For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 120 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bad quality
 from MI,  Mar 15, 2010

I received the order after 2 weeks, can't comlain, I guess. Product came as promise. Easy to use but unfortunately, the power adapter became really hot only seconds after plugging in and electrical burn occurred. Would not recommend this product to anybody.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Garbage
 from Southern NJ,  Mar 9, 2010

Power supply burned out two of my SATA drives. A different power supply works fine with the same cables. Buy this only if you want to overpay for the cables (or if you want to fry your hard drives).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HHD>>USB
 from IA,  Sep 23, 2010

Works like a charm. This little device is worth its weight in gold for any IT person. But its 4pin>>Sata power cable is complete junk. Break off its 4 pin side casing and insert them in one by one. Out of 4 new sets of these all 4 4pin>>SATA power cables were junk, and my personal one arived completely falling apart, but beware because the pins are only held on by 2 tiny threads of metal, so it will not last, buy another one. This is what cost it 2 stars. But other than that it is great, but cost after buying a power cable and this currently makes it more expensive than its competitors.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Useful tool for analyzing hard drives
 from Springfield, IL,  Mar 4, 2014

Pros: This adapter set for IDE and SATA to USB 2.0 is very useful in diagnosing old hard drives and then with a 3rd party tool then erasing said hard drives. It is pretty fast for what it is doing and is worth the money. Cons: The power adapter comes with a molex to sata adapter so you can power both styles of devices with the same style of power adapter. The problem with it was on my product multiple of the pins to connect the molex to sata adapter were loosely fitted so the pins would eject instead of inserting themselves into the power brick. Good news is a cheap and quick run down to the local computer store was able to fix this for under **. Other: Though the power adapter for Molex to Sata was flimsy the rest of the product is well worth it. it powered every device I put on it and allowed me to test a variety of both Sata and Molex Hard Drives and DVD/CD Drives.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doesn't work... Cheap!
 from San Antonio. TX,  Jan 24, 2014

Faulty power adapter.. Power cord to the power adapter doesn't fit snugly AT ALL and output voltage is inadequate. Defective cabling from power adapter to hard drive. CHEAP!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unit works Good
 from NY,  Jan 14, 2014

This Did what I needed (only used for IDE as yet) I used on a Mac on a Virtual Windows Machine to copy 1 Tivo hdd drive to an other.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Everyone who uses any computer should have one of these available. If you check hard drives or external DVD/CD drives this is a must. Its simple plug and play. The USB cable connects to your working laptop or PC and the adapter has connections to connect to bare IDE drives or SATA Drives. It also has a power supply to power up the drives for reprogramming, formatting, or just searching for data. I have seen this same item on other computer sites for ***. This is a Super deal at a low price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am not happy with this product. did not work
 from Fayetteville, Ga 30215,  Mar 9, 2013

I ordered this product so that I could use my Go Flex Home with my old desk top which lacked the wifi. Do not know as to where it failed. But the thing is that it failed to give me any result and I endedup wasting some $**.. I believe this was my first purchase from Overstock.com. I will be check out throughly before orderinf from Overstock.com

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? product picture and the actuall product did not so any significant difference
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No it was not. Did not work at all.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not acceptable.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap - buyer beware
 from Raleigh, NC,  Feb 28, 2013

This was junk and not even usable. The 5 wires that go into the plastic connector to power the drive all came out of the plastic. So basically it fell apart when I tried to connect my drive to it. I'm completely unsatisfied and didn't have the time to deal with returning it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no - the power plug pins seperated from the plastic connector
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. junk, I was not able to use it at all
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It does as advertised.
 from Ada, Ok,  Feb 8, 2013

I have used this devise to access several hard drives and I recovered the files needed. This is one item every computer technician should have on hand.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Everything in the image was included in the order.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects have been detected as yet.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Everything feels as though it will last long enough to get your money's worth.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
USB 2.0 to IDE / SATA Converter Cable
 from california,  Dec 25, 2012

I have a couple of internal components that I removed from a tower and want to use with my laptop without buying an external case for each. This kit allowed me to do that simply by plugging in the power with the supplied power converter and then using the USB cable to connect to my laptop. Works great!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image is identical to the product I received
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? It has worked perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Low Cost & Cheap, but It Works
 from Chicago,  Dec 21, 2012

It was low cost and the quality level was appropriate to the cost. The whole product has some flexibility, but you are left to your own devices to determine how to set it all up. The connectors for the power were very loose and required quite a bit of careful manipulation to be properly connected, but they did make the connection in the end. The unit has functioned properly for a SATA drive. I have not tested it with others at this time. It does the job.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Close Enough
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Eh?
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some of the connectors on the power supply connection were loose and had to be carefully manipulated to connect properly, but otherwise it works.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Useful Tool
 from Where corruption is the norm.,  Dec 18, 2012

Have a failed or malware infected hard disk? Need to transfer a lot of files from your old disk to your new machine? You could use a set like this.Basic skills and a working laptop/desktop are all you need to scan that old hard disk, recover data, or just transfer data to your new machine. I'm not sure where you could find a kit like this for a cheaper price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It shows everything that's included
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worked great
 from san diego, ca,  Dec 10, 2012

exactly what I was looking for. Worked great and did the job. Fast delivery.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Marion Heights, PA,  Dec 8, 2012

Product worked perfectly, I do a lot of computer repair and had no problems. The only downfall I can see is a person who isn't computer savvy would have a hard time using it. If clear instructions were included it would be excellent. Thanks

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great, low price!
 from Tucson, AZ,  Oct 2, 2012

product works very well, delivery was fast and the price was low ... thanks

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK for the price
 from Boston,  May 30, 2012

This cable system works as claimed but the 4 pin ATA power connectors are just about unusable. The pins either won't fit together because of poor alignment or will push through their holder when you apply pressure. The harddrive does mount when connected with this set up so for the price you should assume low end quality.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very cheap 4 pin connectors
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product worked perfectly
 from Seattle, WA,  May 29, 2012

Product worked exactly as hoped. Was able to recover all data from an old hard drive. I just had to hook it up using the various plugs and was able to read the data from it just as if it was an external drive or a flash drive. Since there were no paper instructions, it was a bit of a puzzle connecting the various pieces one to another, but since the plugs only fit one way, it was fairly obvious what went where.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. New quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Farmville, North Carolina,  Mar 28, 2012

The item was everything I had hoped it to be. It helped to make use of old hard drives and use them for additional storage space.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The item worked as described
 from AZ,  Jan 24, 2012

Finally got the time to use the item and found it to work as described. It allowed me to transfer my old files from a dead computer's hard drive to my new computer with out any trouble. The only problem I had was getting the power cord to connect the first time in use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? So far
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 120 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top