Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent product - works great
 from GA,  Jun 7, 2011

This swift is just what I needed. To know whether you need this size or the next larger, I used this one to wind a hank of Socks that Rock, and it held it just fine. The finish is smooth, and it clamped to the table securely with no wobbles. Just be sure and check all the ties before you pull it too far out of the box - one of mine was undone and I needed to retie it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from CA,  Apr 16, 2011

The swift winder is the perfect size for home use. I have used it several times in the last week, and it works perfectly. It is all wood and feels sturdy. I saw similar items priced much higher elsewhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
She loved it!
 from Texas,  Feb 26, 2011

I purchased this as a gift for a friend and she loves it. It is very easy to use and looks just like the one they use at my local yarn shop. I like that it is made of wood (not plastic) and seems very sturdy in it's construction. Highly recommend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun to use tool.
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 18, 2011

This is a great tool. It works smoothlyand quietly, and is made of nice wood, not metal. It is super easy to mount and is very firm. I never used one and wound up 11 balls of heavy cotton yarn the first night quickly and without a problem. Have fun!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? In reality it is much nicer looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swift Yarn Winder
 from DuBois, PA,  Apr 5, 2011

The sections are tied together in a so so fashion. Getting the screw clamp to stay is next to impossilbe. We tried it in several tables,

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swift Yarn Winder
 from Rochester Hills, MI,  Feb 10, 2011

Product does a great job, the price was great, and the delivery service was fantastic! The winder does the job and I did not have to pay a fortune for it. Most swifts are quite a bit more, and as often as I would use this, the functionality is the same, so why pay more?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yarn Swift--Yes, you do need one!
 from Denver, Colorado,  Apr 1, 2009

You can chase your spouse or kid around the house and beg them to help you wind your skein of yarn. You can drape the skein over the back of a chair, then spend hours untangling the darn thing when it falls off the chair, time you should be spending KNITTING. Or you can buy this yarn swift and wind the entire skein in less than five minutes--that includes the time it takes to set it up. Ask me how I know this!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OstkUser54651
 Dec 5, 2015

Very user friendly Skeins came off very smoothly

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swift Yarn Winder
 Sep 14, 2015

Great Product and quick service

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works well
 Aug 20, 2015

OK for the occasional ball that needs winding. The string tying the spokes together came apart right away - tho easy to fix.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I never knew how much I needed it!
 Mar 16, 2015

This wooden swift (deceiving from picture) is great. It is easy to use, easy to store, glides nicely, and really seems great quality. I had never used a swift before, but I can tell you, this will make my life as a prolific knitter and addicted yarn buyer so much easier!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yarn swift
 from Albany, NY,  Jan 13, 2015

I love it when something so useful is also a thing of beauty! Well made, smooth and just plain lovely. I almost hate to put it away when I'm finished winding a skein. Just an added bonus that my kids don't have to hold skeins any longer for rolling!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality!
 from Colo Spgs, CO,  Oct 29, 2014

The yarn swift is made of wood, and comes with wooden attachment to fix it to a table. The attachment is surprisingly large enough to fit my table, when my ball winder was too small. I highly recommend this swift as one of the best priced with good quality available anywhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Swift!
 from Weston, Florida,  Mar 20, 2014

This is a great basic swift for a good price! I have had it for approximately 3 years and it works just as well today as the day I bought it. It's all wood which I like and clamps on to a table so make sure you have some place you can clamp it! I'm very happy with it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it.
 from Houston, Texas,  Feb 12, 2014

A little pricy, but worth it for me. Beats standing in line at the yarn shop and waiting to wind the yarn there. Good product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stay away! Not recommended
 from Boise, ID,  Mar 4, 2013

Out of the box, one of the top arms was not properly inserted under the metal ring, and this is not something that one could fix at home. It was clearly something that should have been caught at the factory. The whole thing is made of this light wood, which is fine, including the clamps that hold it down to the table, and height adjustment clamp. Being cheap wood, there is no way you can tighten it enough to hold it down, and I can imagine that this would only get worse. Although since it didn't work out of the box, not sure how it could get much worse! Shipping also took over 2 weeks. In the meantime I had ordered an amish-swift on another site, just like this: http://www.overstock.com/Crafts-Sewing/Amish-Design-Wooden-Yarn-Swift/6203888/product.html. Not only is it cheaper, takes up less room, it works like a charm. Much simpler design too - really nothing can go wrong with it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks exactly like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality control
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product - Awesome Value
 from Lexington, KY,  Jan 26, 2013

Over 30% cheaper than comparable products sold elsewhere. My wife uses it quite often and is very pleased with the performance.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this product
 from Oregon,  Nov 8, 2012

I have been hand-winding hanks of yarn all my life and finally decided to purchase a swift yarn winder...some of the best money I ever spent! Many yarn shops offer this service for customers, but if you are not using the yarn immediately, it causes a loss of stretch to wind it too early. Also, there is often a wait to have large quantities done at the shops. This wonderful product enables me to wind my yarn whenever I want in whatever quantities I wish. The price on overstock.com was also unbeatable. I only wish I had made this purchase sooner.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image and the actual product are identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was completely accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of this product is very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well worth the money!~
 from New Jersey,  Sep 25, 2012

Exactly like the winder at my local yarn shop. Quality was excellent and price was lower than anywhere else.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great price great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great swift!
 from San Jose, CA,  Apr 2, 2012

After trying to get my skeins of yarn to wrap around chair backs, pillows, or my husbands hands I finally decided it was time to buy a swift. I purchased the Lacis ball winder as well. They just came today and after on a couple minutes I had both set up and working. It took a couple minutes to wind one ball. Highly recommend the combo. The swift does seem a little fragile with pieces of string holding the bamboo slats together but for an item that won't get used constantly I think it will be just fine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurately
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK, I will have to be careful with it - seems a little fragile
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought