Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Lifesaver!
 from Nashville, TN,  Apr 22, 2009

Since I got this ball winder, I've been re-winding everything in my stash. It works great on any weight of yarn from lace to bulky. The cakes are neat and compact, helped organize my yarn and keeps everything from getting tangled! I used to wind balls by hand, but this is so much faster, easier and overall better!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for small skeins
 from Venice, CA,  Jul 5, 2011

This winder is very good for smaller skeins but don't be surprised if you have to wind two balls for the average 4 oz skeins. If you overfill the ball then the yarn goes below and gets tangled in the gears. I had read some reviews and saw that there was this problem but for the price of a little over $20 I thought I would try it. Now I am returning it and getting the $40 model. If you don't mind winding more than one ball for each skein than this is the perfect product, but I do buy larger skeins and want to try the better model.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average for a completely plastic item
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
neat usable balls
 from San Diego, CA,  Apr 6, 2009

This yarn ball winder lets me quickly convert my washed and/or dyed skeins into neat balls to weave from. Previously I was winding by hand into balls, so you can image the time saved.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Life is Easier
 from Wichita KS,  Feb 15, 2013

Works fine once you get the hang of it. You need a swifter to make it work smoothly, though. Great entertainment for the cats.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works great!
 from NEBRASKA,  Mar 14, 2012

works well - had no problem using it the first time!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this winder
 from Indiana,  Jan 2, 2012

I have recently gotten into purchasing sock yarn, which comes in hanks and needed something relatively affordable to wind it into center pull cakes. This winder is simple and easy to use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It matched exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I don't remember the description that well but knew what I was looking for
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's adequate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best thing EVER!!!
 from Cameron Park, CA,  Sep 16, 2011

I LOVE my yarn ball winder! It is truly the best invention since sliced bread. I can't even begin to describe how much space, time, and stress I have saved on since I have owned this product. My yarn storage space has been reduced to about half and it is no longer tangled and disorganized. The winder is small, but mighty. The key is to keep the same tension from start to finish. If you do that, your balls will come out just right every time. It clamps to everything and is very easy to use. My 4 year old loves helping mommy winder some yarn. It is so simple to use, even she can thread it and crank it to make balls. I would recommend this fabulous little product to anyone who has some string, yarn, or thread that they need wound. Two thumbs up!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was much smaller in person then it looked from the website pictures.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was in perfect condition.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works OK
 from Michigan,  May 23, 2011

Unless you want to spend lots of money, this style of yarn winder seems to be all that is available. It worked okay, but I had to watch that I did not wind too fast, because that is when the guide arm would collapse or the yarn would start winding incorrectly. On my machine, the guide arm would appear to be locked in place, but then any jerking or sudden tension on the yarn would cause it to collapse. I solved the problem by letting the yarn run though my fingers while I held the guide upright. All in all, does the job.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works Great!
 Dec 27, 2010

Used this to clean up and consolidate my many tangled skeins of yarn. Worked well with all thicknesses, even some very troublesome boucle. I only wish I'd gotten one sooner!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yarn Ball Winder
 from Florida,  Jun 9, 2013

I really like my new yarn ball winder. It's very helpful for what I need. I couldn't wait to find all kinds of yarn to wind on my winder. I was like a child with a new toy. Great product!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate/
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product quality is good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yarn winder
 from Kokomo, IN,  Mar 5, 2013

Really saves time. I use it to wind yarn off skeins for my knitting machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? actual
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect for winding yarn
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed
 from milwaukee wi,  Jan 7, 2013

made well except arm doesn't stay out. need to keep pulling it back out or the yarn gets twisted. not too often, just need to keep checking that it's not drifting in...otherwise I would have given it another star. and keep some tension on the yarn or the ball doesn't wind tight enough. learned how much tension to use on the first cake and after that it's just fine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. made well except arm doesn't stay out. need to keep pulling it back out or the yarn gets twisted.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from SC,  Dec 7, 2012

I loved this so much I bought one for my friend! Works perfect!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great for my first one
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finicky Winder
 from Ohio,  Nov 19, 2012

This device is definitely a time-saver for winding small-sized center-pull yarn cakes. However, it is a bit finicky to use. The guide rod and table clamp have both have a tendency to become loose, requiring adjustment during use. Also, there's a tendency for the yarn to loop below the flange and get caught in the gears of the winder. Keeping speed/tension as even as possible and keeping cakes on the small side helps with that issue. If you're looking for a very basic tool, for occasional winding, this product will do the job. If you plan on heavy use, or use with oversized/heavy skeins, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to set up and use
 from Puyallup, WA,  Nov 15, 2012

I was tired of winding my yarn by hand and this has some decent reviews so I thought I would give it a try. Glad I did. It wound a nice ball which I can feed out of the center or the outside edge. It took less than 5 minutes and I was going pretty slow just to watch how it operates. . This will come in very handy for me and if you need a STOCKING STUFFER for a knitter or crocheter - this might do the trick.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems made well enough for function
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds Great
 from rural Nevada,  Oct 23, 2012

I love this style of ball winder. It winds my yarn in a nice ball with hardly any trouble. The next best thing would be having someone else to do it LOL and really how many of us have that! Invest in this and you'll never regret it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Still the great product it was!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good tool for knitters.
 from Maryland,  Sep 14, 2012

If you use yarn for any craft this is a good tool to have.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Yarn Winder
 from Wrentham, MA,  Sep 11, 2012

This product winds yarn into a cute little ball with minimal effort on your part. I use mine in conjunction with the Swift Yarn Winder and end up with a nice ball of yarn in only one step. They work together really well, but of course you can use this without the other product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Manual yarn ball winder
 from Moxee, Wa,  Sep 10, 2012

Good quality ball winder. Clamps on table with adjustable clamp. Handy and you can take it anywhere unlike an electric one. That's why I bought the manual one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality solid product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing.
 from Three Rivers,  Aug 2, 2012

Sturdy, but unusable in winding balls of yarn of a decent size, so therefore, not terribly useful.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought