Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
the worst purchase ever
 from Silver Spring, MD,  Jun 10, 2013

I hardly give bad reviews but this purchase made me so angry. I bought it for traveling thefore I didn't use it at all. Before I went on my vacation in May 2013, I tried to test this computer, and I could not even turn it on. I bougth it during Thanksgivng 2012, therefore it passed the return date. Unfortunately it did not come with any warranty which normally do with all my other purchases. It is piece of junk, please don't buy it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Netbook at Very Great Price
 from Long Island, NY,  Jan 4, 2013

This netbook provides great performance for its price. It has really long battery life. I didn't have to recharge it before 3 days! Also, the Asus Instant On function is much better than Windows own Hibernate function. The netbook is worth the price. It lacks power compared to the big boys, but that was expected before I bought it. It still works great for playing videos, working on documents and internet surfing.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good unit, but ....
 from Sierra Madre, CA,  Dec 27, 2012

It's a fine netbook however there are two glaring flaws - one created by Asus, one by Intel. The Asus flaw is that there's absolutely NO access to the disk or memory from the bottom of the unit. There are two other Asus netbooks in my household and they both have access panels for at least the memory. Without easy access it's impossible to upgrade the memory on this unit. I'm sure the omission of access was intentional. Shame on you Asus. The Intel issue is the abysmal GMA/Poulsbo graphics in these units. Intel have used the (third party) Poulsbo graphics in previous Atom CPU's and they are complete crap, absolutely horrible performance and close to unusable. I wish I'd done my homework a bit better and noted that the Atom N2600 uses the junk Poulsbo graphics. If I had I would have gone with a unit that uses the AMD chip. Shame on you Intel. Overall - take a pass on this one and find a non-Atom unit that provides adequate access for upgrades!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Adequate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 from SD, CA,  Dec 18, 2012

I own an EEEPC 1000 as well, with the SSD drive, and it is a great computer. Overstock had a special for the 1025C for $220 so I thought I'd upgrade. Sadly this is not an upgrade. It is slower than my EEEPC 1000 and *deal breaker* it only has 1 speaker - so movies and music sound terrible. It's a shame none of the review mention this, it's a real backward step for Asus. Windows 7 starter runs really slow and there is a bunch of bloat software pre-installed. It randomly freezes for about 30 seconds occasionally. I think it is memory related (only 1Gb installed, no upgrade possible because there is no hatch). I removed some bloat but who knows what can safely be removed? Overall a disappointing product from Asus. Get a EEEPC 1000 if you can find one, IMHO this was the pinnacle of the EEEPC series.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
computer kid
 from Sebring, FL,  Dec 16, 2012

Arrived fast and packaged well for shipping. It was what I expected. Very compact and great for travel. Fast. Good deal!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This computer is a great buy for the money.
 from Savannah, Georgia,  Dec 15, 2012

I researched the computer prior to seeing the item. It had all the features and battery life for my needs. I especially wanted something lightweight and with a web camera for skype. The most attractive feature was the price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Everything that was listed about this computer was accurate.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? The package arrived in perfect condition and was easily booted up without any difficulty.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. \i wanted a small lightweight laptop with a webcam for skype and this was perfect. I could not see the need to purchase a tablet when this provided everything that I needed without having a huge expense.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Netbooks are dead
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Dec 15, 2012

First: Overstock had great, quick service in getting the product to me quickly and safely. Cheers, Overstock. However, the product itself: It was my 2nd netbook from Asus. Have been very happy with the first (after I upgraded the RAM), and expected a similar level of quality on this product. Some quick research revealed that I could upgrade the RAM on this model too, and according to specs it has incredible battery life. Battery life is good, not great, and about four hours short of spec (so about 8 hours on a single charge). RAM is NOT easily or safely upgradeable, and 1 GB RAM is not really enough for modern Windows. Videos exist on the Internet showing how to upgrade RAM on this netbook, but it involves taking the computer apart, which in my experience is a risky proposition with netbooks/laptops. You could ruin/not be able to put back together your computer, and so you're left with, in essence, a very expensive brick. Windows Starter, the included OS, is a bad, bad OS, so I tried to install Linux. I tried six different versions, but none of them were able to deliver the performance I wanted--namely, running videos smoothly with stops, stutters, etc. So, I relented, and put Windows Pro on the netbook, and videos played smoothly. However, with the 1 GB RAM, the netbook is SLOW--slower even than my 2.5 year old one. I believe this is the last netbook from Asus, and they appear to have retreated somewhat in quality on this. I know they're out of style now, but I'm more interested in functionality than form, and dollar for dollar, a netbook, while less cool than a tablet, should deliver more performance for the dollar. This one didn't. If it were upgradeable like previous versions--even just the RAM--it would be fine, or if it came with 2 GB RAM, it would be fine. The processor is even hampered and restricted to run much below its own capabilities--it is a 64-bit processor running as a 32-bit processor. I don't know why, but it's not encouraging. Overall, given that Asus virtually started the netbook craze, it's safe to say with this subpar offering, they've ended it too. Unfortunately, I recommend staying away from this product and either getting a tablet or laptop. This will end up being a disappointing waste of money.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top