Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 645 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
pretty good value for a sub 150$ tablet
 from New York.,  Jan 10, 2012

the Nook Color is one of the most widely supported tablets amongst the hacking community for rooting because it was the first good tablet for under $200 so alot of developers bought them last year. its still popular because it works well. simple procedure lets you gain root and install full google market along with the ability to sideload Amazon app store. you can;t brick it because it boots from micro SDHC card first, spec wise, screen is a great 1024x600 7 inch with mulit touch. 1 ghz single core processor is a little laggy but more than adequate for watching movies and playing games it has 5 GB internal storage for apps and you can easily add a 32 gb SDHC card for media files. it;s base OS is 1.41 is 2.2 Froyo so it supports flash in the browser. you can load CynogenMod ROM if you want. i bought a new one last year and just bought a refurb for ***$ from Overstock. works perfectly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good refurb
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Nook is not just a Nook
 from Texas,  Jan 9, 2012

I love the Nook Color. I had a small Nook but this one is so far superior that I am glad that I changed. I am not young and very computer savvy, but the directions to set this up were so clear that I was using it in no time at all. I love the ease of ordering and the ability to order and try out for 14 days any magazine that I like and if you cancel before 14 days--no problem. So far I haven't met anyone who I can trade books with but that is a great feature! I could go on and on, but I recommend it highly to anyone who loves to read! 1

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? As far as I can tell
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems very good. No one knows that it is refurbished
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great tablet PC with a little work.
 from Swamps of Louisiana,  Dec 13, 2011

I bought the nook to use as a andriod tablet with a flash update from CM7. It definately works well and I enjoy it daily. Thanks B&N for a great product. Pls allow netflix on your device without CM7 modifications.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. as describted
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awsome
 from washington, dc,  Dec 8, 2011

I shopped for this gift for months. My husband loves this. I recommend that you do not wet the screen before applying the protective sheet. It will cause bubbling. Be careful with that. I still have bubbles underneath the protective sheet but it is a great product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good product
 from Texas,  Dec 8, 2011

Very good product. It definitely exceeded my expectations.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Alabama,  Dec 4, 2011

Christmas gift for our daughter who has been dying to get her hands on this. She is 11 and loves to read so this was perfect for her and this was the only thing she wanted. Didn't have a second thought buying it refurbished, we just bought the extra warranty to cover in case something went wrong. This thing is wonderful. I am getting myself one. I am having everything set up for her before Christmas so she can just turn it on and go. Glad I looked here first but so hate they are all gone.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 of 3 NC broken out of the box.
 from In a bus, down by the river.,  Nov 11, 2011

I bought 3 Nookcolors. the first one had a bad USB port, it would charge fine but wouldn't stay connected to the computer. The second had something wrong on the inside. it would make a clunk noise when rotated from side to side. The 3rd NC was free of any issues. I called B&N with my concerns about the devices and with in a few days the replacement units arrived. over all for the price and speed of getting working units I am happy.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The item was free of any finger prints, or clear signs of use,
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Color
 from PA,  Nov 11, 2011

I'm very satisfied thus far with the Nook Color. Feel is similar to a higher end Andriod phone. Reading indoors has been comfortable. Internet connection via wifi is very easy. Integration with B&N store and app market is pretty good.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality... condition seemed new
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, but broken Wi-Fi. B&N replaced.
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 11, 2011

I purchased the Nook Color when there was a marked price drop on Overstock. It shipped and arrived as expected, but when I tried to set it up, I had issues with the Wi-Fi adapter. The device would continually attempt to connect to my home network, get an IP address, then suddenly drop connect. Also, it only reported one bar of signal strength when another Nook Color right next to it reported full strength. I brought the NC into my local Barnes and Noble, and after they reproduced the problem, they gave me a brand new NC. The whole replacement process took about 10 minutes, and they even gave me a screen protector since I had applied one to my defective NC. Unfortunately, I can't rate Overstock's customer service because I didn't contact them, but B&N exceeded my expectations. I was very pleased with their customer service and with the product. I gave the product three stars, though, because the wi-fi being broken basically would have made it useless to me. I would have rated it one star if I hadn't received a replacement so quickly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was accurate.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No - the wi-fi adapter on the Nook Color I received was defective. It constantly dropped connection and reported drastically lower signal strength than any other devices on the same network including other Nook Colors. I took it to a B&N store and they replaced my NC for free.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Other than the problem with the wi-fi (which was a significant one), the product was in excellent condition.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great entry tablet
 from Tacoma, WA,  Sep 6, 2011

I was looking for a long time for an eReader. I was thinking of buy the other one from the other company, but I wanted something that was a little bit more like a tablet. I waited a long time to see if the K would come out in color. It didn't, so I decided to buy the Nook Color from Overstock because the price was right! I've played with the stock OS and it's fine and now will "root" it. There's only 1GB for media. After I bought my Nook, the price dropped and I asked Overstock for a credit on the difference. They didn't hesitate since. Thank you Overstock! You have the BEST customer service!!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, looks new from out of the box.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good e-reader/tablet
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product. No comments.
 from Los Angels, CA,  Sep 5, 2011

Great product. Honestly, did not have played a lot since it was a gift, but my friend likes it very much. Will get one for myself soon.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks like on website
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, I did not have any problems
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice piece. Planning to have one for myself.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent " tabletish" E-reader
 from Austin,TX,  Sep 4, 2011

I am very glad that I decided to purchase this. I have had the original e ink nook for about a year.I wasn't sure if this would add much to my gadget collection. I was pleasantly surprised at the screen resolution.It has a beautiful 7 inch picture.Te touch screen makes reading more enjoyable than pressing a button on the side. Also, you don't need a light for night reading. The battery power is average at about 6 hours,but you can use it while charging, if needed.It's a tad heavy,but has a very sturdy build.Useful if a child will be using it.This is nice to slip into a purse or small case.The apps are somewhat scarce as compared to other stores,but this will get better as time goes on.You won't be sorry to take the plunge and buy this.Kudos to B&N and Overstock!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? true to image
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good value
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE MY NOOK!
 from Lincoln Park, MI,  Sep 2, 2011

This was a "pre-owned" device but you would never know it. It came packaged just like new. No damage or wear marks what so ever. PERFECT!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Brand New
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little device!
 from Las Vegas, Nv,  Aug 28, 2011

When I got the box and opened it, I saw that the Nook Color was packed as if it were a new device. There were no scuffs or mars on it. After unpacking I got to the serious part of it. Of course I mean rooting, then flashing it with a new ROM. I have to say that I am very impressed with this terrific device. I now have agreat tablet that compares with most tabs out on the market at half the price. I love my Nook Color!!! I am even writing this review on it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very well.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects at all
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was like new.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Color -> Android Tablet
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 27, 2011

I purchased the Nook Color because of the "tablet" - like features. It could be used to browse the web and email, as well as read books and color publications. But it also could be "rooted" to make it a full-fledged tablet! I purchased a micro SD card for it that did the rooting without my having to program it, just by putting it in the SD slot. A recent upgrade from Barnes and Noble increased its capabilities even more. I am very pleased.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The same.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Certified Pre Owned Nook Color....great way to save some cash off the New price. After close inspection I could not find one scratch or flaw of any kind with my Nook Color. Why not save yourself some money?

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished Nook Color
 from West Springfield, MA,  Aug 25, 2011

The only complaint I have is that the price dropped $30 the week after I bought it. Other than that the Nook Color has been excellent. I bought it for my wife to use for her school text books and I have it booting Cyanogenmod from the SD card to use it as a full Android tablet. I definitely recommend this, especially at the lower price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as expected.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects could be found.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is excellent.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best price for the nook
 from Tracy california,  Aug 22, 2011

I bought this for my girlfriend's birthday, she has no idea that it is refurbished because it looks and works like brand new.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It looks brand new.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes it was.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just like new only less expensive
 from Yorktown, Virginia,  Aug 21, 2011

This is my second Nook Color, bought as a gift for my girlfriend. I compared the one from Overstock with the one from the store, and the only differences were the price I paid and the amount of packaging I had to throw away. I have recommended this to my co-workers and friends, and I recommend it to anyone reading this review as well.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? prefect match
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? The unit wes in perfect condition.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. First class!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nook color
 from earth,  Aug 19, 2011

Other than the box, this looks andperforms like brand new. Bought this to run cyanogenmod from sd card and now from internal storage, works flawlessly. Excellent buy.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? useful
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great like new quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 645 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top