who loves to read, we have it all set up and are looking into maybe buying one for ourselves =)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? it was accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? it was in good quality condition
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very pleased with the quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Simple Touch
 from San Jose, CA,  Nov 14, 2012

I am so glad with my purchase. The Nook Simple is simple to use, light, and battery lasts a long time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still the best e-reader out there
 from Houston,  Oct 31, 2012

We were tempted to get the glow with the night light, but the contrast in that model isn't as good, plus it's so much more expensive. This one does better in the daytime, and only needs a little light at night.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from Tulsa, OK,  Oct 23, 2012

So I bought this refurbished and was very leary but it came in a box and looks brand new. If there was a defect, I couldn't tell you what it was. Can't wait to start reading.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Digital Text reader
 from Petaluma, California,  Sep 27, 2012

I think its in good shape how ever this is my first Nook since it came to me very quickly the only thing is i thought that The memory SD Card was coming with it but apparently it doesn't. I believe you have to buy it separately it's not online as i speak (cause i have looked) you have to buy from your closest camera place where they sell Memory SD Cards (don't buy it online) The reason i'm saying this is because the memory SD Card is so tiny you won't find it on here. I"m just letting everyone know that. Plus it didn't come with a Nook charger but i do have a charger that connects like nook charger. so just know that it does not require a charger that plugs into the wall jack. but an overall it works fine the only thing i don't know how to do is to delete a book off that i don't want. LOL but yes i will need to call barns and noble support line in order to have their help. LIke i said once you get the nook go to your local place to find a Memory SD card don't go on line and looking for it because its too tiny of a Memory card its kind of silly. but once you get it you will know what i'm talking about.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? it was very nice quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? not that i know of
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sure
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 139 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Kobo Touch Digital Text Reader
Today $120.99
Compare $315.00
Save 62%
Jefferson Reversible Indoor/Outdoor Braided Rug (6' Round)
Sale $111.70
Was $124.11
Compare $173.00
Save 35%
(10)
Hillsdale Area Rug (4' x 6')
Sale $114.74
Was $134.99
Back to top