Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 645 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 33 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A fine e-reader with so many capabilities.
 from Kingston, NY,  May 26, 2011

I purchased the Nook Color fully intending to "root" it and use it as an Android tablet computer. (Do a Google search to learn more about this.) I wanted a small tablet with basic capabilities such as email, web browsing and a few other things. To my surprise, the Nook Color now comes with these apps built-in and more apps may be added through B&N. After tinkering with the rooting process (it worked well) I decided that the stock Nook was enough for me. I added a few apps, loaded it with hundreds of photos and songs, and now enjoy my small tablet without all of the concerns and hassles of using a "hacked" device. B&N did the right thing in making this reader more than just a reader. I'm certain that hundreds more apps will be offered in the near future, making this reader even more useful. As for being a refurbished item, have no fear. It arrived in perfect like-new condition. It is indiscernible from a new item. NOTE: Overstock claims that this item comes with 8GB. It only has 5GB (as is the case with all newer Nook Color's) and of that only 1GB is available for media. Not a big deal. I added an 8GB micro-sd card and now have plenty of capacity. P.S. I've purchased a few books and very much enjoy the e-reading experience. No eye strain at all. Though if you're only interested in reading on the device, their basic Nook is a better choice because of the e-ink screen. Before buying any reader, definitely go to a store and play with all of them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nook Color Certified Pre-Owned
 from Cypress, Texas,  Jul 11, 2011

I received my Nook Color in less than a week after ordering. Although it is pre-owned, you cannot tell, it is just like new and came in the original packaging. I have had it now for about 3 weeks and I love it! I just returned from a trip and I used it every day for reading, checking e-mail and playing games. It is great for this. Ideal for taking on a long airplane flight. Not too big or heavy and fun to have. Only complaint would be the short battery life, about 8 hours if you turn off the wi-fi. Overstock had a great price for the Nook Color. I would highly recommend it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good tablet preview device
 from New York, NY,  Jun 15, 2011

I've been looking at tablets lately and wanted to play with them. I tried the ipad 1 and 2 but was unhappy with their performance. I was eyeing the Asus Transformer but it was rarely in stock. Then I got wind of the Nook Color, and since I am a regular visitor of XDA-Dev, I saw the support it had from the Developers. I was able to get the Nook Color for $$$ shipped from Overstock.com. I have so far been pleased with the performance and build quality of this device. If you are in any technologically inclined and can follow steps, the nook color is an exceptional tablet. The screen is brilliant by the way.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal
 from Poconos, PA,  Nov 11, 2011

This is one of those devices that you never knew you needed until you got one....and then discovered that you can't live without it. My Nook Color arrived with the manufacturer's packaging and literature, and there was no evidence that this was a refurb. This is much more than an ebook reader; this has the potential to be a tablet PC if you have the time and patience. Even if you don't, there are enough Android apps available for the Nook to make it a fun device for the entire family. Just add it to your wireless network, and you will be taking it with you in every room of your home. I use it in the kitchen -- follow recipes that I look up on the web while listening to Pandora radio. I've hooked this up to external speakers and excellent sound quality filled the house. I fall asleep with my Nook at night, and check the weather before I get out of bed in the morning. I've taken my Nook on trips instead of books and a laptop and was able to read whatever I wanted as well as receive and send email, find driving directions, and look up entertainment venues on the web wherever I could find a WiFi connection. I like my smartphone, but I love my Nook.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical to photo
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A great little device!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book reader
 from Centereach NY,  Jul 4, 2011

This Nook Color came with the latest firmware update that was released a few months ago. It has allowed it to be a little more than just an e book reader. I can also look at web pages. Read Email, install apps. It is still best at being an e book reader. Being able to buy books, newspaper, magazines from the xxxxxxxx book store. Surfing the internet is a slow experience using the Nook Color. Web pages take a long time to load. The screen is some times way to small to touch the exact place that links to another web page. The xxxxxxx app store so far has relatively few apps available. I'm sure that more are on the way. There are other online stores that sell android apps, but nun are available to the Nook Color. Over all I like the Nook Color. It gives a lot for your dollar. 7 color touch screen. Access to lots of great books, newspapers, and Magazines and a few apps.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks and works like a new one
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One of my best purchases!
 from Stockton CA,  Dec 8, 2011

Bought a N2A card and now I have a tablet! Will have to purchase another one because I seem to be losing ownership, my 8 year old son also has taken a great liking to it too!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not quite awesome, but close
 from Los Angeles Metro,  Jul 15, 2011

The Barnes & Noble NOOKcolor ereader device is so much more than just a reader... it has a wonderful, colour touch-screen experience, which allows for real-feel page-turning and the "pinch" action zoom feature similar to that of an Apple iPad. It's easy to set up and downloads via WiFi are super fast. B&N also offers a NOOK apps store, where you can browse and find both free and low-cost applications to enhance your device, such as social networking clients, utilities, email and office applications and games. The built-in email application is occasionally buggy, but that may be dependent on your email provider. The NOOKcolor is seriously lacking one very important feature, however -- the previous file format used by the Barns & Noble www.ereader.com site is not compatible with this device. The old website does offer a free Android-based application (the NOOKcolor is an Android device), but because the NOOK apps are proprietary to the device, the Android-based application cannot be loaded. Nor does the NOOK recognize apps from the Android Marketplace. Only NOOK apps from the Barnes & Noble app site will load to this device. If in the future, the B&N people decide to remedy this oversight, it would go a long ways to making this a truly awesome ereader/tablet computer that would be worthy as an iPad alternative.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, no damage or scratches
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love my Nook Color!
 from Kernersville, NC,  Jul 10, 2011

I have told everyone that would listen about the Nook Color. I love it! I was just on vacation and took it with me on my cruise. No flipping pages in the wind, no loosing my place in a book, need a break from reading a book I just switch over and look at a magazine! I had over 30 books new to choose from, over 5 new magazines to read & apps galore! Who is NOT addicted to ANGRY BIRD?!?!?! I told my husband to get his own Nook Color so I could have mine back. You gotta buy one for yourself!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image provided was picture perfect!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No issues what-so-ever with the product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Even though I purchased a certified pre-owned product you would have never known it was not brand new!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool gadgetl
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jul 9, 2011

Wasn't sure if I was going to like it as when I went to B&N no one could assist me in telling me or showing me the product. Overstock offered a really great deal so I thought I'd try it out. Internet is slow and it's cool that you can see you email on it, very limited apps. Apparently you can hack it/route it and get more out of the android features but I have a itouch so I don't need to do that. I like it and it's great for reading.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? looked brand new
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice tablet
 from Portland, OR,  Jul 4, 2011

Right out of the box, this tablet is great. It comes with a browser and several handy apps. Not just for e-reading. As far as the "refurb" status, mine arrived in new-to-me condition. I couldn't see any flaws, and it works perfectly.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Nook Color is Not a reliable device.
 from Wichita, KS,  Jan 1, 2013

I purchased three REFURBISHED Nook colors. This is where I believe I went wrong. Two of the three do not charge correctly. One will partially charge, one will fully charge, and one will not charge at all! I was very disappointed since these were Christmas gifts. I graded them as fair because they have the potential of being great products if they would be able to fix the problem with the charging.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image is identical
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No. Two of the Three Nook Colors that we purchased do not charge correctly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is good except the charging issue.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good option but it didn't last.
 from Dekalb, IL,  Jan 18, 2012

So I was able to hack it with a SD card without voiding warranty. Yesterday the Nook didn't boot and I noticed the mini SD card sticking out. I tried to push it inside and it didn't stay. My wife (is hers) took the Nook to Barns and Noble. They confirmed that the card was not staying in position and gave her another nook color. She was happy so was I :) . Becuase of the service, easy to hack, and warranty, I will recommend this option.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes it was. it had a small scratch but it was refurbished :)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I worked fine for a month.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good as NEW
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 18, 2012

Purchased as a Christmas present. Item good as new, only way to tell it was refurbished was the sticker stating it was. Helped set it up and after downloading the latest updates, the Nook is running smooth and stable. Dont hesitate to pick this up if your looking for an inexpensive tablet.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from Ft Worth Tx,  Jan 17, 2012

I'm very happy with my Nook Color. I can use it for reading books, playing games and many other things. If I didn't get it at a discount I'd never know it was refurbished. Kudos to Overstock and Barnes and Noble.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hoped it would be faster
 from Central Jersey, NJ,  Dec 13, 2011

The product is good if you want to email, google and have some apps and read a regular book. For the price that is a great bargain. As a reference tool though it is not so great. I wanted to use this for Nursing texts and downloaded a few hundred dollars in the usual Drug Guide, Care Plans, Dictionary, Lab and Diagnostic reference texts but they are all too slow to be useful. the amount of page you see is not useful unless you can ready teeny tiny font sizes. Yes it saved a lot of weight but classmates with other smart tools are clearly having an easier time. I like it, just not as much for what I intended.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love My Nook!
 from Western New York,  Sep 9, 2011

I really love my nook color. It shipped in timely fashion, and was packaged just like new. I would not hesitate recommending to anyone to purchase the certified pre-owned nook color. I have not had any issues with the unit. The money you save is well worth it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Liked the Nook
 from Syosset, NY,  Jan 2, 2013

I purchased 2 refurbished Nook color tablets for my twins this Christmas. They loved them but unfortunately one of the Nooks is starting to shut off while he is reading or using one of his apps. A little frustrating being that he only started using it a week ago. The other Nook is great with no problems. The color and brightness is great. They are loving reading on these tablets which was what I was hoping for. I hope I can get the one fixed or replaced through the warranty. Otherwise, I'm glad I bought them!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nook tablet
 from South Carolina,  Jan 1, 2013

I would have liked to have been able to use other apps on this tablet but was restricted to Nook apps only.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not the product I ordered
 from Kansas City,  Dec 22, 2012

The description and specs listed were for an 8 GB tablet but when the product arrived it was for a Nook Color-not the tablet-with much less capability. It also needed a software upgrade that was realeased 6 months ago. Other than that, the product was like new. Barnes and Noble customer service was very slow but Overstock.com customer service was great and they offered a $10 rebate because the wrong product was shipped or the product was mis-represented.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? image was fine but the description was for a different product
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes but needed a 6 month old software update
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nook color
 from waterbuty,CT,  Jan 13, 2012

omg well worth the money. gave them to my sons for christmas and they love them. price was excellent couldn't buy it for the price i got anywhere else, well worth the purchase. easy to set up make sure u have a b&n account first to help move things along. it doesnt cost anything u just go to their website. you will need a CREDIT CARD STORED TO THE NOOOK FOR PURCHASES. GOOD LUCK WE LOVE THEM. IF YOU BUY A N2A CARD U WILL HAVE A NOOK TABLET

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 645 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 33 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought